Ratings based on 208 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Terrific staff and pathetic service by Expedia

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: The staff!
Cons: Expedia's service, but this might be out of their reach.
This hotel was closed to reservations following hurricane Maria, and Expedia knew it when I made my reservation, but didn't tell me anything. My reservation was processed by Expedia and a confirmation email was even sent to me, although the hotel did not take reservations. I found out only when I turned up at the reception. The hotel staff was terrific and extremely helpful. They manged to find accomodation for me, and I thank them for that. On the opposite, Expedia was pathetic and this is a major disappointment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2017 by El Canario by the Lagoon, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time posting your review about the hotel. And we are truly sorry for all the inconveniences you had with expedia. We are at your service whenever you need us. We hope to have you back at the hotel in a no so distant future!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yonkers

Nice, but need a makeover

Posted Sep 27, 2017
The hotel was ok, need a serious makeover, good location century located across from beach & good contenential breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2017 by El Canario by the Lagoon, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the continental breakfast. All of our reviews we take them as a chance to get better and provide the best experience for our guests. Hopefully you will be able to come back and stay with us one more time so you can see the improvements we will be doing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice little hotel,close to EL Viejo San Juan.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Very friendly staff.
Cons: breakfast could have a litthe more variety.
Location: A lot of restaurants and the beach only a block away,bus stop also a block away,easy to get to El Viejo San Juan.
Very convenient location,easy to get from and to the airport,just take the D53 bus and it will leave you a block away from the hotel,the bus is only $0.75 cents.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by El Canario by the Lagoon, Hotel Management
Dear Erick, Thank you for your wonderful review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride of the service we provide to our guests and we are delighted that you had excellent service from our staff. I will talk with the management to see how we can improve our continental breakfast even more. We hope to have you back in a no so distant future!
5 out of 5
by Eduardo rene

Posted Sep 16, 2017 on Hotels
Very good time
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017
Gracias Eduardo por tomar de su tiempo y darnos un excelente review sobre su estadía. Nos complace saber que disfrutó al máximo su estadía con nosotros. Esperamos tenerlo nuevamente con nosotros en un futuro no muy lejano!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san juan, puerto rico

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2017 on Orbitz
We rent the room for resting. The facilities and the room was clean. It's not modern but it was comfortable. They provide a continental breakfast. Also, they are in a great location but no parking. Overall, it was fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by El Canario by the Lagoon, Hotel Management
Gracias Xiomara por tomar de su tiempo y dejarnos un excelente review sobre el hotel. Nos complace ver que disfrutó su estadia con nosotros. Nosotros le damos mucho énfasis a la limpieza de los cuartos para que nuestros huespedes se sientan a gusto. Esperamos tenerla nuevamente con nosotros en un futuro no muy lejano
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Sep 16, 2017
low price, clean beds and bathrooms. nice staff. bed is not that comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by El Canario by the Lagoon, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time reviewing our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff made your stay pleasant. We take pride on our customer service. I will direct your review about the beds, we have being buying new beds for most of the rooms, but I will make sure to address it with the management to see how we can improve them even more. We hope to have you back in a no so distant future!
5 out of 5
by Martin from Maryland

lovely people!

Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
It is not a luxury hotel or a resort, but you are treated like a king or queen. Hans and every staff of El Canario Lagoon Hotel made sure we were safe during hurricane Irma. They treated us like family. The hotel is located in a good environment with lots of restaurants and beach nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017
Thank you Martin for your lovely review of the hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that not only Hans, but our staff as well made your stay one to remember. When hurricanes strike, the safety of our guests is our first concern and we will go beyond our limits to make sure we achieve it. We hope you will be back to our hotel in a no so distant future!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017
Thank you for taking the time reviewing our hotel. We hope you will give us a second chance in a no so distant future so we can provide you with the best customer service we have and change your opinion for a 5 star stay
5 out of 5
by rhymus

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017
Thank you rhymus for an excellent review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to have you back in a no so distant future!
4 out of 5
by Courtney

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017
Thank you Courtney for taking the time reviewing our hotel and for giving us a 4 star experience! We hope to have you back in a no so distant future!