Ratings based on 1,885 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

would use the hotel again

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: clean and quite
Cons: service in the dinning area.
Location: ideal location for the visit
room was great. dinner service was not up to par
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice -- but could use a few tweaks

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Good service, nice pool, clean.
Cons: update decor, do something about the horrible restaurant coffee and breakfasts, get rectangular down-alternative pillows
My daughter and I stayed 1 night in Santa Maria on our way to Santa Barbara. This hotel was conveniently located, clean, in pretty good shape, and the staff was friendly and efficient. The pool and hot tub were located in a beautiful private garden setting and were open until 10:00, which was a welcome surprise. We shared a delicious plate of sliders and fries at the restaurant bar. But there were a few downsides: the decor is dated and sparse; some areas are more shabby than historical. Our room was small, charming and clean, but the pillows were terrible. They were extra-firm square-shaped foam; it was like resting your head on a beach ball. The air conditioner was very loud. We ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant and it was dismal. Rather than have the buffet, which looked quite nice, we chose a la cart items, which was a mistake. Inedible! And the coffee was absolutely awful. Luckily there was an espresso bar in the lobby, so we paid for our uneaten breakfasts and got some good coffee there. My takeaway: Nice hotel, but bring your own pillow, bring earplugs, and get the buffet for breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MA

Nice older hotel BUT...

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: The lobby was elegant at one time
Cons: the air quality (smell)
Location was great as we winded down the Cali coast and finding an older hotel seemed like a nice change. The lobby was lovely but... the hotel lobby smelled. Hard to say what it was but my guess is old cat and/or dog pee, plus whatever is used to try to mask that smell. Thought about leaving but couldn't imagine the smell would also be in the individual rooms - unfortunately it was :( It's really remarkable how strong the odor was throughout the place!. Do the staff just not smell it anymore? Seriously need to change the carpets in that place - or figure out where the putrid smell is coming from.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from f

Best hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2016
everythjng was excellent. The best travel experience we had.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bellevue WA

A nice place to stay

Posted Sep 15, 2016
A charming historic hotel full of character. A lovely refurbished hotel in its glory.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in downtown Santa Maria

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: Close to airport, close to stores, about 30 minutes from Pismo Beach and Solvang
A nice hotel with character. Old style feel, nice decor and ambiance Check in was easy, room was spacious and clean. Loved the stars names on the doors of rooms
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Albergo dal glorioso passato ma dal triste present

Posted Sep 7, 2016
L'albergo, dell'inizio del novecento, dispone di un'ala storica e di un'ala più recente. L'ala nuova è forse migliore (non abbiamo potuto verificare) ma l'ala storica in cui si trovava la nostra stanza è davvero in pessime condizioni: le stanze sono a dir poco obsolete e stantie, i muri sporchi e l'odore inaccettabile. Unica consolazione è che puoi dormire, ad esempio, nella stanza in cui ha alloggiato Charlie Chaplin ma non vorresti dover usare le sue stesse lenzuola! Abbiamo chiesto di poter cambiare stanza e ci è stato risposto che l'hotel era al completo, cosa su cui abbiamo avuto qualche dubbio. In ogni caso abbiamo rinunciato a fermarci e nonostante la tarda ora abbiamo cercato un altro albergo nelle vicinanze. Ci è stato detto dalla reception che, vista la nostra insoddisfazione, il costo ci sarà rimborsato.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel on highway 1

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Beautiful hotel in a very nice town. Nice staff, and a very clean and big room. We were situated in the internet wing which was a bit degraded compared to the very beautiful tower. Walls and wood were chipped but room and hall were very clean.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, OK

Very nice hotel

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: Everything
Location: Great restaurants nearby; and wine tasting.
The Santa Maria Hotel is a really neat hotel. Some parts of the hotel are nearly 100 years old and full of pictures of Hollywood movie folks from the 30's 40's and 50's that have been and stayed at the hotel. It has a really nice restaurant and bar. Food prices are a little high for the casual dinner, but is quite reasonable for the "formal" type of breakfast, lunch and dinner it servers. With the parking garage in back it provided plenty of parking which is really nice. The rooms we had were really big for the price and the price was quite reasonable ($110 to $150 range).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Carlsbad, CA

Great room & great character

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: Great view from the room. The windows opened a little so we could get fresh air at night. Did not need air conditioning.
Cons: Not sure. We liked what we used at the hotel
Location: I played disc golf at Waller park. We went to Solvang for delicious pastries and a bit of shopping. There are plenty of wineries for tasting.
We stayed 2 nights and got the corner room. The view was excellent. The service was excellent. The bed was comfortable and we got a great nights sleep both nights. I liked the character of the hotel. This is not just another four walls. I look forward to another stay next year when I am in Santa Maria again.