Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and accomodations

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: quiet location, good accommodations, great price, delicious breakfast, free daily shuttle to town.
Cons: more thorough cleaning of bathroom/shower area
Location: everything can be arranged with hotel staff
The hotel was located in a more quiet location than the main town area. Accommodations were great for the price and included a plentiful breakfast, free daily shuttle to town, access to pool. Great view of the bay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Nice quiet hotel with great view

Posted Jul 10, 2017
We were charged $15 cab fare from downtown SJDS (one way) to the hotel. If you plan on going back and forth between the hotel and town, the expense may add up. Hotel offers a morning shuttle into town, but cab fare may still be something to take into consideration. Breakfast is included in price and helps offset the cost. The room had a great view and large private balcony. If you are looking for a safe and quiet hotel away from town, you will be happy here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved our stay an El Jardin

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: The seclusion. I also liked the way the owners let you feel like this was your home for a day or more...very relaxed.
Cons: None...I hope that if we went back in a few years it would be the same!
Location: We have been to San Juan Del Sur once before. I would say that we will not be visiting this town again. But we will visit El Jardin.
We loved our stay here. The views were incredible and the staff/service were very good. The rooms were comfortable, clean and beautifully designed to suit the building architecture. The food in the restaurant was also very good. Breakfasts are fantastic. For dinner, I enjoyed many of the menu items which were all very good. I would recommend the pesto pasta...perfect amount of flavour and seasoning/herbs. The pool is also refreshing to dip into on the very very hot days. This place is a little paradise.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Less than desirable!

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
Loud alarms at 3am. Scorpions on the wall while sleeping. Spiders everywhere-pillow, floor. Coming in thru hole in door they obviously knew was there because they tried to cover at one point. Put us in a room overlooking hanging laundry and dirty mop heads, rags and buckets on the backside of the hill while the whole top floor sat empty with ocean view rooms and bug spray! All other guests had ocean view rooms in other areas. FYI we paid for the upgraded room with the twin mattress. Perhaps because we were the only ones with children? To top it off they never said a word when we left -how about "how was your stay?"
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz, CA

Relax in a hillside boutique hotel with bay view

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Everything I said above.
Cons: Fine as it is.
Location: There are all the activities nearby you'd expect at a beach resort: surfing, fishing, horse back riding, sunset cruises.
I was looking for a comfortable hotel in or near San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua. I found exactly that with El Jardin Restaurant and Hotel. I was able to book an affordable package trip there for 10 nights with round trip fare from San Francisco, California. The staff was relaxed, warm, and helpful. The atmosphere was totally congenial. The full breakfasts that were included with the room reservation were good-sized and offered variety, from granola with yoghurt to crepes to eggs, with always fresh squeezed juice, fruits, and great Nicaraguan coffee. i could not have been happier with my experience. It was a perfect week's rest and relaxation. Swimming laps in the pool each day and lying in the tropical sun chased away the winter blues. Great little friendly hotel where you can chill and make friends. Totally recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Everett, WA

This hotel was a little bit of a drive but I felt

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: The view, the staff, cleanliness, pool away from the crowd was a big plus for me.
Cons: The signs from the main road need to be improved greatly, this drive can be a little nerve racking, no lights at night no well lite signs.
Location: This is a surf town, lots of weekenders, small town lots of beach front once you get there. Resturants are more expensive then they are worth.
The staff was Wondeful, I view worth a million, the food was good, little over priced but good. But it was well worth the drive. It was alittle bit of a drive, and on a dirt road, get there during the day to understand the dirt road drive. Taxis are available from town to the hotel. I would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2017 by Manon, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review John & for staying with us! Good luck on your research and maybe see you another time! Best Regards, Manon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Lovely spot

Posted Feb 20, 2017
A beautiful little hotel in the hills, overlooking the ocean. A nice swimming pool with lots of flowers and plants around, a great place to relax and enjoy the scenery. Staff were all friendly and helpful, and the food in the restaurant was the best I ate in Nicaragua.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2017 by Manon, Hotel Management
Thanks for this nice review. Really glad you enjoyed it. Kind Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Great View of the Pacific

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: Super delux place
Location: Lots of beaches and volcanos.
Got an early ck in. Upgraded to a room w/view and the pool. Served a nice breakfast every morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2017 by Manon, Hotel Management
Thanks for choosing El Jardin and for your feedback! Kind Regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great ocean view.

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
No desk in room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your rating. happy you like it. It is true we do not have desk inside the rooms but you are welcome to use one of our restaurant table as a desk facing the ocean Best Regards, Manon
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Glad you liked it thank you for your rating and visit! Best Regards, Manon