Ratings based on 605 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Healdsburg, CA

Convenient location and very nice breakfast

Posted Feb 27, 2017
I enjoyed my stay here. Our room for 2 was quiet, check-in was quick, and parking was easy. I liked staying in a single-storied unit-- no noise from above and I never heard any doors close from neighboring units. Breakfast was a cut above: fresh, plump blueberries and fresh pineapple to put atop oatmeal (cooked, not instant), sausage, fresh hash browns, green smoothies (kale, organic yogurt, oj, banana, pineapple), Peet's coffee. Our party of 2 got our money's worth from breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

One story motel but with nicer rooms

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Snacks(water bottles, pistachios, chips, energy bars, chocolates) are set out in the room and are complimentary.
Location: Stayed there to attend a function at Stanford and the proximity to the university was a plus.
Breakfast buffet which came with the room was excellent. Scrambled eggs, cheese omelette, bacon. Has a green smoothie that I did not try. Good selection of Peet's coffees. Fresh fruit, yogurt, bagel, cupcakes. Real plates, mugs and cutlery. Better than what you get Best Western. Good size room. The bathtub and toilet is in closed off room but sink is in the main room with bed. I wish more hotels did this as when you are traveling with two it speeds up getting ready in the morning. Staff at the desk were pleasant. Staff at the breakfast buffet were all business. They were not rude but they were there to put food out and clean up and not to greet guest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle WA

Wonderful, Clean, Comfortable, Quiet Hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Its price and location. Healthy, delicious free breakfasts, snacks and top quality coffee and teas. Thick fluffy towels and L'Occitane toiletries.
Cons: Nothing- keep up the good work!
Location: The location is wonderful. Close to drug stores, super markets and many restaurants. Also close to Stanford University, Medical Center and downtown.
We holed up here for 5 days with our daughter who was recovering from surgery at the Stanford Medical Center. I had researched hotels in Palo Alto very carefully and I am so glad I chose The Zen. Many of the hotels in Palo Alto are older and prices are quite high. The Zen, is one of the more affordable choices in the area and while it is a beautifully remodeled older motel, we found the facilities and services to be far superior to the typical level 3 hotel (which the Zen claims to be)- and more like a level 4 hotel. The healthy breakfasts were wonderful with eggs, oatmeal, chicken sausage, fresh fruit and healthy smoothies instead of the typical waffle machine! We loved the variety of hot coffee (3 high quality brand choices) and teas that were always in the office and the hot cookies in the afternoon (the oatmeal are the best!!). There were also free healthy snacks in our room along with coffee, tea and bottled water! Our bottom level, back court room was super quiet, the beds were comfortable and there were plenty of pillows and extra blankets. We really appreciated the thick fluffy towels, robes and slippers and the generous supply of L'Occitane toiletries. An added bonus was the quiet back patio outside our room with a water feature and comfortable furniture to relax in. With parking right outside our door, a refrigerator for ice packs, a microwave to warm up take out and a drug store across the street, we found The Zen to be a great place for medical recovery.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice little hotel

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Snacks and waters in the room are free of charge
My wife,daughter and I stay here for one night. We did not spend much time in the room since we were there for a Volleyball tournament for my daughter. The room was very clean and the location is very quiet. We had to leave early before breakfast served. My only small complaint is that the bed and pillows were a little to soft for our liking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Visalia, CA

A lovely surprise

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Having to travel to Stanford hospital often, we usually stay a few towns over in order to get a nice place at an affordable rate. Tried The Zen Hotel this time after finding an incredible rate online and we were very surprised! It looks like a former motel that someone has expertly made over into a very nice place to stay, even for picky people like me that are hard to please. Everything is impeccably clean, comfortable, and with top notch toiletries, snacks, beds. The staff is very friendly and professional. The hotel is in a really good location, less than 15 minutes from the hospital. Wish we would have found this place sooner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Very nice amenities, plush bed and pillows, generous extras in room (snacks, bottled water), smoothies at breakfast, only complaint is the room heater is fairly loud.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Orbitz
Love the Zen. We stay there every time we go to Palo Alto. Gorgeous rooms, friendly staff, awesome breakfast, free snacks, and cookies! What more could you want?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This place is GREAT!

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The small touches and the super comfortable bed.
Cons: Nothing.
This place was fantastic! It is a motel so I was a little leery. HOWEVER, no reason for concern. The rooms were perfect and had so many little touches, I felt like I was at a high end hotel: snacks (FREE!) in the room, coffee, two water bottles, wonderful smelling soaps and lotion, an extremely comfortable bed and a phenomenal hot breakfast in the morning. I would highly recommend staying here!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The perfect boutique hotel in Palo Alto

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
Everyone at the Zen is so friendly and helpful. The hot breakfast is great, and they change things up daily. The bathroom products are very nice and I love the little welcome snack kit. This is my go to hotel in Palo Alto!!