Ratings based on 198 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York L.I.

Within vicinity of many great attractions

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: Central location,
Cons: Air conditioner in the room was very noisy and it was not very effective at cooling down our room. We were very hot during nights
Location: Walking distance to Colliseum,piazza Navona,di Trevi. Bars and resturants - many around
It was a Nice hotel. It was pleasent. Staff was very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jim K.

Pleasantly Surprised by Florence hotel

Posted May 14, 2015 on HotelClub
Expectations were low for our Florence hotel, which we chose for its low price and excellent location. We were charmed by the staff, who provided spot-on suggestions for less-known sites and activities. Room was comfortable and not as small as we were expecting. Bathroom was modern and everything worked fine. Included breakfast consisted of fruits, croissants, bread, cheese, cold cuts, yogurt, cereal, juice and coffee/espresso. Nicely done. This is an old-style hotel, evocative of travel in Europe 30 years ago. Small and personal the staff know you and remember your room number when you return for your key. And the location is close to everything. Short walk to train station and all the sights of the city centre. Would definitely stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Hotel in the city...

Posted Apr 21, 2015
A perfectly acceptable three star hotel. If you examine it a little closely you will notice the wear and tear but five minutes from the duomo... Can you really complain. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was cleaned and tidied daily. We weren't expecting the Ritz... Bring ear plugs if you're on the road side as it can be a little loud other than that its very acceptable.
4 out of 5
by thomas from Hermosa Beach, California

Stay here and be happy!

Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel location would be hard to beat; walking distance to most things you want to see and only a few blocks from the train station. Room was comfortable, quiet and clean. Breakfast good enough to keep you going until next gelato! Priced well. I definitely would stay at Hotel Rex again.
1 out of 5
by Elizabeth from Charlotte NC

Don't stay here.

Posted Dec 26, 2014 on Hotels
Worst place we stayed in Italy and it cost the same. Receptionist helpful but curt to rude. Room was dark, beat up furniture, afraid the walk on carpet without shoes, bidet and sink both stopped up, warm water just a trickle and very disappointing. Clean towels and sheets, in room fridge wasn't working and paint chipping on walls and door frames. Didn't smell bad is the best I can say. Night receptionist was most helpful, African gentleman, called our cab and helped us to get off at 4 am to catch a flight.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rudloff

Friendly Hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: The Hotel staff is really nice and supportive and always eager to help. English is spoken here if needed.This
Cons: WIFI is free but the signal is really weak in my room. The service did not work most of the time.
Location: This Hotel is centrally located for any type of sightseeing in a city where one has to really walk to the sights.
This hotel is a small gem right off of the Piazza San Lorenzo and the Cappelle Medici. It is situated on a quiet street with stores for business and restaurants for eating. There is a lift in the hotel for those of us that can no longer climb the stairs. The rooms are comfortable. There is nothing fancy or elaborate just a nice cozy room with TV,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Room OK but carpet in poor condition Bathroom condition and appl are good No wifi in rooms-in the lobby only Lobby cozy Breakfast and service good
1 out of 5
by Maria from USA

Hotel Rex...Hotel Wreck!

Posted Nov 2, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel is in poor condition and in front of a loud Irish pub. Windows are not insulated thus you will be hearing all the noise until about 2am. Carpet super dirty and dusty. Buckets of concrete mix and construction tools left in the hallways. Dirty bed sheets, towels and dining room mantels also left in big bags around the hallways. Room at the second floor with a leaky A/C; woke up in a flooded room. When requested a change in room, staff initially said they knew about this but the technician would not be in until 3 days after my arrival. Nevertheless, they were still putting guests in this awful room. The bathrooms' conditions were bad in both of the rooms I stayed. Pipes were broken and leaking water; shower had no pressure and it wouldn't stay on. One night, I had to bathe with a cup...very pathetic. I kept hearing the pipes "roaming" each time the guest next door flushed the toilet. Breakfast was less than desirable. It consisted of instant coffee with steamed milk while the staffs “assure" you is Italian cappuccino or espresso with a smile on their faces. There was only one choice of cold cuts and one choice of cheese. Croissants were not fresh either. Hotel décor is outdated. I am all for old charming but this was plain neglect. There is a big difference. There were no queen or king size beds. If you request such, you will be put in two twin beds tied together. I will not recommend anyone to stay here. This place should be delisted from Hotel.com.
2 out of 5
by eileen from usa

i would not stay here, i deserve a refund

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels
i left a few hrs after checking in. the water in the bathroom sink ran brown when i turned it on. made me take a second look at the room. and the shower was only a non movable shower head in the CEILING over the toilet. brown water? indicates rusted pipes or a room that is NEVER used. i did not want to drink, bath or brush my teeth in that hotel....and it makes you think twice about the food preparation
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2014
The hotel is in a great location near the train station, but that's all it has going for it.