Ratings based on 1,471 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from midwest

Hurricane Maria and aftermath

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: Location was on high ground. The hurricane was beyond their control. Telling us to come after IRMA and the way they acted after Maria was unacceptable
Cons: Hotel management needs to show leadership, presence and provide daily briefings for tourists. They didn't share what they knew nor what they didn't.
Location: We were advised twice that IRMA didn't impact island, yet upon arrival, found all the sites had been closed. There was NOTHING to do nearby.
Wait staff was excellent and responsive. Desk staff and management were unresponsive. Hotel told us they would not extend reservations when airport was closed to military and had no commercial flights. They caused a great deal of stress among guests who had no way off the island. They threatened to put us on the streets during a period of Marshal law. They had information, working phones and the ability to post to their Facebook page, but told us they didn't have any more service, news, or capabilities than we had. They refused to help. They lied and politics and greed made their 'customer service with a smile' frightful. I praise the goodness and the efforts by other tourists and individuals to come together. The people of San Juan and the smaller businesses did it right. We wish them the very, very best in their recovery, but I wouldn't book a room at this hotel ever again. Worst and most costly vacation ever. Full price charged for rooms with NO amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not able to stay

Posted Oct 2, 2017
We were not able to stay at this Hotel due to Hurricane Maria. Still recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western New York

Beautiful hotel and wonderful staff!!

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Everything!!
Location: Perfect location in Old San Juan. There are many shops, museums, restaurants and historic sights within walking distance.
My husband and I were at El Convento through Hurricane Irma, just returning home today. We felt very safe and the hotel took amazing care of us. I can't say enough good things about this hotel!! We had lights during the electrical blackout when all else was dark after the storm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Best hotel, wonderful staff, excellent food, will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for meandering Old San Juan.

Posted Sep 5, 2017
We had three rooms for a mini family vacation which included ages 19 to 80. Lots of local eateries near us, great nightlife for our young adults, and great atmosphere for my husband and I on evening strolls. My mother and grandmother enjoyed the patio restaurant and the unlimited water and fruits for guests. Great customer service from the front desk staff to the bellhop to the restaurant staff. I would gladly revisit this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South America

Espectacular!

Posted Aug 25, 2017
I was a great place yo stay during our trip to Puerto Rico. It is a maguc place with history
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location great service

Posted Aug 24, 2017
We had a wonderful time. The staff were great. The wine and cheese hour was terrific. Great sitting areas all over the hotel. Short walk to all the great restaraunts in old san juan.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The hotel was ok. I would have liked better amenities. The pool wasn't big at all. The breakfast wasn't great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany, New York

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Amazing property with great views. Only negative about the resort was the food. It was good but we expected better with how gorgeous the resort was. Drinks were fantastic. Food needed some work :). But it's not stopping us from going back in February!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Heart of old San Juan, beautiful iconic place. Will go back again.