Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Anonymous

CHARGED FOR AIR CONDITIONING

Posted Jul 3, 2011 on Orbitz
Hotel is in pretty good location. Did not know we would be charged for air conditioning. This was not mentioned on [...]. We were billed for it as we checked out. Breakfast was not very good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

The Piccolo Hotel in Florence- value for money

Posted Oct 7, 2010 on Hotels
The Piccolo hotel in Florence is located within walking distance of many of the sight-seeing areas. It provides clean and comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price. You have to climb a flight of stairs to enter the hotel premises. The breakfast offers a good variety and is more than adequate. The staff were very friendly and helpful. For the tourist it gives good value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Anonymous

Excellent location & value, great hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2010 on Orbitz
The hotel was a fairly easy walk from the train station. It's also within easy walking distance of a lot of the museums and other attractions. The room was large and very nice. The bathroom was nice, but there was no surround around the shower and the toilet was next to the shower. When you showered, the toilet and the bathroom floor got wet. The bathroom floor was slippery. The staff was very nice and helpful! The entire hotel was clean and well-kept.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from liverpool, uk

would be happy to use again

Posted Jul 4, 2010 on Hotels
for a basic hotel in central florence, i couldn't have expected more. good standard, would be happy to use again. only snag was i think a family of elephants live upstairs, you get that with some of these airy old buildings though.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

a short walk but close to all the right places

Posted Jun 27, 2010 on Hotels
As a former study abroad student I found this location to give me a taste of the florence natives, and their local drinking grounds all within walking distance to the san lorenzo market area. The walk each day is about 10 or so minutes, clean area, direct and not over crowded with people. The hotel has nice high ceilings, two floors, a simple but great european breakfast spread and just requires you let yourself in and out of the hotel after 7pm.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Hotel Piccolo - Italian For "Terrible"

Posted Jun 19, 2010 on Hotels
This hotel is terrible. The office is located on the second floor of a musty, dingy building. Although the staff was friendly, the room smelled and was uninviting. There was no decor and the bed was hard and uncomfortable. The bathroom was dirty and the shower simply drained into the floor. All this was bearable at first, but things got worse as our stayed progressed. The maids did not furnish new towels unless asked and tipped, they simply hung up the old dirty ones. Worst of all, there were no bug screens, and the maids opened all the windows every day, allowing mosquitoes to enter and bite us all night. We ended up only staying two of the four nights because it was so miserable. We moved to the Hotel Medici across the street, which was amazing, not only by comparison but in general. That hotel is highly, highly recommended! We learned the hard way that there is a big difference between two and three star hotels in Europe. If you are looking for hostel-like conditions this place is for you, but otherwise book elsewhere. PS: Free WiFi, their one saving grace...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Piccolo Hotel florence

Posted Jun 13, 2010 on Hotels
A tough place to get into and out-only one key to guests. Noisy, mosquitoes, hot, uncomfortable mattress. I have had many nights in a tent more comfortable than this room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Good basic hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2010
Good basic hotel. Clean and friendly. Excellent value. Convenient location. Would definately use again. Unless things have changed, be aware that the hotel has very specific checking in times and if you arrive outside these hours you may have to pay for someone to await your arrival - ie make sure you can get to the hotel by 8pm.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charleston

Overall An Okay Room

Posted Dec 2, 2009 on Hotels
The hotel was very close to the train station and most sites of interest. The hotel is on the first floor and doesn't have an elevator. I had a very spacious room. The radiator didn't seem big enough to keep the room fully heated. It did meet my requirements of clean sheets and hot water.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from turkiye

Piccolo, but not small :)

Posted Oct 7, 2009
this hotel is a good place to stay. nice breakfast, good conditioned and garden viewed rooms, very close to the city center and most sigthseeings. everything except mosquitos were wonderful. (so; do not forget your body sprey for get-off the mosquitos :))