Ratings based on 517 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SoCal

Happy Customer

Posted Jul 15, 2017
I'm not one who typically cares about all the bells and whistles at a hotel. I'm not traveling to enjoy the hotel, but rather the surrounding town and things. As long as the hotel is close to the Main Street (walking distance), clean, breakfast, and affordable - I'm sold. Comfort Inn Downtown fit the bill. I was pleased to be assisted by a nice staff person a check in, quick and up on our room in no time. Breakfast was your traditional continental breakfast aided by another nice gentleman who was very quick to clean up after guests left so others could sit, and restocked low contents. Wifi signal was strong through the hotel which I loved. I hate when it's a poor connection but I didn't have that issue here. Room was clean and spacious. Overall, good choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel walking distance to main street.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
This hotel was recently renovated. The room was spacious, clean, and the beds were comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IL

Hotel was closed

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Booked the hotel at 11:10pm, arrived 10 min later to find the hotel lobby was closed and no attendant on duty. Could not check in and had to scramble to find another place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: It is only a few blocks away from the beach. Rooms are large with updated decoration with large breakfast room.
We stayed for one night only and had no bad experience that I can recall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice excellent customer service

Posted Jun 1, 2017
The breakfast was good ,clean rooms,close to the beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Late check in, extended stay

Posted May 28, 2017
Stephanie was very courteous & helpful at the Front Desk. There was issue with Expedia sending the confirmation fax, and she was concerned we would lose the room, it was the last avaialable, She was diligent and professional in insuring the room was still ours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2017
Nice, quite, clean room. Two blocks from pier and restaurants. Breakfasts make your own pancakes, waffles.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Excellent standard close to the waterfront

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Virtually everything was of a high standard
Cons: Nothing
Location: The waterfront is a few minutes walk away
Booked two rooms for one night. Plenty of parking under the hotel, reception was efficient and friendly. The rooms were modern, clean and spacious with good quality fittings. Everything worked including the wifi. The reception area was pleasant with free iced water and coffee. The room contained a coffee machine with pods which made very good coffee. It was a few minutes walk from the Morro Bay waterfront.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

hotel in dire need of updating

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: It was not too far from the ocean. It appeared clean.
Cons: It needs to be updated, with air conditioning added.
Location: It is near the beach with a large rock. There are seals and birds in the area.
We were very disappointed with this hotel. The good: It appeared clean. The staff was understanding. The bad: The room looked like it had not been updated since the 1970s. It had a terrible musty smell. There was no air conditioning because "the nights are so cold" there. The problem is that we didn't feel safe to leave the windows open at night, and air conditioning would have helped with the smell. There was a ceiling fan (that was quite old looking) in the corner. When we turned it on, it made a recurrent, rhythmic sound as if a large cricket was sharing the room. We ended up finding a different hotel to move to, as our sleep would have been anything but comfortable.
5 out of 5
by Maria

Convenient and clean

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
This was a great place to stay. It was walking distance to great places to eat and not far from San Luis Obispo.