Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Three words: Stay somewhere else! This place was dirty, uncomfortable and hot.
2 out of 5
by Nishant from pittsburgh

wifi and beds were disappointing

Posted May 13, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is easy to get to as it is on a road that divides the city into 2 so it is convenient. The wifi is only available in the lobby/dining area with no comfortable seating so it makes it not convenient. The beds are 2 twin beds pushed together which were horrible. The Owner and his 2 daughters run the hotel and were very friendly and accommodated us for an additional night on the discounted rate that hotels.com had to offer. For my wife and i the bed was a total turn off.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not the best in town

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: cleanness and staff attitude
the location is good but staff is not helpful and a bit rude... the bathrooms are not good and the place has a bad smell...
2 out of 5
by H.G. from Wales

Good location, but that's about it

Posted Aug 31, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness, eradication of smell, free air conditioning, more and honest info in write-up, breakfast.
Location: A ten minute walk from all attractions. Ideal location.
We traveled by car and for a start we could not drive to the hotel, as it is in the inner traffic exclusion zone. Advised by staff we did finally enter the zone and unpack only to find out that parking the car cost 25 Euros per day, which added another 75 Euros to our two day/three night stay., I think this fact should be pointed out in the hotel's literature and advertising. Also the fact that air conditioning is an extra 5 Euros a day. The staff on arrival was friendly. The rooms looked reasonably comfortable and clean however when we returned that evening there was a terrible smell of sewage in the room. Unbearable! An additional cost was also incurred because breakfast was so horrible that it was best to go without and stop in cafes along the way. I know it is only 2 star, but I have stayed in many more pleasant hotels of the same rating. Sadly I cannot recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by Nicole from Roma

It was alright

Posted Aug 1, 2013 on Hotels
The location was great, a reasonable walk from the train station and the breakfast was good. However, the staff certainly do not go out of their way to help you. I am female and I was with a male friend. We are not lovers, so you can imagine our dismay when there was only one bed. We asked if we could get a room with two beds or have the bed spilt (the one king bed was formed by strapping together two twin beds) and the women replied that we should have notified them by email. We spilt the bed ourselves and my friend, being a gentleman, let me have the sheets.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by two alone from London, UK

Convenient but not great.

Posted Mar 3, 2013
Pros: Convenience
Cons: Uncomfortable bed, cold water.
Location: Walking distance to all the main attractions in Florence. Lots of local bars and cafe's.
Very convenient for Florence visitors. Clean but basic. We did not have an outside window - window opened onto a blank wall. Bed was not comfortable. Shower was cold when we got up a little later on our second day. TV did not appear to work & there were no instructions for how to get it going.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A well-located reasonable budget choice.

Posted May 3, 2012 on Hotels
Piccolo was typical of so many places we have stayed as budget travelers: Chosen mostly for location and cost, while having the necessary facilities (private bath.) Nothing fancy at all, but our only significant complaint is the sagging old bed. The included breakfast was basic but satisfactory. The staff was friendly. The location was excellent, convenient to the train station and the city sites. As usual, expect to carry your luggage up at least one flight of stairs. Overall, we were satisfied.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jack Leslie from Midwest USA

Good value for the price

Posted Apr 17, 2012
Pros: location, price
Cons: Personally, it was the coffee. My husband thought it was fine. I switched to hot tea at the hotel and got coffee at a local coffeeshop (fun!)
Location: Quick walk to downtown and major sites.
This hotel was perfect for our needs. The cost was very reasonable and we were able to save some money with the breakfast included in the price. I had hot tea and hardboiled eggs with bread and jam every morning. My husband liked the whole grain cereal. The food was not fancy but the little buffet was nicely presented. The coffee came from a machine that allowed you to chose cappucino, hot chocolate, coffee, etc. Since I love my "real" coffee ground from beans every morning at home, I simply switched to hot tea and got coffee at the nearby coffeeshop as we walked to downtown Florence. My husband thought the coffee was just fine. The hotel is on the second floor (no elevator). The staff was very friendly and helpful. They told us the front desk closed early evening but gave us keys to the street entrance door. We had an early morning flight out of Florence and the staff called called us a taxi to pick us up at 5:30 A.M. We made arrangements for this the day before. We locked our keys in the room on departure day and made it to the airport in plenty of time. The room was clean. We had a little sitting area and the bedroom and bathroom were a level 2 steps up. There was a wardrobe, desk and a chair in the sitting area. The wi-fi was fine. We prefer to stay in 2 star hotels to save money and get a flavor for regular neighborhoods. This hotel wasn't fancy but it was clean, safe and quiet during sleeping hours (and most of the other times too)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

a small hotel within walking distance of the train station

Posted Oct 29, 2011
We asked for direction at the train station (please note that the tourism info center is no longer in the station but outside across the street at the Basilica, it's easy to find) and found this little old hotel without much trouble. You need to press button to get into and I assume the front desk is not 24 hours either. We stayed in room #1 and it was fine except that we need to pay attention to the step between living area and bedroom. Furnitures are old and TV set is hanging overhead. Breakfast is 5 Euro each but high speek internet is free. The hotel is one block away from the main street that links almost all of the attractions. Florence is a small town and we don't need public transit at all. The problem is that museums are closed on Mondays so plan your stay accordingly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Amanda

Posted Jul 7, 2011
This hotel was very close to the center of Florence and perfect for our needs; although the view wasn't great, and it wasn't really a place we wanted to hang out, we really were paying for a place to sleep. The staff was very friendly and helpful, which was all you can ask for.