Ratings based on 294 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philly

Beachfront Disappointment

Posted Feb 27, 2018
Pros: Location on the beach.
Cons: Lotsa worn out fixtures and furniture. Staff attitude (management primarily) Urine odor in room (pets are permitted)...
Location: The Ocean Park shopping street (RT 37) looks like a war zone. Stay away!!! Rent a car.
Reserved room was ok except there was no hot water. The hotel sent maintenance to assess the complaint. The hotel representative (the owner I believe) insisted that hot water was available. It wasn't We were moved to a different room as an accommodation. This room should not be rented to anyone who plans on retiring before midnight. Why? Directly outside the windows is an outdoor bar and seating area and sleep would be next to impossible in times of good weather.due to people engaging in normal conversation let along any revelry. Fortunately the wind was to the point that no one frequented the bar in the late evening. Sleep was still interrupted by a drink menu board that was being slammed against a pole by the wind. Finally, our room wasn't made up one of the days although I placed the "Housekeeping Requested" sign on the door knob before departing the hotel for the day. I reported this to the desk upon my return who informed me that the maid was gone for the day. She said that she would record the issue and management would be in contact. Never happened! Upon check out I spoke to the desk about the issue whereupon he found no recording of the incident in the log. In summary, this could be a nice place but there many things in disrepair such as the wobbly sink faucet, broken window cranks among others, and above all responsive and accommodating staff. The advertising web site should list also list the many restrictions placed on guests.. . Ireporte
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2018 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Posted Feb 27, 2018
Was convenient having the restaurant in the same facility and on the beach
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 4, 2018 by Hosteria del Mar, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to see you again. Thank you!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

rooms need work

Posted Jan 22, 2018 on Hotels
The lady on duty when we arrived was somewhat rude. We had to wait for our room so we walked into the town. There was a different lady who checked us into the room. She was nicer, you have to carry your luggage up the stairs there is no elevator. The room looked OK upon entering. We went out on the balcony we noticed plastic trash bags covering the missing windows. Later when I was walking by the end of the bed there was water all over the floor and I noticed a bulging ceiling from the water leak. I went down to the desk to find another lady who said she told them about the leak the other day. She brought us beach towels to lay on the floor. There was no other room to move us into. The water stopped dripping but you can tell something is leaking when the water is turned on from the source. The man who checked us out of the room was nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2018 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san juan

Eco friendly, quaint

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Lovely place right on la playa. Rooms are clean and inviting. I’d stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by Gladys, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback.
4 out of 5
by Francisco

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Rosa

A Great Vacation

Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels
It was very pleasant
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017
At Hosteria del Mar we appreciate every customer opinion and encourage us to be better and improve our customer service every day which for your stay is very important to us! We are delighted that you choose Hosteria del Mar and that it was a good experience.
4 out of 5
by Janet

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long island, Ny

Just what the doctor order

Posted May 30, 2017
BEAUTIFUL!!!! It's a nice setting very relaxing food was excellent hotel staff very pleasant not a big place but it's great for a quick and reasonable getaway enjoyed everyday of it definitely going back again!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The service was amazing!

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Ok, so initially I was going to stay somewhere else but since the place was overbooked, hotels.com switched me over to Hosteria del mar. As soon as we got there, the staff greeted us and helped with the check in process. they were friendly and very nice. Once we settled into the room, and checked out the place, we were amazed. the view was really nice, the room was clean and the bed was comfy. We slept quite relaxed with he sound of the waves slipping through the window. Over all, the experience was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017
At Hosteria del Mar we appreciate every customer opinion and encourage us to be better and improve our customer service every day which for your stay is very important to us! We are delighted that you choose Hosteria del Mar and that it was a good experience. We look forward to see you again. Thank you!
4 out of 5
by Theresa

The Beach Is Great

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant is great. Their water system is heated by solar. The week we were there it rained every day, so we had maybe a minute of hot water, the rest of the shower was cold.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017
At Hosteria del Mar we appreciate your feedback which is very important to us! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit. We are constantly looking out to improve our services and meet our guests' expectations. Our Uvva Restaurant is reviewing its menu to satisfy clients' taste and preferences. We would love to have you back as a guest anytime. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others.