Ratings based on 2,474 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

EXCELLENT price and breakfast! Small, cute room.

Posted May 29, 2017
Price was unbelievable! Room was small but cute and clean. Nice bathroom. Nice views from dining room and some rooms. Would strongly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Location Says it ALL!! Beautiful!!!

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Location!!
Cons: The damaged area of the parking lot, along with the railing. And the lower parking lot was usually a little messy.
Location: Location was perfect!
The overall cleaning at the hotel could have been better. Parking lot usually had stuff laying around, there was something spilled on walkway and it stayed there. But the local, was truly Beautiful!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor standards throughout

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Location was lovely
Arrived at 4.30pm after a 6 hour drive to be told that dinner wasn't being served tonight as it was Mothers Day and they had been busy doing brunch ! Given room keys to the smallest of rooms, not a problem but not ideal. Walked in and towels had long dark hairs on them as did the shower floor and on inspection so did the sink. Went to reception to complain and was given another room. Second room was bigger but again had a couple of hairs in sink. Very tired so left it as had to go out to find somewhere to have dinner as couldn't eat hotel. Decided to have a drink in the bar before heading out and to see the view of the bay ( the reason for choosing this hotel). Went in and was barked at by the lady next to the door saying "we're not serving food as been too busy" We explained we were having a drink and she waved us in. Decided to have a cocktail and enjoy the view only to be told they could only do a couple of cocktails and made it quite clear that they'd rather not do any. So, we left and headed into the town. On return it was late so went to the room. People had checked in upstairs and were unbelievably loud. The hotel room walls and ceilings are paper thin and you could hear every word and movement made ! This carried on until gone midninght. The room we had only had a patio door and no windows and with no AC was very hot. We had to leave patio door open all night as unbearable. Not a thing i like to do especially being on the ground floor. Worst place ever stayed.......
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Charlie, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I am very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We strive to make every guest encounter a positive and memorable one. We regret that we missed the mark on your most recent stay with us. I understand that you were dissatisfied with your stay. I want you to know that we are using this feedback to improve our guest experience in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. Thank you, Charlie Yates General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Carlsbad, CA

Nice Location ...But

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: The lobby was very nice
Rooms were very outdated and very small. The place need a major updating
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Charlie, Hotel Management
Dear Mike, Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Inn at Morro Bay. We strive to offer our guests the finest on the coast, and you will be happy to know we are planning room renovations beginning in the fall. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Warm regards, Charlie Yates General Manager Inn at Morro Bay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Beautiful location but lacking previous standards

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: The view
Cons: Maid service, food in the restaurant
Location: The hike to the visitor's center was beautiful and the proximity to the beach is wonderful. It is fun to wander around the city of Morro Bay.
I must admit we were disappointed this time. We were expecting the same great hotel of years past but that just wasn't the case. For breakfast, the food was among the worst we had ever had, particularly the waffles. We chose to go elsewhere for our other meals. The beds were made sloppily with bedspreads askew and sheets not tucked properly so we were resting our feet on the mattress pad. Used towels were not removed. Yes, it is still a beautiful view and the walk to the beach was as we had remembered. But overal it was a disappointment
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Charlie, Hotel Management
Dear kak, Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Inn at Morro Bay. We love our guests and hope to see you back soon. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel...very important to hear and learn from. We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Warm regards, Charlie Yates General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield ca

We had a great time staying . The view was awsome

Posted May 15, 2017
It was awsome staying there. Do plan on going again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Charlie, Hotel Management
Dear Manuel, It is great to hear that you had an awesome stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon...and stay longer next time! Warm regards, Charlie Yates General Manager Inn at Morro Bay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Beautiful comfortable accomodation

Posted May 13, 2017
We have travelled a lot and visiting from Australia, travelling down the coastline of California. This but was the sweetest accomodation we have stayed in. We were upgraded by Daniel to the rooms with balcony overlooking water and it was so special. We really enjoyed our stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Charlie, Hotel Management
Dear Elizabeth and Jay, Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Inn at Morro Bay. We love our guests and hope to see you back soon. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel...I will share with Daniel too! We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Warm regards, Charlie Yates General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from So Cal

Updated, nice view of Morro Bay from there.

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Happy hour f was very good. Bed was comfortable and the shower was great - good water pressure and nice hot water.
Cons: Our tv didn't work in our room. The parking near the lobby is a bit convoluted in it's configuration, but near our room it was fine.
Location: Close enough to drive to downtown in about 5 minutes, lots to do there. Water sports, sightseeing, shopping, restaurants.
We enjoyed our stay here, the happy hour food was very good. View from the restaurant of the bay made the meal even more enjoyable. The restaurant decor was very upscale yet comfortable. We had a room with two beds, a queen bed when you walked in, then sort of around the corner in an alcove was a full size bed. That made it nice for my friend and I who were traveling together, it gave us just a little privacy. Our room faced the street but it was nice and quiet so I have no complaints. The balcony had seating and overlooked the pool, in warmer weather we would have enjoyed sitting out there.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Charlie, Hotel Management
Dear Tealsky, Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Inn at Morro Bay. We love our guests and hope to see you back soon. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! Wish we would have known about the TV...we have extras! We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Warm regards, Charlie Yates General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Great Hotel for Morrow Bay

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Our room was second floor "Garden" facing. It was large room with big balcony with table and chairs on balcony to relax. Felt very secure and privat
Cons: We found dining evening food in restaurant "OK", but would not go back. There is so much good food in town. They need a refresh of the menu and perh
Location: There is a golf course on the east side of road and the natural history museum in walking distance. Great hiking area in walking distance.
Hotel is located on south side of town "IN" a state park with exceptional views of Morrow Bay and the Rock. The hotel was built in 1957 and shows some signs of age in the room (no ceiling fan in bathroom), but we loved the "classic" luxury of the room. Hotel facility is very beautifully landscaped. Inside lobby, bar, and restaurant are all freshly remodeled and look great.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Charlie, Hotel Management
Dear Happy, It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and restaurant. We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Warm regards, Charlie Yates General Manager Inn at Morro Bay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fresno, Ca.

Great location, but not well maintained

Posted May 7, 2017
My wife and I had high hopes for this hotel. However, even though this hotel seemed to have been renovated (who knows how long ago), it was dirty. Stains on the carpets, hairs on the pillows, dirty bathroom door, and something sticky on the desk and small table. There were also noticeable cobwebs around the ceiling with dead bugs in them. The bed was also rock hard. The only positive: the view. The bay and Morro rock were right outside of our window.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Charlie, Hotel Management
Dear Nick, Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Inn at Morro Bay. We strive to offer our guests the finest on the coast. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel...I have shared your review with the housekeeper who cleaned your room...and retraining has taken place. Not acceptable. We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Warm regards, Charlie Yates General Manager Inn at Morro Bay