Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice little hotel,close to EL Viejo San Juan.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Very friendly staff.
Cons: breakfast could have a litthe more variety.
Location: A lot of restaurants and the beach only a block away,bus stop also a block away,easy to get to El Viejo San Juan.
Very convenient location,easy to get from and to the airport,just take the D53 bus and it will leave you a block away from the hotel,the bus is only $0.75 cents.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Sep 16, 2017
low price, clean beds and bathrooms. nice staff. bed is not that comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by El Canario by the Lagoon, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time reviewing our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff made your stay pleasant. We take pride on our customer service. I will direct your review about the beds, we have being buying new beds for most of the rooms, but I will make sure to address it with the management to see how we can improve them even more. We hope to have you back in a no so distant future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from College Park, MD

Great room to stay in.

Posted Aug 28, 2017
I liked my stay at this place. Enjoyed it was quite peaceful. I stayed during August so it was close to close attractions. The amenities are not as high as other hotels but you can manage. They clean everyday so that was really nice. I liked that everything was clean when strolled around and came back from being a tourist. Over all was pretty affordable and had a good stay at El Canario by the Lagoon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by El Canario by the Lagoon, Hotel Management
Thank you Jose for your kind words while reviewing our hotel. We take pride on the effort that our maids put on their job and our cleanliness high standards. We try to provide the same amenities as big chain hotels but within our clients budget. We hope to have you back in a no so distant future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Juana Diaz P.R.

Nice weekend stay

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Small and quite. To me its a nice place to stay with your love or a friend.
Cons: Maybe a bit more color or a picture in the room.
Location: Excellent access to walk area or get in and out of El Condado.
Nice hotel close to where I was going to be during the weekend. Easy access in and out of El Condado area. Staff pleasant and willing to go the extra mile to make our stay a wonderful one. Breakfast and the area to eat was nice. Next time I am going to an event will make arrangements to stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by El Canario by the Lagoon, Hotel Management
Thank you Grici for your nice review about our hotel. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will make sure to give your feedback about renewing the rooms with more color or maybe a picture. We hope to see you one more time in a no so distant future!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location near the beach, ok for the price.

Posted Aug 1, 2017
The hotel is small but decent. Breakfast wasn't all that, just cereal and milk. The room was clean and staff is very friendly and helpful. I like the fact that it's close to the beach and about 7-10min from old San Juan. I would go back again cause the price and location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017 by El Canario by the Lagoon, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time reviewing our hotel. Our breakfast is complementary and apart from the assorted cereal and milk we also have 4 types of bread (white, wheat and artisan breads), assorted pastries like croissants, cinnamon rolls, quesitos, apple tarts, cheese tarts, pineapple tarts and cherry tarts, we also have oatmeal (2 types), peanut butter, butter, cream cheese, 2 types of jam, coffee and tea. We are pleased to see that our staff did meet your expectations as did the location of the hotel, which is right in the heart of Condado (known as the new san juan). We are looking forward to have you one more time here with us in a no so distant future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice and conveniently located hotel.

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: The cleanness and the staff treatment. Also the convenient to the beach.
Location: Visit the Old San Juan, lots of hotels and places to eat around.
A good experience, very clean and the staff is wonderful. I'm already planning to go back and stay around the end of the year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by El Canario by the Lagoon, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on our hotel. We take pride of our staff and for work of our maids. Hope to have you back in a no so distant future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Small but clean and keep in very good condition. Staff very polite and helpful. Definitely I will be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by El Canario by the Lagoon, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on our hotel. Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff and the cleanliness of the hotel. Hope to have you back in a no so distant future!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Location Location...

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Close to the beach and Ashford Avenue. No pool. The reception area must be a little bit more organized. Excellent location to go for a walk and find a restaurant for a culinary experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by El Canario by the Lagoon, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the location of the hotel right in the heart of the New San Juan Hope to have you back in a no so distant future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Great for the price!

Posted Jul 3, 2017
This little boutique hotel is perfect for a 1-2 night stay. It is not a modern, updated hotel but it is clean and has everything you would need for a short stay. Staff was helpful and friendly. It is just a short 3-5 minute walk to the beach, hotels, restaurants and shops. It sits between a Holiday Inn Express and I believe a Comfort Inn. For the price, I loved it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by El Canario by the Lagoon, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on our hotel. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff (our most precious jewell) and the cleanliness of the hotel. Hope to have you back in a no so distant future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Great staff, hotel location and conditions. Everything was very clean. The location is perfect and the price was better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by El Canario by the Lagoon, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to make this great review about our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the great comments about our staff. We care about our guests and try to exceed their expectations every time. We hope to have you back in a no so distant future :)