Ratings based on 586 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Proximity to Stanford caused the selection of Zen

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Very well located and a mere 10 minutes from campus, even in traffic. Ample choice in breakfast buffet. Room very well priced given how expensive this area is, and with nice amenities. Our room was upstairs, in the back section overlooking an empty field, even though near El Camino. Thus surprisingly quiet. It has the in and out convenience of a motel, but with extras associated with a hotel. A very good choice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Peaceful hotel near restaurants

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: If you are looking for a great Chinese Restaurant, check out Su Hong. It's just down the road a couple blocks and we loved the food!
We only stayed here for one night but everything was great. The complimentary breakfast exceeded our expectations. Hot items, yogurt parfait and smoothies to name a few. The room was clean and comfortable. They provide snacks, many toiletries and robes in the room. There is even a zen garden with waterfalls, seating and tables for a nice hangout. The only compliant, if you can call it that, was it was hard to get the room to a comfortable temperature. The hotel is next to some amazing restaurants and close to the Stanford campus. We will definitely be back if in the area again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A gem in a busy place.

Posted Oct 10, 2016
This hotel is small gem in a very busy area. The rooms are very clean with elegant touches. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful, not just continental, with hot and cold options and great coffee. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area, unless you are looking for a large hotel with pool.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from east bay/sf area

VERY nice Hotel!

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to great restaurants and easy access to main thoroughfare
Easy access to main thoroughfare (el Camino real), Very clean, well stocked with essentials, EXCELLENT free breakfast, slept like a baby!! Definitely will promote to family and friends 😌
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

Very Pleasant Experience

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Zen is a great value in comparison to comparably priced hotels in the area.
Location: Approximately 2.5 miles south of Stanford University
The owners and management of this hotel really have worked diligently and intelligently to make one's stay here an excellent value for the money. The property appears to have been built in the 1960's, but it is well maintained. There are lot's of considerate, nice touches, such as free, high-quality in-room snacks, Occitane toiletries, plenty of good quality pillows and towels, and an imaginative breakfast that includes fresh smoothies. The space behind the rooms has been improved into a small garden area with a fountain. My impression is that management is creative and very involved in trying to make their property as good as possible.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great little place

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Love the Zen, stayed there many times, don't let the size fool you, it's 1st class
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City

Fantastic!!!

Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Hotels
Cute little out-of-the-way hotel. Looks like it maybe was an apartment complex remodeled to be a hotel. Great amenities! Lots of little details make it even better. Comfortable room, comfortable bedding, snacks & water bottles included in the room. The best toiletries - even a fizzy bath square, shower cap, Chapstick, etc. a bit pricey and very small room but definitely worth it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Great location-poor beds

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
Bed was unsupportive gave me backache all day.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
스탠퍼드 대학을 구경 하기에는 좋은 호텔입니다 전체적으로 동양풍의 호텔로 써비스는 좋은 편입니다 호텔 시설은 약간 시간이 된듯한 분위기 입니다
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Great breakfast. Clean rooms! We would book a room here again.