Ratings based on 1,926 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from silver lakes, ca.

nice hotel even during construction.

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: the staff was very nice and helpful.
Cons: signs to tell were the hotel is located
short but very pleasant. we were just passing through and only stayed overnight
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Embassy Suites will always be my first choice!!!

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, rooms, breakfast, happy hour...
Cons: They're doing renovations with the Atrium as we speak. Looking good!!!
Location: 5 minutes from Avila Beach. 10 minutes from Pismo Beach and the Factory Outlets. Good stuff. Always fun to walk downtown Higuera and Monterey St.
We've been staying at the Embassy Suites - San Luis Obispo since 2010. We've had three boys accept full-ride scholarships to Cal Poly-San Luis Obispo. Embassy Suites-SLO is our home away from home. Looking forward to 2017-2018 season. GO MUSTANGS!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedford

Good quality hotel for price

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Was all good especially breakfast!
Cons: Will be good when they have completed renovations.
Location: Just stayed and moved on.
The best hotel we have stayed in on our tour of the West Coast. A pity that the large central area was being re-done (tiled floor etc) when we were there. Should look really good when done. Our room was a "suite" with a lounge area then good size bedroom area. Gym was small but well kitted out and the pool/jacuzzi were pleasant. Breakfast was extensive. Especially impressed with the 'cooked to order' omelette which was cooked as you watched - took about 2 minutes! Would definitely recommend especially since it was not expensive for our family to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ca

Hotel is far end of mall, next to the freeway

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: not much
Cons: the traveler should be made aware that a construction / remodeling of this size and nature is underway before people make reservations
When we checked in we're expecting to see the familiar courtyard, but it turns out the're in the middle of remodeling the courtyard and it was sealed off with plastic, noisy and the smell of glue/primer used for plumbing pipes was excessive. The room we stayed in was at the far end of of the wing where the mechanical equipment made it unbearable, constant noise no matter what, also being at the far end we were practically next to the freeway, so is it wasn't the noise from the hotel equipment it was the constant noise from the freeway from cars zipping by. Our reservation was for 5 but there was only enough towels for three, plus when we used the shower the tub drained extremely slow.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from F

Posted Jul 20, 2017
When I booked this hotel there was no mentioned of it undergoing construction. It was sectioned off, it was dusty and the smell was bad. When I mentioned it to the front desk they didn't even apologize. The front desk staff were not friendly at all! Most hotels would have offered some type of discount but not this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Rafael

The hotel is under MAJOR reconstruction.

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Rooms were comfy, breakfast was great.
Cons: It will probably be a great place after the reno, but right now it's terrible. Dust everywhere, temporary reception area. It looks like a bomb hit.
Location: A decent location. 5 minute or so drive to downtown SLO. Hotel is right by the freeway though.
I would avoid this hotel for the next YEAR. They are under major reconstruction. According to the staff, they have finished redoing all the rooms (and they are nice, beds comfortable), but the entire atrium is being jackhammered and torn up and it wont be finished until next year. The rooms surround the entire atrium. There is plastic from floor to 3rd floor ceiling in the entire atrium. You cannot see out of your hallway. Our bathroom did not have a working fan and the bathtub did not drain. So it fills up almost completely while you are showering. Not helpful for the next person. We called maintenance and they fixed it once by pouring some kind of chemical down the drain. Yikes. But it was clogged again the next morning. So they clearly have some issues right now. There is also no restaurant at the moment. They said you could "find someone in black" and they could order for you. But you either eat in your room or in one of the meeting rooms. Not in a restaurant. The morning breakfast is outstanding.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

10 minutes from beach

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Room was large and clean. Bathroom was small. Ice machine was outside room and was loud. Kids running up and down halls. Update was in progress but did not cause any issues.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from p

Construction noise and odor bad smell

Posted Jul 14, 2017
There is construction going on I had hard time to breath. Due to construction they covered balcony with plastic paper that's make bad odor smell I waste my money no one should book this hotel wait for construction done
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great but...

Posted Jul 13, 2017
The hotel was under construction and we were not aware. Expedia didn't let us know
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect stop on our drive down the coast.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
The hotel is under construction so the entire atrium is under bubble wrap. We came in late after driving down the coast and sightseeing all day so I can't give a full review of the hotel but the room was a decent size for my family of 5. I ordered a cot for no charge. The breakfast was included and huge. We made sandwiches for the continuation of our ride down the coast. It was the perfect place to stop on our road trip.