Ratings based on 1,029 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N. Calif

Perfect for visiting

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Close to downtown. Quiet room with excellent shower and AC unit you could leave on all night without noticing.
Very nice room, quiet. Able to walk to downtown SLO in about 5 min. I'll be staying there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
If you're looking for accommodations where you will be spending most of the time out of your room but still wanting a comfortable, clean room when you return, this is it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, clean budget hotel

Posted May 15, 2017
Nothing fancy but nice. Right off the freeway, in walking distance to the mission and other shopping, and has friendly staff. Room was clean and quiet (other than expected sounds of cars on freeway). Would stay again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Close to downtown

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Easy access to the freeway and being close to downtown.
Cons: Wait until at least 9am to start cleaning rooms. Having a channel guide and a town guide in the room would be helpful.
Location: The location is great. I don't mind freeway/traffic noise but it's not a quiet place.
I liked that the hotel had easy access to the freeway and to downtown. What I didn't like were the thin walls as you could hear everything in the next room. The housekeeping staff started very early both mornings and hearing the vacuum, not to mention it banging against your bed wall, before 8:30 in the morning was incredibly annoying. And then having to listen to one of the housekeepers have a long, loud conversation, right outside my window, with someone down in the parking lot didn't help. The shower dripped continuously throughout the night and the bathroom smelled like mold (which was probably why the window was left open when I first arrived). I tried watching the TV both nights but there was no guide and it was stuck on audio description and I was unable to find how to disable that function (believe me, I went through every function on the remote).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice downtown location

Posted May 13, 2017
Thursday Night Farmers Market downtown is worth the trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from So Cal

Basic accommodations

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Clean and close to what I need.
Location: Reasonable walk to downtown eateries.
Simple clean room with comfortable bed and included WiFi service. What more do you need on a business trip? Parking can be a challenge. Location is convenient to downtown an added plus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from taft

Nice hotel walking distance from most hot spots

Posted May 8, 2017
Went to a wedding and stayed one night but will definitely recommend hotel to others. The on site manager was very helpful and very nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2017
We stayed here for 2 nights. Very comfortable, quiet place. Very close to downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Sol, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you soon at the Avenue Inn Downtown, San Luis Obispo, CA.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not recommended

Posted Apr 22, 2017
The only thing good is the location which is close to the highway exit and downtown attractions. Motel type facility. Was unlucky to have a group of people drink and talk loudly next door till 2-3 AM. The hotel staff simply told us that there were bad customers out there. You pay moeny to stay at a hotel for a good night sleep which clearly is not something this place is going to offer.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Sol, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. We apologize for all the inconvenience caused during your stay.The Avenue Inn Downtown, San Luis Obispo, CA.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and super comfy bed close to downtown

Posted Apr 19, 2017
The staff went above and beyond to help us get squared away with the airlines. Our room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. I loved the big shower. The continental breakfast was well tended. We loved the proximity to both Hwy 101 and downtown SLO. The room was not as big as other hotels may have, but the price, location and staff more than made up for that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Sol, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you soon at the Avenue Inn Downtown, San Luis Obispo, CA.