Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Temecula, California

Had fun.

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Saw turtles lay eggs, walkded to La Flor. Great little supermarket at hotel for great kitchen (everything you can think of is there: blender, expresso machine, oven, microwave, dishes, expensive stainless cookware, etc). Waiters are great and housekeeping got better each day. No complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 1, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Michael from Costa Rica

Nice Stay at Playa Coco, south of San Juan Del Sur

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels
We were looking for a relaxing, peaceful place to say around San Juan del Sur, and we certainly found it at Parque Maritimo el Coco. We stayed in Cangreo #3, one of three connected bungalows right on the beach. Our 4 year old loved being able to go out the door and find sand dollars, hermit crabs, and shells on the beach, while we watched above from the deck. Each morning, we walked a couple of minutes on the beach to go to the hotel restaurant for breakfast - a standard rice/beans/egg/ coffee/fruit juice that was included with the room. There was also a small swimming pool next to the restaurant on the beach that our 1 year old and 4 year old enjoyed. Our bungalow was clean enough, and it was comfortable (ceiling fans, air conditioning, decent queen bed, sofa/futon, deck with table and chairs). The kitchen was equipped with a small fridge, gas stove, and pots and pans. There was wifi, though the service seemed intermittent. A small television had cable with many channels. My only complaint was that a couple times while showering, the water became quite smelly. Other than that, it was a great stay and I look forward to returning.
3 out of 5
by Andrew from Utah

Missing a Few Details

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Size of the room, kitchen included, and hammocks nearby.
Cons: Needs cable tv, need to clean the pool
Location: This property is located near/on Playa el Coco beach which is possibly the best beach in Nicaragua. So beautiful and very few people any time of year.
This particular property has a few different options that you should be aware of. There are some units ON the beach which I've stayed in before and was pleased with. The unit I stayed in this time was quite a distance from the beach and next to a "pool"... The pool was dirty, tiny and very shallow. I'd call it a little more of a tub. Also, even though advertised there was no cable tv in the room. Just an old tv with a dvd player attached. The room was clean and comfortable otherwise, and the staff was helpful.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Judy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 28, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

loved our stay!

Posted Feb 17, 2014
It was a little scary driving too(only dirt roads and far from the city) but once we got there, it was gorgeous! We loved being on a semi private beach. There were turtle eggs nearby that were going to hatch soon and gorgeous food. Our bungalow was so cute and had a kitchen and hammocks nearby. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone I know!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 11, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Lynn and Eric from Indianapolis

Beach Paradise

Posted Feb 7, 2014 on Hotels
These are bungalows located a close distance to a pristine beach about 30km south of San Juan del Sur. Our bungalow slept 4 with a private bath and shower. The bungalows are in the woods and approximately 500 m to the beach. We nearly had the huge beach to ourselves. The shared kitchen in an adjacent bungalow (shared by 2 bungalows) was well equipped. For the price although somewhat like camping this is an amazing beach option. Only complaint is the distance to the restaurant/pool/activity area which is separated from the bungalows and registration by 750m. Ohh and realize its a 30k drive on a hilly gravel road. We had a older Suziki Alto and managed it fine... There are a lot of local busses going to San Juan Del Sur often.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bescheiden -Teuer - Nett

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: Bungalow
Cons: website anpassen
Im Vergleich zur Website und dem hohen Preis ist die Hotelanlage gelinde gesagt, sehr bescheiden. Sie ist allerdings bei Familien aus den Städten Nicaraguas sehr beliebt. Und ein junger Mann an der Reception, mit eindeutig hiesigen Wurzeln, gab mir in breitem Österreichischen Dialekt freundlichst Auskunft - ua. dass sein Opa der Gründer sei. Da weder der Strand noch das einzige einfache Restaurant am Strand zum lange verweilen einlädt, habe ich meinen Bungalow und seine Laube mit Hängematte um so mehr genossen.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This not a hotel, it is a campground

Posted Nov 6, 2013
Pros: It is a perfect place for surfer, nature lover and those trying to escape from the world.
Cons: Lighting
Location: Surfing, wildlife, mountain biking. There is a small restaurant right on the beach. Breakfast was very good.
The lodge is located in the outskirt of San Juan in the middle of a wildlife preserve. We got there in the middle of the night after a 2 1/2 hours drive from MGA. The place was dark and creepy. Our cabin was only 70 sqft with a shower a small vanity and a closet that could barely fit a small back. Beside the facility personnel, it appeared that we were the only guests in the compound. We check out in the morning and got us a hotel room in San Juan, across the bay. If you are looking for some primitive type of accommodation and isolation, this is the perfect place. But if you like a bit of excitement, better stay in San Juan. Round trip transportation to San Juan is $40 US.