Ratings based on 191 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Convenient location with great amenities

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Loved the indoor pool, was the perfect temp. Jacuzzi tub and sauna was nice. The hotel was conveniently located in the city center. Bed was not comfortable and walls were so thin you could hear people talking in a normal tone. The room had French doors that lead to a small balcony which was nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by Steffi Wehner, Communications Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Melanie, Thank you so much for your visit and for letting us know about your stay. We appreciate your feedback and will take it into account. Please come visit us again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Can get a little noisy if you are on the bottom floor depends on who is above you. They have earplugs in the room though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by Steffi Wehner, Communications Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your visit and your feedback. We loved having you and can't wait for next time!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Napa, CA

Run down

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Room was run down. Bare patches left unpainted. Things looked tired.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2017 by Steffi Wehner, Communications Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Shelly, Thank you so much for your visit and for taking the time to let us know your thoughts. We truly appreciate it. Please know, that our Earthbox is a work in progress, a labor of love. Every Winter we do some work, add a garden, remodel rooms, buy new furniture, upgrade and paint. Come back soon and check out what's new! We can't wait!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Renovated Motel right in Friday Harbor

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: The highlights - staff is great, service is great and location is really good. Liked the locally produced lavender soaps and lotions.
Cons: Lowlights - rooms could use a bit more insulation. First clue was they provide little packages of earplugs along with the soap, shampoo & shower gel.
Earthbox Inn and Spa is a nicely updated Motel type accommodation rebranded as an Inn. Nothing really wrong with that, but don't go expecting the rooms to be inn or spa like. Nicely updated rooms. Lovely, modern and comfy lobby. Great beach cruiser bikes available to guests. Nice indoor pool and ok workout area. On balance, a good solid pick for a weekend in Friday Harbor when you want to be in town and near to everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2017 by Steffi Wehner, Communications Manager, Hotel Management
Hi laura, Thank you so much for your visit and for taking the time to write about your stay. We are so happy you had a great time. Please come visit us again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington the state

Mother Daughter fun

Posted Sep 5, 2017
We got off the Ferry at 1pm and had to report for our Kayak trip by 2pm. The hotel was kind enough to hold our bags in a closet, ha ha ha that was very full of others bags as well. We returned from sea kayaking at 645 and we were literally thee last bag in the closet. The unfortunate part was I believe we got thee worst room too. Like a motel and had no AC at fancy high prices. What a bummer. I was over it because they had a keurig and had decaf pods! They also offered a huge fan. The beds were nice and clean. Did not match the online photo. There were worse places. I feel they are a bit over priced. The grounds were clean and beautiful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Steffi Wehner, Communications Manager, Hotel Management
Hi P, Thank you so much for your visit and your feedback. We very much appreciate it and love that you and your daughter had a good time. Come back some time when the weather is cooler, we run awesome specials and you have the beaches for yourself. We can't wait.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Should be labeled Motel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Pelidaba lavedar bath products
Cons: See above
Earthbox really wants to be a spa and inn, but it is really a motel with some nice fixtures and new paint and carpet, with a neighboring building where you can have spa services. It is comprised of several older motel buildings. Our room's door was entered by an outdoor walkway accessed by stairs. Old, cracking vinyl flooring and trim in the bathroom. Lots of spiders in the bathroom. NO AC. Had I noticed this, I would not have booked this room. It was a hot day and the noisy box fan did not help very much. It was VERY NOISY. We heard when every neighbor returned for the night. Not great that they provide ear plugs out of necessity. Cramped quarters, one of us knocked our heads on the solid wooden shelf right above the mini fridge. Yes, it is on an island and expenses can be more as such. HOWEVER, I have stayed at way nicer places that are true hotels or inns or bed and breakfasts that are updated and provide complimentary breakfast FOR THE SAME PRICE and in a BETTER LOCATION. The only pluses to our stay were the presence of a pool and the location right in town and the bath products were lovely, but there are better places to stay for the same price and amenities and location. And we were told a 4 pm check in but it was really earlier. Would have been nice to know that. I suggest Expedia and Earthbox update their description of facilities and check in times, and quit using their island location as an excuse to charge such a hefty price. This room was worth $150/night maximum.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Steffi Wehner, Communications Manager, Hotel Management
Hi LSM, Thank you for your visit and your feedback. We appreciate it. Yes, retro-motor inn with renovated rooms and spa-like amenities is who we are. We are so sorry we didn't meet your expectations. Next time, please check out our sister hotel , the Bird Rock. It's a super cute historic hotel we run as a B&B. You might like it. Hope, to see you there.
5 out of 5
by william

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Steffi, Hotel Management
Thanks for all the stars, William. We hope, to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did not receive value for the cost

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Close to downtown
Cons: Update room
Did not believe we got value. No continental breakfast,no a/c in the room
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Steffi Wehner, Communications Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your visit and your feedback. Please keep in mind, that everything on an island is much more expensive than on the mainland. Just think, everything, from gasoline to coffee, from nail to bed, needs to be shipped or flown over. Taxes, wages, utilities, especially drinking water, are a lot more. You as our guest will see this reflected in our room rates. Having said this, please come back some time in the shoulder or quiet season, when the weather is brilliant (curtesy of the Olympic Rain Shadow), we offer amazing specials and you have the beaches to yourself. We hope so much you had fun on our island and to see you again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

earth box

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Just said
Cons: xxx
Location: xxx
I just did - not good - will not return. Facilities and staff are medicore at best, With a bill of 253 per night (including taxes and fees), mediocre is not good enough. Will no longer trust your ratings
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Steffi Wehner, Communications Manager, Hotel Management
Yup, Retro-Motor-Inn on a beautiful island is who we are. We understand our concept isn't for everybody. We are sorry we didn't meet your expectations. Thank you for giving us a shot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Location is amazing!!

Posted Aug 17, 2017
This is the best hotel to stay in at Friday Harbor. Yes, you can get closer to the bay or ferry station but this is out of the way yet so close to downtown you can easily walk to grab dinner or go look at the boats. we had a bunch of kids in tow and found this hotel to be great for families. The walls are thin and he could get a little noisy in the evening but they do provide your plugs for the we had a bunch of kids in tow and found this hotel to be great for families. The walls are thin and he could get a little noisy in the evening but they do provide earplugs for the nighttime. The hotel was beautifully clean and arranged and had Keruig coffee in the room, a nice pool area and free bike rentals for exploring!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Steffi Wehner, Communications Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you, Adrian! We are so happy, you had a great time. We can't wait to have you come visit again soon.