Ratings based on 1,047 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Signal Hill, CA

Great service

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Pets allowed, nice clean room. Walking distance to park and shops is a nice feature
Cons: Room lighting was too dim. Not able to read unless drapes are open during the day
Location: I walked out of the bakery and cafe next door. Very rude, they saw me walk in, they did not acknowledge my presence, Would not recommend to friends
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful boutique hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Gorgeous, spacious, quiet room and lovely public areas, in quaint, downtown Atascadero. Will definitely be back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Staying at the beautiful Carton was a great experience. The room was lovely, clean, comfy. The old fashioned grand hotel style made our stay feel luxurious and nostalgic. Would most assuredly go back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

perfect stay

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Love this hotel. Clean great location. Nice staff. Huge bathrom
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Convenience and the charm.
Beautiful old classic hotel. We loved everything about our stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara CA

A step back in time

Posted Sep 4, 2016
The Carlton is magical: it feels like stepping back in time to the days when grand staircases and fire lit libraries were the norm. And yet the rooms are absolutely modern and plushly comfortable. As soon as we set foot into the Carlton, we started planning our return trip!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from La Habra, CA

Fabulous hotel in every way.

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: It felt luxurious throughout the hotel. The patio was available for our morning coffee and goodies from the bakery. Rail bars in bathroom available.
Cons: Height of bed was just a bit too tall for us. Hard to get in when you are short.
Walk in shower was good. Décor of hotel and our room was first rate. Amenities were wonderful. Staff was friendly and helpful. We will definitely be returning because it was one of our best hotel experiences ever.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable!

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Bed was amazingly comfortable and room and hotel were both very quiet. My husband and I got the best sleep we have had in months. As a bonus the bakery next door is OUTSTANDING!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Well-maintained beautiful landmark hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Centrally located in Atascadero, rooms are well appointed, spacious, bathroom is divine, with jetted bathtub. No breakfast provided but the Carlton hotel has its own bakery, don't miss out on the croissants, they're super fresh and delicious! If you're in the mood to visit other places while staying here, Morro Bay, Cayucos, Paso Robles are all within 15-20 min of driving, even San Luis Obispo is only about 30 min. away. The hotel also has an interior courtyard that is pretty quiet and relaxing. All in all, the Carlton hotel is a very good choice, I would recommend to others.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Gatos CA

Beautiful Hotel Great location

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Very nice hotel and great location. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The rooms were really quiet and comfortable. It was nice also that there was special attention for the Fire Fighters where were also staying there and who had been out on the fire lines for days on end. The hotel made everyone feel welcome. Thank you Carlton. Looking forward to staying there again soon.