Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kirkland, WA

Very, very remote.

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: Scenic. The restaurant on the property was good.
Location: It's a nice place if you are looking for something secluded. I would not recommend it to a friend because of the location. Try Eastsound instead.
The Lodge is pleasant enough, although when I was there after a windstorm, most of the cable TV channels had been knocked off. That was unfortunate since it rained a few hours every day while I was there and I didn't get out as much as I thought I would.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy room

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness
We stayed in the main lodge. The room is very cozy and the extra toiletries were a bonus and even the breakfast goodies were appreciated. And yes, there are deer and bunnies everywhere.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Loved our little cottage!

Posted Aug 10, 2015
We were pleasantly surprised by our stay in one of the Orchard cottages. Everything, from the little bag upon check in, to the little welcome snacks and treats, to the lovely touches to the cottage itself, was awesome! Loved the restaurant and quiet property. Just a great weekend. We had plenty of room for a family of three. We will be back. Thank you!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2015
When we arrived, someone else was in our room. He had moved in and changed into his swim trunks and was on the front deck. Check in time was at 4:00 but our room had not been cleaned yet. The maid told the man in our room to go to room number one, not cabin number one. He said ok, because the room hadn't been cleaned anyway.. She told us to come back in 30 minutes. My sister stayed with us as the room was supposed to sleep four. The futon that folded out was uncomfortable as you had to sleep on it as a couch and there was a hump in the middle. The King bed was foam and on a platform that if you were not careful, you would hurt yourself walking into the hard corners. The bed was too soft and there were no extra pillow. The pillows were flat. There was a hair dryer that you had to plug in across the sink. Bring your own shampoo and soap as there was none. We decided to watch a movie but the dvd player did not work. Very disappointing. The first day they left 3 bottles of water and breakfast cookies for the morning. There were 3 yogurts and three oranges in the small refrigerator. The second morning (we stayed two nights) they left two bottles of water and nothing else. Not even a third bottle of water for the third guest. We were given new towels for the second night but that was it. No changing of the linens each night. For the price we payed, we expected more. Oh and don't even try the hot tub. It was scalding hot and we could not even put our feet in.
4 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Clean, cozy, and relaxed.

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: The smallness of it. Only 8 rooms in the main house and some outlying cabins. Bed was firm and comfortable.
Cons: Breakfast included yogurt, oj, and a breakfast cookie left in our rooms (which was nice). Could use a few more options, including a protein.
Location: There isn't much right around the inn but it was a good starting point for a challenging road ride. Lots of up and down. Not for beginners.
In keeping with the vibe of the island, Deer Harbor Inn offers a quaint and quiet option for relaxation. Not swanky and not schleppy, it was a perfect blend of clean and comfortable. Great starting point for exploring the island by road bike. Not for beginners as bike lanes are marginal at best and the terrain is hilly. We climbed nearly 5,000 ft over 49 miles (including Mt. Constitution). Restaurant at the Inn is pleasant and food was good. Also recommend heading into East Sound for the "town" experience.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Loved Orcas Island!

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Loved walk to the marina. Good location
We stayed two nights in a lodge room. very clean and comfortable. Could have used a bit more for breakfast, but overall an excellent stay among beautiful grounds.
4 out of 5
for Couples
by Dan from Albany Oregon

Celebrated Silver Anniversary

Posted Jun 18, 2015 on Hotels
A beautiful week celebrating our 25th anniversary. Deer Harbor Inn was the perfect setting on Orcas and an even better location as a base from which to explore the island. Deer Harbor was right up the road from where we went kayaking and whale watching. We say Orcas, porpoise, and a hump back! The restaurant was a comfortable style with delicious local fare. The rooms were very clean, well supplied and accomodating. We loved the baskets they provided with breakfast/snack treats and drinks everyday. The rooms were quiet unless you were on the first floor and had heavy walkers above you. I recommend an upstairs room if you can get one. The weather was fantastic. Deer and rabbits roamed freely on the property and often as well as swooping bald eagles over the property....and oh yes...the hot tub was great. We will be returning soon!
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Very quiet and nice. The breakfast was nice. The toliet ran. It rained and water was dripping out of bathroom vent.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Stevens, WA

Nice Stay

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Location, Location, Location
Cons: Ceramic Coffee Cups
Location: Close enough to everything on the island, and very quiet.
We found our way to the resort easily with good directions from the owners. The rooms in the Lodge are a bit on the small side, very clean and quite comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta Canada

Accessible only by car.

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: The hotel room was clean and they provided breakfast in a basket in the room (equipped with a refrigerator) which was adequate.
Cons: They definitely need a reliable shuttle service to and from the marina.
Location: Location is remote however, they have a restaurant on site that is excellent. I would not recommend this hotel for families.
After booking this hotel, I called to arrange transportation from the marina as we would not have a car. The owner assured me that someone would come down to pick us up. When we arrived and I called, she sounded annoyed and said her husband was sleeping. He did drive down to the marina and pick us up and thankfully was very pleasant. The owners/manager were not accessible - just a phone number to call if you needed anything. In the meantime, to meet with our friends on their boat, we walked the 1/2 mile back and forth several times. When we were leaving to return to the marina (with our luggage) we called the number posted and had to leave a message for a shuttle ride. We waited for awhile but as there didn't appear to be anyone in sight, I asked the cleaning staff if they could help. She informed me the owner/manager were at church. We were fortunate that she was able to accommodate us with a ride, from another employee.