Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WA

Beautiful view of the harbor!

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Great staff, beautiful town, great view of the harbor from the San Juan room!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Too pricey for what you get.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
As with small islands you're a captive audience. You could hear other rooms running water, TV and such and lobby activity if on main floor. Breakfast included was not worth the price. I couldn't believe the price for off season....can't fathom what they get away with charging high season. They were nice to bring in a heater cause room was cold... never could get it right...so uncomfortable all night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Location Cozy Rooms

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
The people at the hotel were super friendly and helpful. They answered any questions we might have had and were pleasant and actually fun people.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great downtown location

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel if you want to in the middle of things.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
But lumpy couch and a lot of street noise in the early morning. M
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Al from Lebanon, PA

Weird but mostly comfortable.

Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Hotels
This was kind of a weird place. We were on the ground floor in what was essentially a suite. Our adult son slept in a sofa bed, which he found comfortable, while my wife and I slept in a queen size bed. Biggest complaint was the shower in the spa (didn't use the spa). It poured straight down making any effort to direct water on any particular part of the body difficult. It was also expensive, although most places on San Juan Island were.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vista, CA

Quaint Hotel, Hard to Find

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: The location is perfect. Access to ferry, shops restaurants, markets. All very walkable.
Cons: Signage!
Location: Everything is at your fingertips from this location. Hotel is directly behind King's Market, an upscale grocery store with hot food/deli items.
We drove around the block several times and finally had to ask directions. The hotel is on the block, but the sign is so faint that it's almost impossible to see. The front desk person was kind enough to give my husband some ice for my injured knee, and was knowledgeable about the area. Our room was a one bedroom/living/kitchenette. Nicely restored area of the hotel, but bedroom is very small. Decent sized living/kitchen area, but there was a 1/2 step down from LR to kitchen that proved dangerous for people my age at night, even though it is lit. I personally didn't see the lobby, as I couldn't walk very far.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by Laura, Hotel Management
Thanks, Karen for your great feedback! I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time on the island and that you liked your stay. I really appreciate hearing about your suggestion for better signage! I hope that your injured knee is healing well. We hope to see you again, soon!
5 out of 5
by Marissa from Vancouver, WA

Comfy bed, great location, great granola.

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
The Bird Rock Hotel made a great impression for our first time to San Juan Island! It was a quaint place with lots of history. Service was excellent and very accommodating and the granola (complementary, 24hrs) was wonderful! Best of all, it is within walking distance of everything in Friday Harbor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your great review, Marissa!! We can't wait to feed you some more granola soon. In the meantime, enjoy the rest of your summer! Laura
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right in the middle of where you want to be

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Orbitz
Besides lack of parking during the day it was a great experience. Great service, desk staff was very friendly.