Ratings based on 587 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from castro valley

The cottage in was a wonderful place to stay in t

Posted Jan 1, 2017
The cottage in was a warm welcoming place to stay. Their breakfast in the morning was comfortable and substantial. The location was close to the beach as well as within walking distance of downtown. Loved it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2017 by Morgan Thompson, Hotel Management
Dear Tina, We are so glad you loved The Cottage Inn so much! Our location is amazing and our breakfast is provides a great start to our guest's day. Thank you so much for sharing. Sincerely, Morgan Thompson General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san jose ca

Overall ok.

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Location is good. Room was clean and quite large. Traffic noise was loud at night. Quality of breakfast did not meet my expectations considering the hotel rates $200+
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2017 by Morgan Thompson, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review and feedback. We appreciate you sharing your experience and we will look into ways to improve the breakfast. Thank you, Morgan Thompson General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience!

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Loved the ocean ciew and fireplace! Easy beach access, great firepit to sit and listen to the ocean. Definitly would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2017 by Morgan Thompson, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your great review! We are honored you loved the Cottage Inn by the Sea so much and you will definitely have to return soon. Thank you, Morgan Thompson General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Huntington Beach, CA

Amazing view with a quaint cottage vibe

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: The view, the fireplaces & outdoor fire pits, and the landscaping.
Cons: The breakfast was OK, but they ran out of most everything around 9:45 & tended to close up the breakfast area at 10:05, not 10:30 like it said online.
Location: Beach was awesome, it is a nice place to take a stroll. There is a Chinese Fusion place near by that was pretty good as well.
We loved this hotel, and would absolutely stay here again. The staff was super friendly, and made us feel very welcomed. The room was nice and clean, and the view can't be beat!! The jacuzzi was really great and had a peek of the ocean, and the landscaping was very unique among the other hotels on the cliff area. We loved sitting by the fire pits and enjoying a glass of wine, and preferred our hotel to the others nearby for it's quaint, cottage feel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2017 by Morgan Thompson, Hotel Management
Dear Megan, Thank you so much for the raving review! We are so glad you loved taking advantage of our Garden Area. The view from out there is simply spectacular! I'm glad you got to enjoy it. Until Next Time, Morgan Thompson General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable fun by the sea!

Posted Dec 27, 2016
We enjoyed our stay. Loved that there was easy access to the beach. Also had fun at the fire pits watching the sunset. Breakfast had many choices and I appreciated the non-dairy milk choice you had available. Thanks for the comfortable accommodations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2017 by Morgan Thompson , Hotel Management
Dear Donna, We are so glad you loved all the amenities The Cottage Inn has to offer! Thank you for leaving us such a great review and please visit us again soon. Thank you, Morgan Thompson General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from plymouth, ca

Nice hotel great views of the beach

Posted Dec 25, 2016
The oceanfront room was great. Easy beach access through the hotel nex door. Plenty of parking, the breakfast was nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2016 by Morgan Thompson, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your great review! We are so glad you loved your oceanfront room so much and we would love to have you back here again soon. Thank you for sharing! Sincerely, Morgan Thompson General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to beach. Perfect view of sunset

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Pros: Great location, walk to beach. Beautiful location for sunset viewing
Great location, walk to beach. Beautiful location for sunset viewing
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2016 by Morgan Thompson, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your great review! We are so glad you enjoyed our location so much. The sunset is absolutely gorgeous from our Garden Area. Thank you so much for sharing. Sincerely, Morgan Thompson General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 24, 2016
We really liked this hotel! It was right next to beach !
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2016 by Morgan Thompson, Hotel Management
We are so glad you loved The Cottage Inn by the Sea so much! Thank you for your nice review. Sincerely, Morgan Thompson General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield

Nice place great views of the ocean!!!

Posted Dec 18, 2016
The place is nice and it has wonderful views of the ocean. I would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by Morgan Thompson, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your nice review! We really appreciate you sharing your picture and leaving some great comments. Sincerely, Morgan Thompson General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2016
We werent planning on staying the night in Pismo until we got there and it got late. This hotel was one of the lower priced, last minute, choices... and I am SOOO glad. Its a beautiful hotel, with really nice rooms, and super comfortable beds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2016 by Morgan Thompson, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your great review, Melissa! We are so glad you found us last minute and you will most certainly need to return for a longer trip. See you then, Morgan Thompson General Manager