Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Incredible view, relaxing, and the BEST staff.

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: The scenery couldn't be beat - perfect mix of jungle, beach, close to town
Cons: Very dark in some spots - there were a LOT of steps
My boyfriend and I came to Nicaragua to really escape our day to day craziness. Aqua was the perfect spot! The staff is clearly well trained in how to be engaging with guests when it's appropriate, and when to give guests their privacy. I can't say enough nice things about the staff. We were both really, really impressed. Most of the staff were so young! But so, so kind, friendly and professional. Fidel, Jenny, Hamilton, Jabrin, Jon Carlos and I know there are so many names I'm not remembering! They helped make our experience so enjoyable!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wunderschönes abgeschiedenes Resort

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Im Aqua Wellness ist man zwar von der Außenwelt abgeschieden, kann dafür aber exzellent entspannen. Der Strand ist wunderschön, Kajak und SUP inklusive. Essen sehr gut, allerdings etwas teuer. Eine Alternative zum Hoteleigenen Restaurant hat es nicht. Ausblick über die Bucht bei Tag und Nacht ein Wahnsinn!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chapel Hill, NC

Treehouse review

Posted Feb 28, 2016
Unusual setting with great views. Unique concept with well positioned rooms for privacy. A great place for privacy and reflection. The room was laid out for maximum view but not for overall functionality. The main issue, downside of location in trees, was the abundance of small (harmless) bugs in room. Mattress and bedding could have been higher quality. Also, difficult to regulate room temp. Overall, it was a very romantic, unusual, laid back, and worth the long trek from Managua.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Lovely tree house resort

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: The staff is wonderful! Rooms are comfortable. Wildlife is awesome to observe. The beach is magical. Free rental equipment and yoga was great.
Cons: The restaurant has such american/european food. I came to Nicaragua to eat Nicaraguan cuisine! Alcohol and food were overpriced.
Location: Playa Gigante is a small town and most restaurants are americanized. There is one hostel that has amazing food Margarita's Mirador. Eat there!
Had a great time a Aqua Wellness resort. We stayed in a standard tree house, near the top of the resort. The rooms are all individual tree houses on a small hill, so expect to take stairs everywhere. There were 175 steps from the beach to our room! The environment is wonderful. Expect monkeys and birds to wake you up around 6am every morning. Yoga is included in your room price, 2x daily on a deck overlooking the beach. The beach is gorgeous and the water is clear and warm. There are kayaks, stand-up paddle boards, and snorkeling gear you can borrow for free. The resort is about a 25 minute walk to Playa Gigante, a small town that has a few restuarants. We went for dinner a few nights. The food at the resort is fairly expensive (standard american prices) and the alcohol is also expensive. Food at Playa Gigante was much cheaper, and the local fare is so much better than Aqua's food. Aqua is "fancy" food but the logistics of the Nicaragua don't allow for "fancy" ingredients, so it falls flat.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful property but a few areas for improvement

Posted Sep 10, 2015 on Hotels
Recently returned from a very relaxing stay at Aqua. The property is truly stunning, and even though its not completely an eco-resort, they make a lot of accommodations to minimize the impact on the local environment. However, as more of a mid-range traveler who stayed in a few lower-key places around Nicaragua prior to going to Aqua, I was a bit shocked by the prices of food and activities the resort was charging. When other reviewers say "American" prices, be prepared for upscale American prices ($8 cocktails, $20+ dinner entrees). They have to make money somehow, but if you're looking to save a few dollars, consider taking the 15 minute walk over to Playa Gigante for a few alternatives. After dark (sunset is at 6 pm), there's no place to go except the restaurant/bar area, or back to your room, which ours had rather dark lighting. The staff were all very attentive and make an effort to learn your name, but with several staff, it felt a bit forced. Anyway, I'm probably not the kind of traveler who this resort is really trying to appeal to, but I did enjoy the calmness and beauty of the property, despite a few small drawbacks.
5 out of 5
by Eric from Houston, TX

Speechless!!!

Posted Sep 1, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel was amazing. The pictures on the web don't do it justice, it is just jaw-dropping beautiful. The location is ideal for a total relaxation vacation. And the nature you are exposed to is also a plus. Definitely recommend to anyone, I do think that it is mainly aimed at adults as there are not many amenities aimed for kids, but still amazing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Aqua is a wonderfull place of peace. Everything was very good: the beach, the room and the people.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MEXICO

Hotel; Eco turístico con excelente playa.

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: La calidad de los alimentos es muy buena. Estas en contacto con la naturaleza, hay muchos animales y la playa está muy limpia.
Cons: Las instalaciones podrían mejorar. Las camas son muy pequeñas en muchas habitaciones. El servicio no es el mejor, ni en recepción ni en alimentos.
Location: Una playa encantadora, tienes contacto con muchas fauna silvestre; el hotel esta alejado de todo, no hay muchas cosas que hacer alreded
El hotel tiene una playa increíble, estas en contacto con la naturaleza y cuenta con una gran terraza para hacer ejercicio o meditación. Los masajes también son buenos. Igual que la calidad en los alimentos. Las instalaciones no son muy cómodas; ya que hay demasiados escalones. El servicio por parte de la gente de recepción tampoco es muy eficiente y solo están hasta las 10 de la noche. Las camas son pequeñas, no lo que se espera de un hotel 5 estrellas. No esperes mucho del servicio de los meseros, más que una gran calidad de alimentos.
4 out of 5
by PATRICK from Toulouse

NICA Aout 2015

Posted Aug 23, 2015 on Hotels
Bel hotel avec une grande piscine avec de nombreux transats pour se reposer,chambre propre et petit déjeuner copieux. Emplacement idéal lors de l'arrivée ou du départ de Managua se situe à 2km de l'aéroport par contre assez éloigné du centre ville.Navette gratuite vers l'aéroport.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel maravilloso con un servicio muy flojo

Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
El hotel es maravilloso, pero el servicio es muy malo. No esta a la altura de este hotel. Sobretodo en el restaurante (faltan copas para el vino y te traen de champagne, faltan muchos platos, la carta no cambia, el servicio es lento...)