Ratings based on 317 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ca

Unique place to stay

Posted Jan 11, 2017
This hotel gave me the impression of early noneteen hundreds glory. Ambiance was quaint and neat. Also staff were friendly. The best thing was jet tub in the bathroom.? It was relaxing after many days of trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jan 1, 2017
The hotel was VERY nice and the rooms were spacious, beautifully furnished and clean. Parking was convenient and free. There's a bakery next door that serves a variety of breakfast options. I loved this place and will have to come back soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bay area

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Convenient location almost exactly midway between LA and SF. Very clean and nice room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corona, CA.

Atascadero Carlton Hotel

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: The memories of how it must have been when it was opened in the late 1920's. The furniture and the architecture were done to bring back that era.
Cons: The faucets are minor[roblem but the parking across the street might need some security to give us a sense that our cars will be safe.
Location: Great location in Atascadero! Plenty of restaurants and shopping, close to the 101 Freeway and Camino Real. Sound proof rooms kept noise out. Thanks!
The staff was professional and the rooms in great condition. The only problems were the parking across the street and the worry of a break-in. The sink faucets were loose but in working order. However, the up keep and the staff more than made up for the slight parking and faucet inconvenience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Casual Elegance

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Location, old time hotel feel and spacious room. Staff were friendly and responsive to special requests, e.g. decaf coffee pods.
Cons: Earlier check in time.
Location: Nearby gastropub with great fish tacos.
Visiting family for the holidays, my wife and I normally stay at less upscale hotels. This year we chose the Carlton because of an Expedia Special Rate, which made the cost comparable although no breakfast was included. The room was spacious with an especially 'huuge' bathroom. We greatly enjoyed the jacuzzi tub to relax after our long drive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montata, CA

Lovely historic downtown hotel.

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: BEDS! Super comfy!
Cons: Cleaning staff replaced our towels, but a couple of them didn't seem THAT clean. Not a deal-breaker, but odd since all else was so good.
Location: In downtown area. We didn't have time to explore too much, but seemed enticing enough to go back for a visit.
We were there for a CAL POLY graduation. Only there for 2 nights, but I wish we could have stayed longer. Staff was very nice, property was quite charming and well maintained. Rooms were huge and beds were amazingly comfortable. My husband and I enjoyed our stay very much. The town is undergoing a resurrection of sorts, and the hotel restaurant is no longer open, but they have a lovely bakery with great coffee and delicious baked goods!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kaysville, United States of America

Quality and comfort

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Character and style define the Carlton Hotel. Rooms are comfortable. Staff is friendly. Convenient location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First time at the Carlton.

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The hotel looks newly remodeled but yet still has a great boutique/traditional feel. The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. They even helped me get a bottle of wine open with some pliers after the opener broke in the cork, lol.
Cons: Really the only thing bad is the one elevator is a little slow, lol.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Most Comfortable Room I've Stayed in for a While.

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: The ratings were right on. The rooms have great furnishings and are well decorated, as with the whole hotel. There was a coffee maker, coffee, ice bucket, champagne glasses and and an iron that works, a safe and refrigerator. It was raining the day I stayed and parking is across the street - but it's not so bad since this reminded me of some centuries old hotels where I've stayed in some crowed downtown areas in New England where parking is a block away - This is a real treat in the middle of a New England winter or Central California in autumn.
Cons: The only thing I didn't like is what caused me some safety concerns. The staircase is magnificent; take it if you're staying on the second floor. If staying on the third floor take the elevator. The only stairs to the third floor are the two sets of emergency stairs on the opposite side of the building from the main stairwell; the landings in these emergency stairwells are crowded with extra portable beds and linens, an earthquake could knock the beds over creating some difficulty for guests trying to escape. The crowding in the stairway could also be a fire hazard by creating more fuel to be burned within the stairwells.
Location: There are a number of 4 star plus places to eat within a half mile and closer; though further, the best Denny's I've ever been to fit this category.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Signal Hill, CA

Great service

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Pets allowed, nice clean room. Walking distance to park and shops is a nice feature
Cons: Room lighting was too dim. Not able to read unless drapes are open during the day
Location: I walked out of the bakery and cafe next door. Very rude, they saw me walk in, they did not acknowledge my presence, Would not recommend to friends