Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst ever

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Dropped reservation, tried to charge credit card before check in. Left us stranded with two people we reserved the room for with no place to stay after a 10 hour drive. Said they tried to contact which they did at 10:30 in the morning wondering when will we be checking in. Sneaking feeling at that point room was already rented from under us. Never again.
4 out of 5
by Teresa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 1, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The El Toro in SLO

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Friendly staff. Room was clean. Easy check-in and check-out process. Room was tidied up while away. Towels re-stocked. Location is prime. Downtown is only a 5 minute drive away. If you're looking for a cheap place to stay in a great area, I would totally recommend this place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Ok for camping out

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Cons: smell and cleaner carpets. electrical was not good - we had to unplug the lamp in order to use the refrigerator, or microwave.
Location: several things to do - shopping at the beach was good.
shower was smelling of mildew and not very clean. beds were comfortable enough but bouncy. Good enough for a camp out and stay at the beach which is not exactly what we went there for.
3 out of 5
by Ross

Not a resort but a good place to sleep.

Posted Aug 8, 2015 on Hotels
I had some trouble with the wi fi and staff let me hard wire directly so I could take care of business. Very Pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clovis, CA.

Awesome cozy, and close to beach s plus.

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Room was a bit outdated, but worth the stay. I made the reservation for 6/5/15 to 6/6/15 that same day and arrived at 6/5/15 @ 11:30 pm. The room did not have a coffee pot which it specified it would. Nor did it have an iron or ironing board. Shower was troll sized and echoed. The bathroom was large with drawers. The outside sign looked like something from a horror movie, as well as the bathroom. But we were not murdered, so I guess it was fine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno CA

Good for its price

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: Location and price
The hotel needs a lot of renovation but the price is very affordable In spite of being so close to freeway we could sleep well there. The location was good too.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not a very good location

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: The cleanliness. Mildew on shower ceiling.
Location: N/A
Motel driveway is too close to freeway off-ramp. Made it dangerous to exit parking lot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome

Posted Aug 3, 2014
It was so such fun.They were very friendly and made us feel like family.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Poulsbo

Should be torn down

Posted Jul 28, 2014
The floor is two different levels. The counter is child height. The bathroom shower filthy with dead bugs and mold spots on the ceiling. Garbage in bags directly outside the room and something in the room made me itch. I used the toilet,,washed my hands and got another hotel. It cost me $68 to do that but worth not staying! This should not even be listed as a motel on Expedia or elsewhere for that matter. The clerk at the front desk was pleasant.