Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SAN FRANCICO

If you want to stay in a closet, this is the place

Posted Sep 17, 2016
$329 a night for a room where a full bed is again the wall & when reservation said "classic room with queen size bed". The room was as big as a walking closet. U can't get out of one side of the bed if u r 2. Complain the next morning at front desk. They didn't care as I booked via a third party. This hotel is a total rip off.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: Atmosphere
Cons: More storage space, better plumbing
Location: Location was perfect
Was a nice hotel to walk into, room was small, didnt have much space to put all our luggage. Bed was comfortable but overall the hotel is very noisy
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great boutique hotel in the center of town

Posted Aug 24, 2016
We had a short trip to SLO earlier this month and were looking for a hotel that would place us in the middle of town since this was our first time staying but also with nice amenities. GHB had both--it is walking distance from all of the shopping and restaurants, but also has a unique, boutique feel, similar to a high end B&B. The staff was exceptional. Eva, the manager, was extremely helpful in making sure our stay was seamless. I would definitely recommend GHB!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint hotel, Pleasant Stay

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Nice location, great staff, complementary wine upon arrival and coffee in the morning, guest lounge
Cons: Room was a little small.
We had a great time staying at this hotel and it was a perfect place to stop for a night on our trip from San Francisco to Los Angeles. We arrived at the hotel late after a long day of driving, and were greeted with a very friendly staff member and a complementary glass of their house rose wine. The staff member then helped us take our bags to our room and showed us the lounge area for hotel guests. It is located on the second floor, and you can place an order down to the restaurant below and they will bring the order up to you and just bill your room. It was a nice little area to sit and relax, and there was a chess table and some other games in there you could play, as well as an outdoor seating area. The room itself had everything we needed but was very small, and while it was perfect for us to crash in for one night it may have been difficult to stay there for an extended period of time. The next morning they had complementary coffee and tea, and had a breakfast menu you could order from. We chose to have breakfast elsewhere in the city, but I did take advantage of the free coffee and sat for a bit in the lounge area. I would definitely recommend staying here if you need a stopping point on a west coast drive.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

A blend of old school charm and simple modern

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Very groovy bar and bistro scene,with young nice servers who seem to like their job. Food was great!
Location: Visit the mission visit Cal Poly. Shop in town. Close to th beach
The hotel has been beautifully restored with great eclectic input. It's very pretty to be upstairs on the second floort's lovely appointed patio. Coffee tea and water are prettily arranged for self service although with a handy phone one can call downstairs for a delicious bistro prepared menu for food that is delivered quickly and by a charming, helpful staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Laguna Beach, CA

Location is perfect,Hotel is small,intimate,quiet

Posted May 19, 2016
Pros: The central location,the intimate atmosphere
Cons: Staff knowledge of local wineries could have been better. Nothing can be done about the parking in the back but I DID damage my car getting out
Location: Location is PERFECT,went to the Thursday night Farmer's market and many excellent restaurants are nearby within walking distance.
Enjoyed the outdoor space very much,was fortunate to be staying med-week so had the upper deck pretty much to ourselves.Having the outdoor fireplace and blankets for those chilly SLO nights made it very cozy and intimate-felt like home.Ordered drinks,appetizers which were promptly served,staff was very friendly although did not have much information about the Edna Valley wineries when I inquired.The room was small but very well appointed and I was pleasantly surprised how quiet it was given the central location next to Higuera. I come to SLO often and plan to stay at the hotel whenever possible. Have stayed at many SLO hotels and have to say that,thus far,the Granada is the best yet. Will be recoommneding to anyone who asks and can afford!! Hope to try the Bistro next time
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Loved this hotel!!!

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Loved the character of this hotel! We had two rooms adjoined by a patio with a fireplace. The common area rooftop deck with fireplaces is also lovely. We were greeted with a lovely glass of wine and enjoyed the breakfast as well. Hotel is downtown and convenient to everything San Luis Obispo has to offer - we walked to dinner, shopping, et.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OC, CA

Looking for a last minute hotel!

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: What I loved the most about this hotel was our patio with the fireplace and the fact that it had free parking.
Cons: Nothing, our room was a bit small but there is obviously nothing that can be done to change that.
Location: This hotel is walking distance to everything.
My boyfriend and I went into San Luis Obispo for the night and literally booked the hotel as we were driving in. What can I say, this hotel is very beautiful and has a lot of charm
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SoCal

Granada deserves its great ratings

Posted Jan 29, 2016
We stayed for only one night while traveling through California. The hotel is eclectic, beautifully decorated, and well situated in downtown SLO. There is a parking lot behind the hotel that you access from a narrow driveway on Morro - just turn left on Morro from Marsh street and the driveway is just left (past) the building.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Beautiful hotel in the middle of downtown. Very convenient to walk to stores, food, bars. Great sitting room and patio to relax in.