Ratings based on 875 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Stay was wonderful for the novelty of the hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, very accommodating!
Cons: Parking was a bit of an issue, we had to park further from our room than expected.
Location: n/a
We stayed one night here while passing through on the way to San Francisco. It's conveniently located off the 101 freeway, can't miss it! The staff was extremely friendly, warm and welcoming especially for arriving late in the evening. We stayed in the 'Vous' room, very blue and sheik, like you traveled back in time. While the room is true to character, the walls are very thin, I was up most the night listening to our neighbors TV and in the morning they kept slamming a door, which was bothersome. We had drinks at the bar the night we arrived, the house Madonna wine is good and the bartender was friendly. In the morning we ate in the Copper Café, the food was great, staff was so nice, food arrived quickly and fresh. Overall, I enjoyed my stay, it's a little expensive for the room size but you are paying for the novelty and history of the hotel. For the experience I would highly recommend it, it's a sight to see but it's not a hotel to stay at on the regular unless you take advantage of the spa and other on site amenities for the cost of the room. I would stay here again but probably more than just passing through to enjoy it more and really get the Madonna Inn experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Monica

It's a must go. Even just to see it

Posted Aug 23, 2016
The Madonna Inn has been around a long time and it still has retained it's wonderfully tacky or super romantic feel, depending on the way you look at it. Either way, it's a lot of fun. The spa and pool addition really steps it up a notch and makes it an even better getaway. The steak restaurant is slightly overrated but again, a must see (make a reservation in advance) and the bakery makes for a great breakfast. All rooms are differently themed and vary wildly in layout too. Not all as great as some of the others but we had a really nice one: Super comfy and spacious. Book well in advance for the best choices.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fab wish we had longer

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Was expecting something a little tacky but it is far from that and this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA

HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Nothing, we were treated so bad we didn't like anything about the place.
Cons: Customer Service
Location: Went to San Luis
All around this place is horrible. Do not spend your money at this place. Go stay at an updated beautiful resort on the beach, that will valet your car and carry your bags to your room and actually appreciate your stay and not treat you as a burden. We couldn't tell you the last time the room was swept or mopped as there was broken chips on the ground from someone who stayed before us. The room itself would have been okay if we weren't treated SO badly, starting at check in. We sat at the bar and couldn't even get a hello and there was only one other couple. And award winning steak house??? For what?! Because it's actual seating area is pretty. The appetizer was burnt. The meat had no flavor. And the best thing on the plate was a green tomatoe. Okay, the chesse plate and honey was good... which surprise, not even made there! We do have to give them that the steak was perfectly cooked and tender though. Every drink I ordered, they were out of or didn't carry. We actually took a Taxi and left. We almost got another hotel room and the reason why we didn't is because our car was there. WE DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE!!! I would have actually preferred to take all the money we spent at this place and set it on fire and then flush the ashes down the toilet. To the Madonna family, you should be embarrassed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Everything!!
This hotel is absolutely beautiful, from the grounds to the rooms. The food is excellent in the Cafe, and the staff is very friendly and courteous. We did not stay here, as we bought it as a gift for our granddaughter and her husband, who just got married. We did walk all over, saw their room and ate in the Cafe. My husband and I definitely plan to stay there ourselves.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not for everyone

Posted Aug 14, 2016
I found the Inn rather confusting and a very poor reception upon arrival. It is not for everyone be aware!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oh

Campy hotel, quirky and cool! We loved it!

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Great pool for the kids! Fun restaurant, imteresting boutique shops. Loved the themed rooms!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ontario, canada

Beautiful hotel, unique experience

Posted Aug 9, 2016
We stayed in the Jungle Rock Room, (139) with our 2 kids. The room was huge and very comfortable. The bathroom was very cool, the waterfall shower was a lot of fun! The grounds are beautiful, the hotel is right off the highway and there is tons of shops and restaurants very close by. We ate at the cafe within the Inn, the portions were very generous, the service was fabulous. The pool and hot tubs looked inviting, there were lots of families enjoying the area, we walked around but did not go in, too cold outside. I will definitely return!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Messed up our reservations

Posted Aug 3, 2016
They told me I only have one night when I payed for two,then charged me double.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fun,unique,gotta like pink!

Posted Jul 23, 2016
I was traveling with teenage girls. They were amused and excited when I pulled in to register. Then it was photo time - day and night. Even my sceptic wife came to like the gaudy pink Madonna Inn. We will keep it on the list of places to stay for future visits to San Luis Obispo.