Ratings based on 622 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mishawaka IN

Great place to stay

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Really enjoyed our stay! Very close to the beach and restaurants. The hotel is like stepping back in time with the Spanish villa feel. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The area is up and coming and very safe. I would definitely book this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by Guest Service Ambassador , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great place

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Close to the beach and close to many restaurants. Staff were friendly. Historic old Spanish Inn was a cool place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2017 by Guest Service Ambassador, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. our staff works hard to make our guests feel welcomed and appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon, take care.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Misleading

Posted Aug 2, 2017
I reserved a deluxe king room but first they put me in an economy room. After telling the front desk they put me in a "better" room which was the same except it had a refrigerator. I showed the pics of the deluxe king on their website on my phone and the guy said they didn't have that room. How do they advertise a room on their website but don't have it? Did they photoshop the room? Then it says they have parking for compact cars on their website and they told me they don't. They never cleaned the sheets and gave us dirty towels. The location is nice but not worth it. Pay the extra money and stay at a nice hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2017 by Guest Service Ambassador, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience during your stay. Our deluxe type of rooms are different and unique each and every one (being a boutique hotel). We do not have cookie cutter rooms. We also do not advertise parking at any of our travel websites. We will take what you wrote to better our service. Take care.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Don't overlook this gem!

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: small size, quiet, location, cozy ambiance, staff especially Claudio and Fernando at the front desk, pool, shower not bathtub, resident cat
Cons: cleaning > sweeping the floors more frequently ugly area rugs in lobby detract from the otherwise pretty welcome you get when you walk in
Location: One block away from a nice beach. There are 2 gas stations, eateries and supermarkets nearby. Condado area is close too >hotels, restaurants, bars.
I stayed here for one week, choosing this hotel primarily because of its location and size. I wanted to walk around a lot and explore the neighbourhood. Primarily in PR for the sun and sea. I took an excursion through E and B Tours to El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo Beach for a day which was great especially with Charles R. as my tour guide./bus driver. Walked to the Marriott Hotel where there is a casino and live music>dancing. Took local bus D53 to Old San Juan and then the free trolley to visit the town. Many eateries and some supermarkets in the area of Wind Chimes: Supermax and To Go/Quiznos, both of which are open 24 hrs. Loved my morning coffee in the lobby. Loved the fridge in my room and the fan and AC, although the AC unit got loud at some times. Good mattress in rm 125. Claudio and Fernando at front desk took good care of me. Loved the Boat Bar. Nice place to meet other tourists and local and eat pizza. You get a welcome drink upon arrival at this bar. You get beach towels which you can exchange. You can use the "hot tub" (more of a small, shallow pool) at the sister hotel called Acacia where you can also experience fine dining at Niche Restaurant. Chef David gave me personalized service... Sometimes I was alone in the pool and in the suntanning area just above it. Many little spots to hang out in this hotel which consists of 2 buildings. Lots of pretty vegetation and some gekkos. Traffic can be loud and some cars passed by blaring music to wake the dead.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2017 by Guest Service Ambassador, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a wonderful experience staying at our property. Our staff works hard to make our guests feel welcomed and appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Take care.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Acceptable

Posted Jul 20, 2017
There's a friendly cat on premise. They don't change your bedding even after a few days, only fix the bed. Same old stains on pillows and sheets. One block away from beach. Quiet area. Street parking. Wifi worked sometimes. I'd go back. Good price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2017 by Guest Service Ambassador, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We have daily housekeeping and change sheets every 2 days for reservation with multiple days unless guest requests it. We will take what you wrote to provide a better service in the future. Take care.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

l will never stay there again, is a motel.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: nothing,, only some of the guess where nice friendly.
Cons: New older age staffs, hired a cleaner, who love what they doing as job.
Location: I really like the other hotel cross the street.
the whole room is dirty from top to bottom, this male young guy name with anyone received the clients to check in, or out, Chris stay in the Bar, the main lobby be free of staff, they miss two times of doing my bedroom, the windows are so dirty it turn to wax, the toilet bowl is ring around of dirt, the window of the bathroom it have a dirty pillow case as a curtin, I have to file a complain against this hotel/motel, and always forget to place a clean washcloth inside my bathroom, I do have pictures to prof that I'm not the lier. I stay with family the rest of the night, until the last night that I have to pack up.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Guest Service Ambassador, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are a small boutique hotel with 22 rooms in a pristine location (just a block away from the beach) We have daily housekeeping and our property also has high scores from the tourism company that oversees all properties on the island. We apologize for any inconvenience during your stay and will take what you wrote to better our service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: - Free coffee - Friendly staff - Great cleaning service - 1 block from the beach - Many places to eat nearby - Felt safe
Location: - Old San Juan is only a $10 uber ride away - La Placita is 18 min walk - Starbucks is in walking distance - Pinkys had great bfast
Great hotel, not The Hilton but you aren't paying Hilton price either. The staff was very nice and helpful when we asked questions about the island. Our flight wasn't until 6pm but the front desk held our luggage and we were able to clean up after the pool in their public bathroom. Bathroom: The water pressure was not strong but this is typical of the Caribbean. There is no door that separates the bathroom to the room. Food: There are so many restaurants in walking distance. The pizza at the hotel is GOOD! Transportation: I would suggest using Uber or walking. Car is not necessary unless you are traveling to El Yunque or other locations. If you do rent a car there is parking but if you return after 9pm it will be hard to find nearby parking. We paid $18 for a taxi from the airport (total for 2 pple).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Guest Service Ambassador, Hotel Management
Thank you for your revoew. We are gladf you had such a wonderful time on our property and that you enjoyed our boat bar at the back of the property. We hope to see you again soon. Take care.
4 out of 5
by Carlos

Great location.

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
Staff is attentive. The bar is great for a quick drink and the beach about 100m away. There is no parking so be aware whe you rent a car.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017 by Canario Boutique Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon. Take care.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

charming hotel one block from the beach

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
loved it and will be back. last minute booking. so glad we went there!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Canario Boutique Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon. Take care.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pretty safe hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Clean room, very beautiful courtyard and pool, friendly obliging staff. My only concern was parking. Every other building around had gated parking, but this hotel was street parking which was very difficult to find and made me nervous. Turned out fine though! Great deal on Expedia!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Guest Service Ambassador, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Our staff works hard to make our guests feel welcomed and appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Take care.