Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Bad hotel

Posted Dec 7, 2017
I was very disappointed about that hotel .. the hotel was very dirty and the size for the room was super small the restroom was about 2 feet away from the bed.. no walking distance at all the room was very dark as well.. even my wife where very scare to see a roaches in room but the worst of that when we arrive to the hotel you have to take the stairs up and very Pointe it like we going up to the duomo.. it like 70 degree angle to go up.. .. I was planning to leave the hotel same night to checking to other hotel around the area but everything were full ...and about the price was very expensive and was not 4 star at all I give 2 star all day for that hotel... the breakfast was just fine but in very small location as well ...the location is like outside patio has been closed just make extra space for breakfast area.. and too noisy as well ...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2018 by Pierpaolo , Hotel Management
Dear Simon, thank you for your kind review Of course I wish to apologize for the inconvenice we mihgt have caused you. However we feel to point it out couple of thigs: 1- The hotel is developed in three floors and not in four. At the moment we do not have en elevator, we are planning to have one soon...but thanks to all our porters we always help our guests with luggage 2- Even if we try our best, we know we are not able to pleased all our guests at the same level, but I do not think that a two starts hotel would offer all the services that our hotel may offer...such as swimming pool, wine cellar with wine tasting...concierge 24hours and so on. 3- Cleaning for us is the main thing, the way you describe our hotel, is not at all real....we have several guests that decided to stay with us more than one time not only for the great location but for our high standards of cleanliness as well. Saying that we take this review as an opportunity to improve our service and we shall try our best to make all our guests's stay as memorable as possible With best regards, Pierpaolo - Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Firenze
2 out of 5
by Emily

Dissapointing - do not select with a pool in mind

Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
Advertised pool - nonexistent, not on the premise, a separate location and additional fee ($25) per each person Staff - rude, yelling that if we want a pool (it was 98 degrees) we better pay (though we thought we did so by selecting "pool" under amenities. When we mentioned that we will write this review we were told to ask nicely so we may get a"free pass" for one day to a distant pool (we passed) No elevator, our room was on the 5 floor (US), weak AC and WIFI Tiny room and even smaller bathroom (smaller than a typical European big city hotel) First night TV did not work and when fixed no English channels were available despite a sign that listed BBC Very good location
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new england

Sweet bitter bittersweet

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Location , gritty charm like a Sofia Loren movie or hotel Budapest. No elevator was ok as was the decor.
Cons: Wifi electrical issues, brief power losses. Pool was out of order 2 of the 3 times we went to use it.didnt go to Florence for pool but influenced pick
Location: A plus location walk to all sights museums. Restaurant, gelato shopping. Chill in San Lorenzo duomo area
Excellent location. Breakfast cappacino nice. Read reviews before I went so wasn't shocked although expectations were higher.
5 out of 5
by Stephen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 30, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel very close to the duomo

Posted Apr 23, 2017
We stayed 5 days here and the staff was wonderful and accomodating. The room was not real pretty but it satisfied all of our needs. The staff and location more than made up for the room. The breakfast was good and overall I would rate this a 4. We had a wonderful time!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Front Office-Hotel Ginori al Duomo, Hotel Management
Thank you for the nice review! We appreciate any advise on how to improve our rooms. We're glad that you've enjoyed your stay with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A hotel with great character.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: The staff make this hotel. They are all unfailingly helpful and charming.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The hotel is situated within easy walking distance of all the main attractions in the city centre.
The hotel is an old building, parts date back to the 15th century, but with modern facilities and fittings. It has a charm and character that few modern hotels can match. Because of the nature of the building, the hotel does not have a lift. This could be an issue for anyone with restricted mobility. However, as a moderately fit 68-year old, I had no problems walking up the stairs to my top-floor room. The room was clean and comfortable with a large wardrobe and a free safe. It was also quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Staff-Hotel Ginori al Duomo, Hotel Management
Dear Ray49, we're very thankful for this review. We hope to see you again very soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
We loved ou visit to Florence and the Hotel Ginori al Duomo made it even better! Room was nice, service great and great location!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

No lift. Room light not bright enough.

Posted Sep 9, 2016
No lift, you have to walk up the stairs. Room light is not enough, very dim. No power point if you want to charge more than 1 phone and to boil water. Breakfast is good.
5 out of 5
by Douglas from Stirling

A superb hotel that I would use again

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed in the Garden suite which was seconds from the pool though we only used it once. The room was fantastic. The air con was also excellent which was good for us as we are not used to 37 degrees heat. The staff were absolutely superb and the hotel couldn't be in a better position for site seeing in Florence. It is about a 10 minute walk from the train station then about 5 minutes walk to all the main sites.