Ratings based on 1,152 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Murphy, NC

Checked off another item on my bucket list

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: The Still Room!!!!
Location: Wonderful restaurant and cafe next door!
This has been one of the items on my bucket list for some time. We got to stay in one of the rock rooms. So Cool!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place.

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Had a wonderful dinner at the Madonna Inn, our room was very clean and beautiful. There's a lot of things to do; swimming, walking, and hiking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Quirky Hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: Location midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles
Cons: Should add the 'resort fee' to the advertised room rate and not charge it separately.
Location: The location is perfect as a mid-way stop when driving between San Francisco and LA.
Located midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, this was our chosen overnight transit stop for our drive. The rooms were quirky and staying here was a bit of fun. We did not utilise any of the facilities (other than the room) as we left very early in the morning. I note that the hotel charges an extra resort fee on checkout - whether you use their facilities or not (pool etc) so you need to factor this in when comparing room rates.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Eclectic, but’s needs Updates

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Chose a room with a rock shower. We were given a room that was half underground. The only window faced the front of someone’s car at eye level and was only a few feet away. We were moved to a better room, but had to pay $65 more. I was told we were given that room because I requested a rock shower. However, the second floor room we moved to also had a rock shower. In my experience, when you book through a site other than the hotel, you often get their worse rooms. In my opinion, those three or four rooms half underground should be made into offices. We finally got a nice room (location-wise) that faced the horses. Not shown on the website, but the hotel actually is right next to the highway. That also takes away from some of the charm. The rooms really need brightening and updating. Few outlets and some didn’t even work. The room was definitely clean, but didn’t seem it because it was so dingy. It is a small resort and does offer some nice amenities, which we did not use. I just would be leery to recommend. It’s a must see if you’re in the area, but you can do that by stopping by for breakfast or dinner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

One night stay

Posted Oct 7, 2017
It's better not to book thru expedia sorry to say, but price is same thru madonna inn website and you can pick your room theme and floor. We got placed on 3rd floor (no elevators) and couldn't change rooms easily because we booked thru expedia. Room was clean but extremely outdated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

A California Pink Relic!

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: The staff - very pleasant and helpful.
Cons: The lighting around the property - too dark at night.
Location: Easy access to freeway and there is the beach in one direction, Hearst Castle in another direction and lots of history in downtown SLO.
Finally stayed at this very popular resort after living in SLO town many years ago. Staff was very pleasant, food was good but the room was a disappointment. I think some money should be spent on updating the rooms and they need to put in more lights around the property - at night it is rather dark. Overall it was a nice time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

The rooms are very outdated

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: The pool area was very nice.
Cons: Customer service.
My husband and I arrived to check in at 3pm, but we were told that because we booked with Expedia our "guaranteed check-in time was 4pm. The clerk took our credit card and we filled out the paperwork. We were then given pool area access cards and told we could wait there and someone would deliver our room cards. That was okay with us. However, our room keys were not delivered until 4:30pm and only after we called down to the office. We already knew that the rooms were themed, but the furnishings in the room were very outdated. Not what we expected for high price of the room. The rug was old blue shag (with a mystery wet spot at the bottom of the bed - which I stepped on with bare feet), the drapes were some kind of velour and the bedside tables were painted yellow. The bathroom was nice and clean. Also our room was on the 3rd floor with no elevator. The restaurants on site were very overpriced, so we chose to eat elsewhere. Later, we went to the office to print our boarding passes and had a problem with the printer. The clerk was less than helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

a pink experience

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Quiet inn with fantastic food and atmosphere. Amazing that pink could be a dominant color throughout, yet still tasteful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Charming hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Beautiful hotel with a lot of character! Our room was very clean and a decent size.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2017
From the room to the pool everything was amazing! Great experience.