Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2017
great stay for the location and price. staff was very friendly and helpful. would stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cheyenne

Nice hotel clean and new

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Nice hotel just don't get the queen beds the are behind a restaurant
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by Melinda, Hotel Management
Dear Krystal, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to review the property. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again. We want you to be happy so in the future we would be happy to find a room to your satisfaction. Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great room for price close to town and beach

Posted Dec 13, 2016
staff put flowers in room for wife our anniversary staff was great room was clean nice shower
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by Sue, Hotel Management
What a nice gift! I think it's very special of you to give such a great experience and we're thrilled we were given an opportunity to participate in doing such. Thanks for staying with us, and on behalf of our entire staff- we thank you for your compliments.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great spot away from traffic

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Very close to Morro Bay, Etascadero, San Simeon, Cayucos, etc. Great location to sightsee
Cons: Can't think of a thing!
Location: Lots of places to visit. There's the pier, the Morro Bay rock, great places to eat, not too far from Hearst Castle and very close to San Luis Obispo.
We had a wonderful time, and the staff was kind and attentive. Full breakfast and for extended hours made it even better--we got to sleep in!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by Sugeil, Hotel Management
Dear Graciela, Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of the hotel and your experience. If your travels bring you back to Morro Bay I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the BW El Rancho.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from f

Needs lots improvement

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Very bad during reservation time . I was putted in a fight between Expedia and the hotel and I the guest end up with the damage - the hotel night manager ( Chris ) was very rude and not acomodating . The bathroom door was half wAy with paint and the other half was forgotten . Cleaning quimicles, dirty coffee cups and dirty bathroom mats was left in the room ;(
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by Sugeil, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, So sorry for any inconvenience this situation was for you. We informed you that your reservation was made through Expedia and there was a 72 hour cancellation on this reservation, and were not able to cancel your reservation as it was for the next day. We hope that all your travel plans went well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Comfortable bed. Clean room. Walking distance to restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by Sugeil , Hotel Management
Dear June, We would like to thank you for your review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

First time staying here. Will be back.

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Location: Cannot walk to anything but it is short drive to Morro Bay Embarcadero. Close to Cayucos. Maybe 20 miles to San Luis Obispo.
Newly renovated. Very nicely done. All new paint, flooring, tub enclosure, drapes etc. Very clean. Quiet. Like that it is small, I believe 27 rooms all on one level. Non smoking & no pets allowed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Uncomfortable and not worth it

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
We usually stay at our fav spot in Cayucos; since that spot was unavailable we decided on a brand/chain with a generally positive reputation. Factors that make this location a hotel that we will not stay ever again: 1. Room very small 2. Carpets are so dirty that the bottom of your feet will go gray and brown in a short amount of time 3. Top of 5-foot armoire was very dusty 4. Amenities inside the room: Stocked with the minimum (e.g. only 2 towels) 5. No air conditioning 6. Ceiling fan very dusty 7. When we checked in, we did not receive a map of the grounds, explanation of layout and on-site resources, etc. 8. We were charged extra for having a toddler with us (surprised us, as it's not typical in all of our stays at hotels to date) 9. Free coffee tasted like gas station quality 8. Wifi was very slow Positive: 1. Staff were friendly 2. We were permitted to check in 1.5 hours early because our room was ready for us
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing special but very comfortable

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
The locstion of thr hotel, although comfortable, is very close to the road and not in Morro Bay itself. This motel is very nice, room comfortable and clean. Good service from the stuff, laundry facilities vere conviniant.