Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location, location, location!

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Spotless rooms, dog friendly, great staff. Really cute and cool decorating. It's a great place, really, but it's an older building. The rooms are not spacious, but we loved our room anyway. If that's important to you, stay inland. Bay front is just that...100ft to the marina. Coffee shop and bakery on one side of you, gourmet breakfast/lunch place on the other, wine bar and restaurants kitty corner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love Morro Bay

Posted Nov 27, 2016
We were only able to stay one night but it was great. The owners were so nice, friendly and helpful. Somehow they didn't realize we had booked a dog room, but fixed that in 5 minutes. There were food and water bowls, a goodie bag for our furry girl with a blanket, cookies, a special toy, and clean up bags!!! We too had goodies, plus breakfast. Wow, all that for just one night We'll be back. Ooops, the location is the best. One more oooops, I left my phone charger. They found it and offered to just send it to me!!! Since I was the one who left it I'm sending a sase, but realllly????? How nice of them to offer. Chain hotels wouldn't even think of doing that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fullerton, United States of America

Acts like a 4-Star Hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: After a long drive from San Rafael, I stepped into the comfort and flair of the Bayfront Inn, Room 18. It's a small corner room with a little space but a lot of charm. It was clean with a fridge, & complimentary water and juice. It also had a Keurig and coffee for me. The closet was an open shelf but for one person, it was really perfect. There were complimentary snacks as well as HBO and cable. The room was decorated with prints of The Beatles, a lipstick phone, and a ceramic tissue box cover shaped like a house. It was playful and fun and exactly what I needed. Their front office hours on the weekend are shorter than weekdays so I'm really glad I called in the afternoon to let them know I would be late. We easily made arrangements for me to pick up my keys and get me into the room. So fair warning - if anything changes in your plans, call them directly! Everything is within walking distance a wine bar, a fancy seafood restaurant, and a highly-rated breakfast spot is immediately next door. I couldn't have asked for a more convenient location. The decor outside is kooky and fun and the place is great for people-people who like saying good morning and hello to strangers, it's very welcoming. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Cons: Because of the working docks, it's noisy in the morning and you can hear a lot happening in the courtyard. If you're used to a little noise, it's fine. It's definitly not perfectly silent when the city wakes up. The other thing is that the parking lot is pretty dark. If you arrive late, use a flashlight because it will be hard to see on cloudy nights with no moon or stars out.
Location: Good food, wine bars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Dogs are allowed. Location is great, right close to Morro Rock.
Location: Walk to shops, Morro rock. Drive to Hearst Castle, Cambria.
Rooms are small but clean, comfortable bed. Good.location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orange county, CA

Best place to bring your pups.

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, quiet, pet friendly
Cons: We love it
Location: Located right on Bay with restaurants/shops/parks all within walking distance
We've stayed here before and loved this quite little place. Not sure if they knew our names, but they made sure to get our dogs names before our arrival. In our room was a nice care package (that had our dogs names on it) with toys, treats and blankets for our dogs. Each room is different and the hotel is located right on the Bay with nice views of Morro Bay/Rock. You also get freebAMAZING cinnamon buns from cafe right outside
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Bend

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Friendly, small hotel on Morro Bay. The staff are very helpful. The room was small but clean. We were on the second floor with a wonderful view of the bay. If you don't like dogs not a good choice for you. A very dog friendly hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Great location!

Posted Sep 7, 2016
If there is anything wrong, it was that our stay was too short.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2016 by jayne, Hotel Management
thanks travis!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

not worth the price

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Rooms are really small. Maid service needs improvement. Hair on toilet and phone after cleaning. Showers do not maintain water temp. Goes from cold to scolding back to cold. Bed was small but comfortable. Is pet friendly which is a plus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2016 by Jayne, Hotel Management
This guest booked a room with one queen bed for he, his partner, and his dog. He wanted an upgrade to a King bed but we had none and this disappointed him. Also they had left the do not distrub sign on the door, so we would not enter to clean the room. This was a 2 night stay. They did not inform the front desk of any issue in cleanliness. Their dog, a small yorkie, was with them for emotional support but this is not a valid service animal category so guest was charged the pet cleaning fee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small but clean

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: View of the bay, friendliness, clean. We heard people talking about they had been visiting this location annually for many years. Very believable.
Cons: Too many signs saying do this or don't do that. Understandable due to small location but I would say lose a few of them.
Location: Very cool huge rock protruding from the bay can be walked or driven to from the Bayfront Inn. Most restaurants close at 9pm so eat early.
It's a clean small place but they work it to it's maximum potential for your visit. The service is good and nice little freebies included like candy, chips, bottled water, free fish and chips and cinnamon bun cards which can be validated at nearby restaurants. The staff is friendly but leave at 6pm so call in advance for late arrival. Do not book thru Expedia , priceline, etc but call hotel directly for a better deal. Get a room with a view otherwise you are looking at a wall or backs of chairs. Room 14 was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2016 by jayne, Hotel Management
I agree too many signs, but we have found that guests don't concern themselves with the comfort of others when on vacation so we have to post reminders like the NO SMOKING sign everywhere and that PETS are not allowed in the gallery or to pee on premises. We are concerned about the comfort for all our guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Isabella, CA

Great view from room 20

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Wonderful view of the rock and the bay. Loved the card for free fish and chips and cinnamon rolls.
Great location. Walking distance to shopping and dining.