Ratings based on 1,447 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Hampton NY

Will stay there again

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Excellent location, very clean and comfortable rooms, very nice staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Amazing weekend at El Convento.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
A short vacation was more pleasant than expected. My stay at El Convento was extraordinary- I loved the feel of luxury,tropical, yet mystical charm of the times- it was a convent built in the 1600's after all. The staff were amazing. I can't think of any who didn't go out of their way to make you feel exceptionally special. Starting with Angel in front desk, Tony in Níspero Cafe, Karen a housekeeper- just to name a few, all those made one feel like queens or kings. Amazing place!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel great staff.

Posted Aug 7, 2017
The only problem I had was no connection to the WiFi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Hotel in the heart of Old San Juan

Posted Aug 5, 2017
If you are looking to experience Old San Juan, this hotel is for you. It was an amazing experience to stay at this hotel. You have to travel 10 minutes to Condado for the day excursions but the food and I mean good food is in Old San Juan. The hotel is charming and staff is friendly. The breakfast is by far the best I've had.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Safe, comfortable and conveniently located.

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: It's architecture and history, and that it was closed to many stores, parks, restaurants historical sites to visit.
It was a wonderful family stayed. We enjoyed the friendly staff, the pool and Jacuzzi, and great food at the restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stanton, TX

Beautiful hotel, in the middle of old San Juan

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Parking
Location: right in the middle of Old San Juan, stores, restaurants, El Morro, San Cristobal Castels, Placitas o, and pharmacies!
Just wonderful! very clean and comfortable. Wonderful staff service, colorful, peaceful. They gave us access to 2 hotels with front beach, we were able to use their towels, casinos, restaurants, everything. I was close to Old San Juan, the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Memphis TN

The best of Old San Juan

Posted Aug 1, 2017
We were completely charmed by this beautiful hotel. Panoramic roof top views, complimentary wine and cheese and discreet attentive staff. Will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarasota, FL

Very nice stay at this hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: Location, service, amenities.
Cons: Humidity in the room was too much!
Location: Amazing location. In the center of the action. Walkable to everything in Old San Juan.
Location is awesome. The staff was amazing. Everyone was super friendly and accommodating. Food was delicious at both restaurants and there's a free wine and cheese happy hour every night! Free fruit and coffee every morning too on the terrace which overlooks a beautiful park and cathedral. Valet parking available and rooftop pool area was relaxing and quaint. They have a sister property at the beach, which we used as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, New York

Spanish history

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Staff was very attentive, Angel attended to every question we asked. My daughter and I arrived after the the daily wine and cheese party so they delivered two bottles of wine to the room. Hotel is in walking distance to shops, restaurants, museums, and Forts. We slept good in beds though bed cover was dingy. They have two restaurants which were nothing fancy. There are many good ones in walking distance.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremely hot!!

Posted Jul 16, 2017
All common areas are open air and no AC. This includes all hallways, restaurants, bars, etc. It is a lovely hotel and the staff were great, however I would not stay again, especially in summer months. Just too uncomfortable.