Featured Image

Reviews of Condado Vanderbilt Hotel

5 out of 5
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1055 Ashford Avenue, San Juan
4.7
Exceptional
Rating 5 - Excellent. 1371 out of 1725 reviews
5 - Excellent 79%
Rating 4 - Good. 221 out of 1725 reviews
4 - Good 13%
Rating 3 - Okay. 71 out of 1725 reviews
3 - Okay 4%
Rating 2 - Poor. 38 out of 1725 reviews
2 - Poor 2%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 24 out of 1725 reviews
1 - Terrible 1%

4.8/5

Cleanliness

4.7/5

Staff & service

4.7/5

Amenities

4.8/5

Property conditions & facilities

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I really enjoyed my stay at the Condado Vanderbilt Hotel. Every staff in there were very nice. The food in the hotel was good the drinks were too lol. I would most def visit again.
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
In a nice central area. Lovely beach and infinity pool. Staff was amazing. Gave complimentary 1pm check out. Will definitely return
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Disliked: Cleanliness
It was amazing
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Loved the property
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Beautiful property definitely recommend!
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Liked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
The property itself is lovely — stunning ocean view, a short walk to the beach, delicious food and experience at 1919 — but we found that staying here was not what we expected for the price we paid. The staff is very kind, but whether it’s because of the pandemic or due to other factors (hurricanes, perhaps) the hotel is immensely understaffed. I don’t mean in a “it took too long to get a drink by the pool” kind of way; I mean in a “they didn’t do any kind of cleaning service for days” way. We expected a basic cleaning given that we were staying for 7 days. When we finally got it three or four days into our stay, we came home to our room at 7 PM with the door left wide open. Yes, wide open, for who knows how many hours with all our luggage and personal items ripe for the taking. The next day, they didn’t service our room (again). We weren’t upset because it was better than having our room open to be pilfered. The day after that, they did clean. Except they left their cleaning supplies, and instead of refreshing coffee they left our mugs soaked in our bathroom sink. It also took hours to get basic things, like a trash bag, which we ended up getting ourselves. It was a bizarre experience. They were apologetic and gave us $200 off, but for the rating the hotel claims to have and the price per night, we expected more. Again, the people who work there are very kind. It just seems like many of them are either stretched way too thin or are not into doing their jobs.
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with family and small children
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Beautiful property. Great location. However, the beaches were full of rocks and not safe to traverse. Cleaning the rooms every 3 days is an insult to your guest.
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Amazing staff, hotel, and amenities. Sadly when we went everything closed at midnight. Would have love to keep drinking past 12… lol
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Beautiful property!!! Perfect resort and staff is amazing
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Very good place to spend your vacations, the pools was very nice 😊
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
My husband and I went for our honeymoon to the Condado , I will begin by saying this place is marvelous ! From the front desk to check in to the rooms this place is so clean. The beach view from the resort is amazing.
Stayed 4 nights in May 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
We were looking for an upscale hotel in San Juan that could balance privacy with access (to the beach, Old San Juan, etc.) and the Vanderbilt delivered. - The hotel is gorgeous with beautiful marble floors and golden trim accentuating the hallways and stair cases. - Staff were very friendly and worked to make sure we had everything we needed. - All areas of the hotel were quite clean, and hotel patrons were good about wearing masks indoors. - The pool areas were well-kept and vibrant, although probably a little small compared to some larger resorts. You've also got access to Condado Beach with reserved seating/chairs and food service, which we loved. - While we only ate at the poolside restaurant, Ola, the food was very good, and we imagine the other three restaurants offered similar quality. - The hotel is also about 15-20 minutes from SJU ($15 uber). Car rental is across the street. New motorized scooters provide quick and fun access into Old San Juan. If you're looking for something upscale but still affordable where you can come-and-go with ease, this is your place. Highly recommend.
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Best hotel on the strip!
Stayed 6 nights in Jun 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family and small children
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I loved the convenience of travel to the beach to the hotel and pools.
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
One of my favorite places , and I can not wait to return. Looking for flights for My next visit.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
Our room was dusty, the toilet was running the whole time, the window didn’t open (ocean front), the safe didn’t work and some of the lights didn’t work. We requested a new room and it was half the size with a balcony that looked into a run down building. The beach front property is deceiving because he share the beach with another hotel property and it is overcrowded. The food was terrible and over priced. The only good thing was how friendly the staff was.
Stayed 7 nights in May 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Nice property! We enjoyed every moment of our stay!
Stayed 3 nights in May 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
This is a beautiful historic property that sits right on the beach. The staff will treat you like royalty and everyone is super friendly. We had some issues with our room like the whirlpool tube didn’t work and the in room ice maker was shut off. These could have been shut off because of COVID, and if that’s the case, well that’s stupid also.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021

4/5 Good

Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The hotel was incredible, friendly staff and great amenities!
Stayed 4 nights in May 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The property was beautifully laid out
Stayed 4 nights in May 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Beautiful property. Taco’s and tequila was our favorite restaurant. Gorgeous views. Very safe and clean. 10/10 recommend!
Stayed 3 nights in May 2021

3/5 Okay

Liked: Amenities
Stayed 2 nights in May 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Loved it
Stayed 2 nights in May 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
MY stay
Stayed 4 nights in May 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
We’ve visited the Condado Vanderbilt many times and love the property. However, this time due to COVID-19, it was severely understaffed. This is not about cleanliness or sanitary procedures. Housekeeping and COVID procedures were exemplary. I’m talking about waiters, pool, and reception personnel. Management says the shortage is due to stimulus payments that allow people to stay home and not work. However, given that people are anxious to travel and get away, and that the hotel is offering incentives to visit, Condado Vanderbilt should consider raising the rate of hourly pay or offering incentive pay to recruit staff. You can't overwork the employees you have, but at the same time, people don't want to endure excessive waits for food and services. We hope the Condado Vanderbilt figures it out, because we really love the hotel.
Stayed 5 nights in May 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Awesome! Tons of room!
Stayed 7 nights in May 2021

3/5 Okay

Stayed 5 nights in May 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Lovely Suite overlooking the ocean bay and city. Amazingly comfortable bed and dreamy sheets.
Stayed 4 nights in May 2021

2/5 Poor

Stayed 4 nights in May 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Extremely courteous and gave us late check out
Stayed 2 nights in May 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
It was so beautiful! The view and food is phenomenal! The rooms are amazing! The only thing is the concierge was no help and did not inform us of anything about our excursion, they just had us sign and go. Also, when we called for room service dine in at 10:40 pm, I called an hour later to see where the food was and they said it was running behind. They never showed so we went to sleep. Those are the only negatives. Thank you but everything else we were very pleased .
Stayed 4 nights in May 2021

4/5 Good

Stayed 3 nights in May 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Best views
Stayed 3 nights in May 2021

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
It used to be a great hotel. The staff is always friendly and attentive. Overall the hotel is great, sadly I won't go back again because of the quality of the guests it is attracting. You are at a nice place but will feel like at the holiday Inn, women were dressed in a vulgar way.
Stayed 4 nights in May 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Great location with beautiful pools and view .
Stayed 3 nights in May 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Disliked: Amenities
Not all inclusive as advertised on the third party site. Food is very very expensive. The room was wonderful but for the price I paid I could of gotten an all inclusive stay anywhere.
Stayed 4 nights in May 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
the hotel was great, i loved my room and anytime i had to speak with staff they were welcoming and gracious. even the minor complaints i had were rectified immediately and i was even credited for the inconvenience upon checking out. this hotel is half the reason i can’t wait to go back to san juan
Stayed 3 nights in May 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Place was amazing, definitely will stay again !
Stayed 4 nights in May 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The restaurants were amazing. Excellent food. And the staff throughout the entire hotel were extremely friendly.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
One site parking was a bit expensive and the food as well. I paid almost 10 for a size order of french fries by the pool.
Stayed 4 nights in May 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Everything was great, except that your obligated to pay $30 everyday for parking.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with group, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Good location, nice property but probably would stay would only stay a long weekend instead of 5 days.
Stayed 5 nights in May 2021

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 4 nights in May 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The property, amenities, the personal, the pool, beach, restaurant...everything is perfect. The personel is always very helpful and very very nice. The only "trouble" is that the service at the pool bar and restaurant bar is very very slow, we had to go grab waiters to get our drinks while waiting fo r an hour. Except this, exceptional experience.
Stayed 6 nights in May 2021

4/5 Good

Stayed 2 nights in May 2021

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Amenities
The Vanderbilt is already an expensive place to stay, and the restaurants are great, but for me to be paying that much, I should at least be able to have a microwave in my room! I was in an queen sized ocean front room with a great view and very clean. Another thing, I was told by Expedia there would be a 300 charge for amenities when I got there, but they held 800 when I got there, huge difference! Some of the staff seemed stressed out and didn’t like to answer questions about the hotel. The only staff that was helpful and great was the cleaning staff!
Stayed 4 nights in May 2021

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Staff & service
I was told that because I didn’t have a COVID test results that I wouldn’t have housekeeping. When I left out my hotel room it was visited by housekeeping & cleaned & I was charged $500 for smoking fee.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2021

1/5 Terrible

Stayed 3 nights in May 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Great place! Staff was super accommodating and friendly.
Stayed 5 nights in May 2021