Ratings based on 787 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2017
The staff were very pleasant and helpful in all regards. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxnard, CA

Everything lovely except the bed.

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Staff.
Cons: The bed
Very nice staff and room, however, the bed was so hard!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

disappointing for a Best Western

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: Refrigerator and microwave
Cons: Rooms need updating. Elevator to second floor.
Location: Close to good restaurants, downtown San Juan Capistrano
We stayed at two Best Western's during our week of travel and paid more for less at this one. The rooms are dated. No elevator so we need to be on the first floor and it took a long time to get our room changed. The room was stocked with water and everything else we needed and also had a refrigerator and a microwave. Since we were only staying the night it was adequate, but I wouldn't stay there for longer than one night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

bad all the way

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Front desk not courteous for check in hall to room NASTY beds way to high ! Balcony chairs torn couldn't use ! This was not a good representation of best westerns I have used!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2017 by Jeremy P., Hotel Management
We apologize for your experience with us here at the hotel. Please know we welcome feedback and it's our goal to improve every area that needs rectifying. We hope we have a opportunity to serve you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Canyon Lake

Pleasant place to stay while traveling with dog

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Pets welcome with only $10 fee
Cons: Housekeeping needs to rotate laundry so that variety of rooms are ready at 3pm
Location: Conveniently located to Dana Point Harbor, beaches and Mission San Juan Capistrano
The room was clean and adequately appointed with fresh white linens and duvets. The patio was private and provided a nice place to enjoy the sunset with a glass of wine and our pup at our feet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the best Best Western

Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
San Jaun Capistrano is a really nice place but this hotel was a bummer compared to the rest of my visit. Checking in was horrible. Slow and condescending. I was hoping to check I quickly to get to a diner that I came to town for, but the 1 and only person, was extending every courtesy to the customer in front of me; Took a call while I was standing there and made a reservation instead of asking them to hold. My room requests I made were on line and called in were not noted, so all those courtesies Extended to previous..were my requests. Last room offered to me was facing the busy highway. Room smelled of the synthetic overpowering scent to hide odors. Hair in the ice bucket baggie. Called to ask for a new room for next day. Person said they could not make that call..but would let manager know. Manager never called back. Left do not disturb for cleaning crew to avoid more over spaying and sign was ignored. Cleaning crew said she saw the sign but has to ask to clean the room. This is just a very poorly run hotel. Not worth the money. Cost of room is appx $170-250 per night. Worth $70-120 at best.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by Amber Brown, Hotel Management
We appreciate your business and the time taken to share your experience. We value feedback and share this with staff to better serve our next guest. We apologize for any inconvenience and we are disappointed we did not provide the service or accommodations we strive to. Hotel has procedures and policies in place to address issues or concerns if brought to our attention. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience and would love to reach out to you directly to eliminate any indifference. We appreciate the opportunity to open a dialog and rectify the situation.
2 out of 5
by Scott G.

Rough Around the Edges

Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
Although the staff was very friendly and helpful, the hotel itself appears old and in need of updating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2017 by Amber Brown, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay. We encourage all feedback as this an excellent tool for us to help better serve our next guest. Our staff will continue to stay hard at work, welcoming our guests and improving our overall product. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered. We hope you feel free to reach out to us if there is anything we can do for you moving forward. Thank you.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 6, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Was out of the room 5 hours and came back, no fresh towels and bed was not made. Called down to desk and they said they were short staffed. This is no excuse for any hotel. Very disappointed
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Robert Grether- General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your time sharing your feedback. We are disappointed we did not provide the service and accommodations we strive for. We as a Hotel have solutions and procedures in place to rectify such issues and we want to apologize that they were not brought to your attention. We will reach out to you directly in an attempt to eliminate any indifference. Thank you.
5 out of 5
by tiffany

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 25, 2017 on Hotels