Ratings based on 2,119 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Hotel was closed and they did not want to refund due to the hurricanes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: THE POOL
Cons: THE BUG PROBLEM...
I WAS DISAPPOINTED THAT ON THE FRIST DAY I FOUND ROACHES IN THE BATHROOM. AND THERE WAS SCREWUP WITH OUR RESERVATIONS.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older

Posted Sep 23, 2017
The common areas were up to date but the rooms were dated. Not what I expected for this hotel. I also encountered a rude hotel clerk at the front desk.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Do not stay here

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Only good thing about this hotel was it was on the beach. Room was dirty had mold on walls property was supposed to be non-smoking but people were smoking everywhere the pool was dirty. Staff were not friendly at all I will never stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago, il

Great hotel that sits on the beach

Posted Sep 19, 2017
The hotel was awesome they had a lot going on with FEMA and the hurricanes but they didn't miss a beat. From the moment we checked in, my husband and I, the bell hop took our bags right away. It was quite check in time so they gave us free drinks. 15 minutes later they said our room was ready. Great! The pool was lovely and it lead to the beach. There were a lot to.do on the beach.also we meet with the concierge, Nesso, who told us what was happening on the island. It was also salsa night at the hotel. It was just a great trip
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis , Mn.

Nice hotel , very pretty resort.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Very beautiful but Only negative things : mini bar wayyyy to expensive! Parking was awful and way toooooo expensive 20 Dollars a day . Room was a bit small for what i paid. very spendy to stay here , they charge you for everything! Puerto Rico. You need all inclusive resorts So people can come there more and not get broke before their trip is up . Other then that a beautiful place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orient, Ohio

Great Place to Stay

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: The Staff! AMAZING!!!!!!!
Cons: You need to add a fridge in each room for your guest, that doesn't charge you if you open it.
Location: Lots of local places to eat, it was great that CVS was so close , went there for everything including alcohol.
We had an amazing time, The hotel staff was Excellent! Jose (GQ) the security guy was amazing, Every evening we enjoyed talking with him while we were having drinks by the pool. Our room was great, cleaned everyday . Josh at the front door was so helpful in telling us where to eat and where to visit in Old San Juan. By far one of our best vacations and we will plan another trip and stay here. Can't wait to visit again. I hope all is safe there after hurricane Irma. God Bless!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hurricane Irma

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Easy access to the beach
Cons: Staff were terrible, I mean really really terrible. Not welcoming. Not informative with regards to hurricane safety. They appeared angry and annoyed
Staff was in cooperative with giving out details about the storm, evacuation procedures, or if/how the hotel would be helpful to guests. We left 1 day early, fleeing from the hurricane and the hotel administrators threatened to add a surcharge on to my bill for leaving early even though we paid for the last day. People brought boom boxes and blared the music. At times there were multiple boom boxes playing, a deafening sound. Staff refused to talk to guests about turning down their music The bathroom door would not close. We reported this. It was never fixed. Beds were not made up after 8 hours of being out of the room I will never, ever go to an Intercontinental Hotel again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quad Cities IL

Posted Sep 9, 2017
The hotel was great. Good location and awesome pool area. Plus very nice bar and grill on the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hackensack

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Convenience to restaurants and shops on Isla Verde Avenue. Easy and quick access to the beach. Very nice gym with a nice spa. Caring and kind staff
Cons: THE POOL AREA CLEANLINESS.It's a very nice pool but there was an obvious lack of attention to cleaning around the pool area.
Location: Great location that's not too busy and nice shops and stores all around. Restaurants with authentic quality Puerto Rican food at reasonable prices.
My family travels to San Juan every year to vacation and see my family. This year we had a relaxing and fun week in San Juan at the Intercontinental. We like staying on the beach on Isla Verde avenue because of proximity to shops and restaurants. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The property was generally well maintained and clean and the services were just fine. Our only complaint is the pool area mess. We stayed here a couple of years ago and it was great. This time was also very nice but not great. The pool area grounds were not kept up as well as you would expect and the lack of cleanliness at the pool was a problem. The fountain was not working and neither was the flame by the outside area of the lobby bar. The pool had leaves and other debris in it constantly and there was no one cleaning with a skimmer for hours at a time. The worst area was by the bar area. There were empty cans, bottles and cups all around the pool constantly. This was true every day and throughout the day; morning, noon or night. The same trash that was there at night when we went u to our room was there again the next day. That's a very bad job by the staff. One day I saw a plastic cup and a candy wrapper inside the pool. It was obvious that the cleaning or pool area staff was not instructed or not properly supervised to keep the pool and surrounding area clean. It was annoying to be on vacation somewhere that you think is a special hotel only to realize that the staff cares so little.