Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1.6 out of 5
36% of guests recommend
1.7 Room cleanliness
2.4 Service & staff
1.9 Room comfort
1.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oakland

A New Reference Point for DUMP. I

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: Getting out of there as soon as I could
Cons: only way to improve this place would be to get a Catapillar D9 bulldozer to level the joint. I'm sure they could make short work of it… an hour or so
Location: San Luis Obispo is wonderful place! It will be all the better when they get rid of this homestead hotel joint
This place is a DUMP OF THE HIGHEST ORDER! Humanity must be saved! I've never wanted to follow up on these relentless Expedia 'tell us what you thought' surveys but I felt I must warn anyone who might be thinking of staying at this place to save their souls and health. (Expedia needs to allow zero and negative stars as reading levels.)
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

I've stayed a lot of places this is the worst!!!!!

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
Wow where to start. So it was Saturday night in SLO and I needed a room and sure enough Homestead was the cheapest around. Now let me preface I have stayed a lot of places, a lot of really bad places and this is the worst I have ever seen. I have never even written a review of a place before but this is simply the worst and I felt obligated to warn others. The place was absurdly gross. Cigarette burns all over the filthy floor. I didn't once take my shoes off, or even bring clothes in to the room. The walls were stained with god knows what, it was red and brown. The smell was simply terrible. Trash under the bed. The bed, speaking of, was a dirty old mattress that I caught a glimpse of when I was trying to keep the sheet over it. Incredibly gross. You will want to shower, but as its covered in mold you will ultimately just avoid it and wait until you get a better room the next night and shower multiple times. You still won't feel clean but you at least feel better. If you want to do drugs or pick up a really low rent lady of the night I recommend this place. Other than that please do yourself a favor and stay anywhere else, your car, under a bridge, anywhere is cleaner than this place. Here is to hoping I didn't get bed bugs or some strange STD...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange county CA

Creepy location, worst room ever!

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Better off staying in a tent on a Walmart parking lot. There was someone's old food in fridge. Hole in bathroom door, toilet seat falls off when you sit. Ac does not cool down room, stains on walls and carpet, really bad smell in room, mold around bathroom window, no smoke alarm, looks like a 3 year old painted the room, stay away 120 a night. Was price and they should pay me that to take the health risk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bibo from wiscosin

good hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Hotels
nice stay
3 out of 5
by Jey G.C.

It's an OK Option!

Posted Aug 19, 2015 on CheapTickets
The room was not super clean and had weird aroma that I couldn't quite figure out. The customer service was regular. The person I was helped by did not seem friendly and treated me like I was doing him a favor by renting a room. There were no clean towels or shampoo in the bathroom. Thank god I had my own stuff! If you have a choice, pick other hotel. Otherwise, this is a good night-stand option.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles, ca

Dirty

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Definitely not worth staying at. The old sheets, dirty rooms, not even a trash can in the room and nasty showers make this place a very last resort option. The man at check in is rude as well. Then they charge your card again after you already paid.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

No bueno

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Won't be staying here again. Room was not clean and it smelled really bad. The condition of the room was horrible. I guess you get what you pay for. It was a really good deal for 3 nights but room was awful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Shannon from Thousand Oaks

Well, that was interesting.

Posted Aug 11, 2015 on Hotels
Front desk staff was friendly and upgraded our room from single queen to single king. Room itself was LARGE with lots of lighting and mirrors. Bed was comfortable. Old school physical keys made us question security-- room # was attached to keys. Bathroom was in shambles, tiny sink, no toilet paper rod, grimy floor and dirty window. But, again, large. Towels were tiny and practically cardboard. No absorption. Nice to have ability to park right outside hotel room, and we were an end room... but the thin walls allowed us to hear the lack of stamina possessed by the fellow in the room next door quite easily. Interesting stay, not worth the $200/night inflated pricing for the weekend.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2015 on Hotels
The room didn't have towels or toilet paper and smelled terrible. The pool was closed and boarded up. The continental breakfast was an old pot of coffee and orange juice on ice. There free WI-FI was down. The blankets had cigarette burn. The bed felt like a box spring (actually I think it was a box spring) I guess you get what you pay for!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Devin

Posted Jul 26, 2015 on Hotels
No beuno