Ratings based on 1,058 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from guelph, ontario

Nostalgic

Posted May 9, 2017
Wonderful blast from the past motel. Kitsch at its best.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Good but not great.

Posted May 1, 2017
The front desk and cleaning staff are superb. The restaurant staff were not very customer friendly. My very expensive steak was no better than one could get at Denny's. I only ate a few bites of it. The swimming pool with Jacuzzi and workout room were very nice, but for some reason the attendant was not on duty one time I went there so I had to use a hand towel to dry off after my swim.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, CA

Fun and Kitschy (in a good way) Hotel

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Themed hotel rooms, great food in the restaurant. Overall a very relaxing place to hangout.
Cons: More specials (room rates, etc).
Location: Great location, near Downtown SLO and many wineries. Plus close to Pismo Beach.
Overall loved the Madonna Inn and would've been interested in staying longer. There are so many activities and also close to downtown SLO. Would be interested in trying the many other theme rooms that are available. Plus the hotel was a lot of fun for my kids. You can rent bikes, hike, swim, play basketball or tennis on a pink court. We will definitely be coming by again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique Boutique Hotel

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Charming boutique hotel situated twenty minutes from the beach and two miles from a downtown that they boat about but was not a high point personally. The room was unique and clean with convenient parking. However, it offered two full beds rather than queens in a room that could easily hold two queens. We did not have the opportunity to use the pool but it was beautiful. The hotel room was reasonably priced but the prices in the restaurants, bakery, and shops were excessive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Classic mid-century spot.

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Location: There is an excellent comic book shop in the downtown area, plus a great BBQ place.
My husband and I came here to celebrate our anniversary. We got the California Poppy Room, which was not the prettiest room in the hotel, but it grew on us. The issue was that the room had one small table, not even large enough for one person to sit at comfortably, and there was no place to put our toiletries in the bathroom! There wasn't a dresser either. It made getting unpacked difficult, and I had use all the hangars just for my clothing, so my hubby didn't really get any space. To top it off, the doorknob from the bathroom and on the cIoset door were broken. I also thought the meals were about $10 too much and the portions were twice the size of reasonable, so we ended up buying a single meal and splitting it. All that said, the service at this hotel is AMAZING, and I have stayed at a lot of places around the world. Really, these folks should give customer service seminars. When we had leftovers, they sent a refrigerator up to our room, which was an unexpected surprise and gave us much needed surface area for things. We were treated with genuine warmth and concern the entire time. I never felt like people were helping us because they had to or giving us stupid, canned customer service lines. Their service felt genuine. If we had a dresser and/or table and the doorknobs in the room were not broken, I would have given this hotel fives across the board, but the place is getting a tad run down, and needs some love--at least The California Poppy Room
5 out of 5
by George

Very cool hotel

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
Very cool place - all rooms have a theme. Service was great, restaurants are good. I highly recommend anyone going to San Luis Obispo check this place out.
5 out of 5
by Dane

Great stop or short stay

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
We had a great stay, loved the rooms and restaurants. All of the staff were friendly and helpful
5 out of 5
by Lee

A fab experience

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
Whacky, fab, different just great fun xx
5 out of 5
by Mark

Fun SLO experience

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
Grew up hearing about this place and it exceeded my expectations. Not a 4 star hotel but a GREAT, elegant, fun Motel. The decor, design and history is worth it. Great pool. Exceptional comfortable room with nice amenities and a Japanese toilet! Loved the horse ride up the mountain for extra fee. Great trail guides. My only complaint would be the front desk was REALLY slow with only two agents and the line became long. Surely a manager could step in and help?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orange county, Ca

Unique retro getaway

Posted Mar 23, 2017
A throwback Inn with very unique themed rooms. The Madonna Inn lets you escape back in time where everything is chic and borderline tacky! It's a fun place to escape to from the real world with some nice amenities on property too!