Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Freeport, NY

Switcheroo!

Posted Aug 17, 2017
After staying at the Ritz Carlton for 2 nights, my family and I decided to switch hotels. Pretty easy since they are a block and a half away from each other. The El San Juan has a much trendier vibe, younger crowd, and larger pool area with multiple water sports on-site. Would have been nice to have more pool accoutrements (balls, floaties, volley ball net, etc) and a larger deep area but overall the multiple pools were great. The hotel gets crowded from Thursday to Saturday so get to the large pool early if you want to secure an umbrella. The gym facilities offer 3 floors of equipment options and there are classes to choose from including a pool boot camp class which was done on boogie boards and was tons of fun! Food at this hotel is a bit pricey but expected with the convenience of the pool/beach bar. Formal dining options were great but again, a bit pricey. The kids resorted to Chilis which is right across the street, and a few taco stands and local food vendors along the Ave. My husband and I went to the on site dance club (Brava) which was amazeballs!!! We had so much fun. The club is open Thurs - Sat. They claim to have a strict dress code but didn't really enforce it. There is also a live salsa band with dancing in the hotel lobby. The rooms were just Ok for me - clean and well kept. However, the bathrooms have barnyard style doors which run on a track and are very noisy. You literally hear everyone's :(. Overall we had a great time and I would definitely go back!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family Vacation

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: Cold air conditioned rooms, beautiful beach and pool area.
Cons: Cheaper food options
As a last minute booking, we really did not thoroughly research resorts to stay at. Upon a brief glance of the hotel, it looked beautiful, and it was on the beach, so we booked. We were a family of 4 traveling with our 2 children (both under the age of 5). While the hotel was amazing, and the grounds immaculate, the resort really did not cater to families. No one there bothered us, and there were some other families there, but it clearly was geared towards a younger, chic crowd. The grounds and room were well kept and gorgeous. The beach was phenomenal and was perfect. Jet ski rentals, parasailing, and banana boating were offered within a short walk of the beach by the hotel. There was a food cart that sold empanadas and chicken kebobs that we would often eat for lunch. The hotel food is EXPENSIVE so, we often would take short walks to the nearby restaurants. Again really not a place for reasonably priced food, or super family friendly, but had an amazing beach, pools, and hotel experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upstate, NY

Excellent hotel...close to everything

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Excellent hotel ....new renovations are great...staff was very courteous and attentive to our needs and services were excellent....plus the fact that it's so close to everything .....pool and beach were great!...can't wait to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queens, NY

Beautiful hotel, recently renovated.

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Location: Great beach location, restaurants around the resort are good although they need more. Pool is very nice at resort;
Beautiful hotel, recently renovated, very nice rooms, hotel lobby is gorgeous; stayed there years ago and it was full of noisy crowds, party-goers and noise in hallways. This time around it was very quiet, no noise in the hallways at all hours, it was peaceful. Love this hotel, love the location and the pool area. Service was wonderful; staff at pool were very, very friendly and very helpful. I would go back again. My only complaint is the resort fees - very high and it made my stay very expensive. But I would stay again, this time I am aware of the resort fees.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Wonderful hotel, right on a great beach

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Location: Good location on Isla Verde beach, few minutes from the airport (no noise) and easy to get a taxi/Uber into Old San Juan which we did often.
We had a wonderful stay here over 5 days. The old world dark wood lobby/main floor area had great character and all the outside pools and beach facilities were very good, with everywhere so well maintained. By far the best impression was left by the many staff in all areas who were so great, friendly and attentive - very impressed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Great hotel!

Posted Aug 7, 2017
We were very happy with our stay. All of the staff was very nice. Amenities and location were awesome! Will stay here again on our next visit and recommend to everyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Naples, Fl

Dirty and overpriced

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Book this hotel through Expedia. Room that I booked was not available. They "upgraded " me to a dirty room with a dead roach and dirty floor with hair all over the tile. At the end I was charged more money on top of what I pre-paid with Expedia hidden under "resort fees". Be aware of this hotel and fees , specially when book with Expedia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Beautiful hotel!

Posted Aug 5, 2017
This was our first family trip to Puerto Rico. We had a beautiful three room suite with an amazing view of the pool and beach. Only thing I wish is that the rooms had a microwave so we could heat up all the delicious left overs instead of tossing them. Angelica of housekeeping was always happy to make sure we had what we needed to make our stay a comfortable one and even gave us info on local must see destinations. We went to Cañas the first day of our stay, food was delicious but pricey for a family of 6 being that everything was sold individually instead of as a full course meal. We also found many other great restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Ultimately, I'd definitely stay here again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Strong potential to 4 stars

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: Fantastic spacious rooms.
Cons: Cleanliness and service. Stagg will gather and chat. Takes time before they notice you
Location: Easy access near by restaurants
Fantastic spacious rooms. The hotel also has many, pools, bars, coffee shops shopping center and restaurants. At night live salsa bands. In any case, salsa music is 24/7 everywhere in Puerto Rico. Concierges Eric and pool guys are great. Pools are heated and pleasant to swim at night. Kids friendly although no kids activities. Cons: Room service needs more attention to the details. Bathroom needs better cleaning Beach guys seemed not too stable perhaps an early cocktail? Could not trust to go on water activities. I wish hotel staff would ask guests to be more respectful to other guests. Few drinks in the pool and it can get noisy. I believe the hotel has very high chance to solid 4 stars if management will be more involved. Staff needs better training in the hospitality business.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: I loved their pools and the fact that the beach was accessible trough the property. No driving to the beach! :)
I thought that this Hotel was amazing! There were so many convenient amenities within the Hotel.