Ratings based on 560 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent Customer Service!

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Location, food, wine, gifts, decor, cleanliness, staff
Cons: Air conditioning
Location: Beach, golf, hiking trail, shops, food
What a wonderful place to stay!! We were greatly by friendly staff the minute we arrived and received cute welcome gifts. Our room was decorated nicely and had an awesome two person jacuzzi. Breakfast is included (fruit, coffee and the BEST chocolate croissants we have ever eaten). There are snacks and wine in the evening, also included and the staff makes sure your wineglass never goes empty. Finally, there is the evening pie-fresh warm pie each evening, included as well! Lovely! The location is excellent, just a block from the beach and walking distance to the Bob Jones Trail. There is also underground parking, so no need to worry about parking on the street. Finally, we were given another gift at checkout!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent hotel for the price

Posted Nov 19, 2016
The entire staff was so friendly, the accommodations were clean and there was always someone there to offer guidance to the town. The price included all amenities it was perfect
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great and very cozy get away

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: Walks on the beach
Spanish style - with kitchenette - view is not great
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Romantic Hotel In the heart of Avila Beach

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Decor, spaciousness and comfort of room, staff, ammenties, hospitality room. location. very friendly and romantic hotel.
Location: avila beach is a great beach for relaxing, a cove so the water is calm. promenade area is bustling with activities during the day, and weekend nights
Our stay at Avila La Fonda was outstanding. The Spanish decor of the quant hotel is beautiful and very relaxing. Our room, with a mini-kitchen was huge for the two of us. Very relaxing. Location is great -> walking distance to beach and promenade. The staff goes ALL OUT to make the stay special. Croissants and coffee in the morning, Nachos and Corona in the afternoon, wine and appetizers in the early evening and fresh pie at night. Complimentary snack tray in the room. Many amenities offered (beach chairs and towels for example) to guests. Hotel caters to adults (hospitality is adults-only due to alcohol) , which is nice for a couple on a romantic get-away. Our only regret is that we only were there for one night. Price is on par with other beach-area hotels (we got a special discounted rate that made it VERY reasonable). Highly recommend
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Playa Del Rey

Wonderful hotel with a great location near beach

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: The amenities were wonderful, wine tasting, cozy fireplace, dessert in the evening, gift baskets in the room full of snacks, wonderful staff. Parking was easy and convenient.
Cons: They put us in the wrong room with a queen bed and we had paid for a king room so they had to move us to a room downstairs with a king bed but it turned out to be great.
Location: Right near the pier and restaurants. Walking distance to everything.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Coalinga Ca

Excellent hotel.

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Location: Beach is really close, walking, bike riding.
Everything was good. The food, the wine and all the amenities, the beach is really close.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great relaxed feel

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: You can walk to anything or any activity you want
Great location and terrific atmosphere. The staff did a wonderful job. Love all the hostess things they do in the lobby.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfort and charm!

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: The staff was extremely welcoming. The morning croissants and coffee were like that of a French cafe!
Cons: Our room was a little small for us.
The room was very comfortable, quiet, and relaxing. Every person that worked at the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful in every way. The setting of this hotel is perfect. It's a minute walk to the shore, shops, and restaurants.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Great hotel with great service

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: As described above.
Cons: Our room faced south, and the sun did heat the room a little bit. The air conditioner should be a larger unit to better handle the heat.
Location: Beautiful long sandy beach close by. Small retail shops and nice restaurants.
this is a very nice hotel located about a block from the beach. The room was spacious and well appointed. The staff was very friendly and provided many little freebies that really made us feel special. The 8pm free pie was a very special surprise.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose

It's home

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: fireplace, bed, cooking area...
Cons: Too expensive.. But thats also a good thing to filter customers room soundproof is not good.
Location: Of course, Avila beach and restaurants~
Frontdesk is friendly, facility is good, just like we were home. A nice experience~