Ratings based on 667 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E.L.A.

Excellent close to train station & town of SJC

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Proximity to El Camino Playhouse, Mission, and Train Station
Cons: Tell about deposit so that we can have a card ready.
Location: We travelled via Metrolink and booked a Play at the El Camino Playhouse. We went to mass at the Mission. We took our bicycles. Perfect Proximity
The continental breakfast had lots of choices. The hotel had free shuttle service. Close to the train station. Very nice and helpful staff. Clean rooms. Extra toiletries. Super clean and comfy bed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Poor access but good hotel

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Getting in & out of the hotel grounds can take some time because of traffic & signage. But it's attractive & clean. Breakfast fare is varied & well-organized, just didn't like the reconatituted powdered eggs. Lovely historic area. The Mission & Los Rios St were my favorite places to see in the totally-walkable downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for Coach House shows

Posted Feb 27, 2017
They have a great shuttle from the hotel to the Coach House or any event, wedding etc... nearby. The staff is super nice and accommodating. I've stayed here several times and have always come back without hesitation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great staff, great location

Posted Feb 23, 2017
The staff was extremely courteous, the room was very clean and LARGE and comfortable. The breakfast exceeded my expectation of coffee and sweet rolls, there was plenty of real food. Also, as I came on the train, there was a shuttle van that left every 5 minutes to take you into the town. I was very pleased, as I originally planned to use an Airbnb. So, for less expense, I had total comfort as well as privaccy. I would recommend this hotel in San Juan Capistrano, a wonderful town!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Don't Book This Hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2017
I accidentally booked the incorrect night stay and Expedia and the hotel refused to credit the incorrect night for the actual night I needed. Horrible customer service as it was an obvious mistake.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Robert Grether -General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate your business and feedback regarding your stay. The hotel will always put its best effort into modifying prepaid 3ed party reservations. Additional steps will need to be taken however we are confident a solution can always be reached. Please contact the hotel directly and ask for myself, Robert Grether the general manager and I would love to assist with this. Again, we appreciate your feedback and business and look forward to working together to eliminate any indifference.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exceptional breakfast buffet & friendly staff

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Best breakfast buffet I've had at a motel. Plenty of healthy choices & the women in charge were friendly & helpful. Lovely view of the hills from my window. The machines in the room gave me a some trouble: couldn't get the clock to work & the fridge tended to freeze things. There's a walking/bike path just a few blocks from the motel that allows you to walk into downtown San Juan Capistrano without having to deal with the freeway. Bravo Burger near-by is a good place to eat. Had breakfast & lunch there & used the coupon the front desk gave me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Would be nice to have water turned on and lamp on the desk. King-size bed could probably stand to be updated
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasent

Posted Jan 30, 2017
The only thing I didn't like was the pricing. I paid one amount and 2 of our friends paid less even though we booked the same way. I called best western and the gave me the same price as online.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Great Location-older building- fresh and quaint

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Location: We came to visit the San Juan Capistrano Mission. It is a lovely place that is very well kept up. I would recommend to anyone who enjoys history.
This is a tough one to rate, the hotel and the staff were great. We had some horrible neighbors and the walls are thin. We ended up leaving before midnight- could not handle feeling like we were in the middle of the party next door. That being said, the staff made every effort to quiet our neighbors and did give us a full refund for our stay. The manager- Robert- was kind and understanding when I called about our stay. If I was in the area again, I would give them another try.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

ok hotel- great location for soccer tournament

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: decent sheets & conditioner in the room. More than 1 bar of soap.
Not the best hotel I've stayed in by far, definitely not the worst. It's an ok hotel with a decent breakfast included. If you're looking for a hotel for nearby soccer tournaments it's great. Close to fields, food & easy enough with kids. Sheets were scratchy, shampoo was stingy & heat was all or nothing. But it has a fridge and microwave and full breakfast included.