Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

OK, would recommend

Posted Jul 17, 2008
Orcas Island is great, this hotel has a great location, but the rooms are too far from the resort and up on a hill. Views were overgrown up there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

not impressed

Posted Nov 1, 2007
We stayed at Rosario 7 years ago and felt it was a true luxury spa. This time we felt it was a low budget hotel. Carpets, roof, building everything looks aged and unkept. It looks like its been allowed to get run-down. the deck was dirty and not very clean. I definitely would not have stayed there had we know the condition was not the same as our first/original stay. HOWEVER, the staff was very professional and very nice. They were definitely top quality.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

lovely place

Posted Oct 4, 2007
The overall condition of the hotel is just a little worn, But the friendliness and efficiency of the staff well made up for that. It is in a truly beautiful location and we enjoyed that every single day!
3 out of 5
by Anna from Seattle, WA

Needs an update

Posted Aug 23, 2007
My brother recently had his wedding at Rosario, and we stayed there for a couple of nights. The wedding was fantastic and my brother and his wife were given terrific rooms. However, the room we ended up in was in so much worse condition! We had high hopes because we had splurged on a higher end room with a view, at full price during high season. Unfortunately, it was very outdated. The walls were poorly painted and unattractive, the carpet was worn out, and the tile in the entry and bath was very old, ugly, and freezing! In fact, the entire bathroom was a disappointment. It was dark, cold, worn out, and mildewy. I have stayed in nicer rooms at 2-star motels. The only saving grace was the great view. We saw many other rooms while there (those that our friends and family were staying in) and all were in much better condition than ours. I suspect that the rest of the resort has had an update, but our building hadn't. I have no problems with them doing a gradual resort update, but they really need to sell the rooms in our building at a lower rate. It just wasn't fair to have paid that much and ended up in our room, when most of the hotel was staying in much nicer rooms. One more thing... No one ever came to make up our room, so after my brother's wonderful wedding, we came back to an unmade bed, the towels that we had hurriedly left on the bathroom floor, and a coffee pot with cold coffee in it. Not a great end to a special day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Issaquah, WA

Not up to my expectations

Posted Jul 4, 2007
When I booked this hotel, I was expecting to take my family for a few days of relaxation and fun. It really missed the mark. First of all the staff was very apathetic. No, "How was your stay" or "Hello, what can I do for you". Lots of stares and frowing faces! We were only allowed to attend the "family" pool, which was old and kinda dirty. All the outdoor activities like the tether ball and shuffle board games were broken, and my kids were really bored. The food was another thing. The only restaurant that accomodated children was at the little grill down by the marina. The "nice" restaurant was the only place to get breakfast. We were on edge the entire time and it cost way too much for what you got on the buffet. I have to say the waitress we had our last morning was nice and friendly(the only one). The second night we were there, they were actually having a party for one of their employees in the "family friendly" restaurant and we could barlely get any service. My son got so tired of waiting we had to get take out for our room, whoopie! My husband and I got a massage in the spa, it was good, but they didn't have anywhere to sit and wait and the receptionist was one of the most intraverted people I have ever met. She could barely speak, much less smile at us. We went camping after two days at the Roario, and I have to say we had a much better time camping at Moran State Park. Thank goodness we didn't have to pay full rate.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

great views

Posted Jan 24, 2007
great location, good cookies, only downside was heater was broken and it was cold however did have a great fireplace to keep warm
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Woodinville, WA

Rosario Resort And Spa

Posted Oct 10, 2006
My wife and I spend 4 days at Rosario over a busy holiday week. We booked online, and due lack of contiguous room avalibility we had to do two separate bookings of 2 days each. I was dissapointed with the condition of the 1st building and room that we stayed at. First I noticed that the indoor/outdoor carpeting leading to our building/room was extreemly worn (there was no nap left). Once inside the room the top of the table in the room was damaged badly and the paint was cracked and peeling, and the room and carpet were dingy looking - not what I expected from an expensive resort. Since the room had a balcony and a good view of the water we stayed in it. On our 3rd day we moved to the 2nd room in another building, and were dissapointed that the view of the water was minimal. We spoke to the front desk and asked if there were any other rooms. They got around to asking exactly what we were looking for and I mentioned king bed, nice view, jetted spa. They did accomodate us and moved us into a very large room with a wonderful view of the water where we spend two wonderful days and nights. It was a good finale.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central Valley, CA

A little disappointed...

Posted Sep 19, 2006
I was a little disappointed in our room. The decor was outdated...80's. Our couch was ripped and falling apart on it's backside and it was very small. The bathroom was huge. It was as large as the living room. We ate at the restaurant in the main bldg; and it was nothing that great. Shuttle service from our room was very efficient.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Not luxury, a little dated, but overall nice

Posted Aug 9, 2006
We were expecting a luxury hotel with a breathtaking view. We were disappointed in the quality of the buildings where the rooms are located, but the mansion was quite nice. We were not disappointed in the view and setting, absolutely beautiful! Good food too!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, LA

Beautiful setting

Posted Aug 9, 2006
Rosario Resort is a lovely getaway on Orcas Island. Our hillside balcony room had a wonderful view of East Sound. It's easy to catch whale-watching or kayaking trips from their marina, where you can also buy breakfast pastries and coffee and other convenience store items. My only suggestion for improvement: Rosario needs to do a bit of cosmetic work on their grounds; some areas look a bit worn.