Ratings based on 788 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AZ

Pretty good place, 2 blocks from harbor-shops

Posted Aug 23, 2016
For a beach hotel it was fine. The bed was comfortable. It wasn't noisy, no one gets up early. The gas fireplace heated the room in the damp weather which was good as the heater didn't work Expensive, but it's summer at the beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2016 by Cathy, Hotel Management
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and our great location. We do appreciate your feedback and review. Please come back and see us the next time you're in the area!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wuppertal

Optimale Lage

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Ausstattung, sehr nah am Meer, viele Restaurants in der Nähe
Location: Lage top
Nur für eine Nacht gebucht. Sehr großzügige Zimmer mit sehr guter Ausstattung
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by Cathy, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and time here in the area. Please come back again soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Geweldige hotel, super locatie

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Erg mooi en goed gelegen hotel. Erg vriendelijk personeel. De kamer is eeg ruim en mooi ingericht de bedden liggen heerlijk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2016 by Cathy, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review! We are glad you enjoyed our property and our super location. Please come back and visit us the next time you are in the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beauty!!!

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Price is for room is high but worth every penny! It is beautiful, in a great location park your car and stroll the town!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2016 by Cathy, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are glad that you felt you're stay was worth every penny and that you've enjoyed your time thoroughly. We hope to welcome you back again very soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san jose

Convenient location, comfortable

Posted Aug 7, 2016
This hotel is walking distance to the embarcadero, shops, and restaurants. The room and lobby were comfortable. A section of the roof that's visible from the front of the hotel appears to be corroded. We traveled with a toddler and found this place to be kid friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2016 by Cathy, Hotel Management
We are so glad you enjoyed our convenient location and your time here as a family. We appreciate your feedback and your great review. Please come back and visit us again very soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Very nice property and excellent parking.

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: Breakfast was excellent.
Cons: Nothing
Location: We did not take advantage of them...only there overnight.
Only there one night. I didn't reserve a balcony and they were sold out. Balcony rooms would be ideal. Decor charmig and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2016 by Cathy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay overall and I hope to welcome you back to a balcony room on your return visit!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Clovis, Ca

Disappointing

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: The rooms were clean, the staff helpful/friendly, the free breakfast adequate, and the location in relation to the shops is excellent.
Cons: Use room 309 for storage.
Location: Excellent.
We have stayed here several times before with good results. This time was different. When we got there the room was very hot. Looks like the refrigerator, which was about 3 feet from our head as we slept, was not working properly. It generated a lot of heat out the back but would not get cold at all. I unplugged it. The bathroom door hinges were loose causing the door to bind. Causing a very loud noise when opening from the fully closed position. Of the 3 windows, only one would open. Of the other 2, one was fixed and the other had fixed blinds installed on the inside. The one that would open over looked someones back yard that was being used for RV and boat storage. The one with the blinds over looked a neighboring motel's roof and part of its parking lot. The one that was fixed gave us the rest of the parking lot view. The fixed one, if we looked out far enough, a view of the ocean could be had. No view of the Moro Rock from any vantage point. This room should be half the price for what is offered. The bed felt like it had been well used and seemed to sag in the middle. If you stay, do not get room 309.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Randal Lehr Innkeeper, Hotel Management
Hello Roger: Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, we truly appreciate all feedback. We have checked that refrigerator in the room and maintenance issues. You are correct in that room 309 does not have a rock view, from the window on the south side their is a south bay and dune view, but the east side is on the back of the building. Some guest request this room as it is generally our quietest room. We are sorry that you did not care for that room. On your next visit please let us know your room preference, we do everything possible to accommodate requests. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Randy Lehr Innkeeper and the Staff of Ascot Inn at the Rock.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palos Verdes, CA

Rooftop deck with heaters and view.

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Staff is super friendly and helpful. Love the rooftop deck. Window from bathroom to bedroom is odd, but there are curtains on both sides if you don't care to watch someone shower or use the toilet. A reading light on the desk would be a good idea. The fact that there was coffee in the lobby all day was a very nice "perk". ;-)
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2016 by Cathy, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property! We are glad you enjoyed relaxing on the rooftop deck, it is a lovely place to enjoy the scenery. Please come back and see us again very soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Novato, CA

Nice hotel close to the waterfront businesses

Posted Aug 1, 2016
we were pleased to find a spacious room with a comfortable bed and clean bathroom. it is located 2 blocks to the Embarcadero. We walked down for dinner and shopping.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Cathy, Hotel Management
We are glad you enjoyed our great waterfront location and your time with us. Thank you for your review and for staying with us. Please come back again very soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Charming hotel. Great location.

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Location, hotel charm, nice helpful staff.
Location: Two blocks from coastal street with restaurants and shops. Charming town and hotel in perfect central location.
Nice staff, great location. Quite area. Very good continental breakfast. Room was very comfortable and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2016 by Randal Lehr Innkeeper, Hotel Management
Hello Johana: Thank you very much for your feedback! We appreciate your taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit! Sincerely, Randal Lehr Innkeeper and the Staff of Inn at the Rock.