Ratings based on 1,058 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A unique hotel settled in the SLO hills

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: My favorite part of the hotel was its location: Convenient freeway access, quiet and picturesque setting in the hills, many nearby restaurants.
Cons: I did not like the large bachelorette party in the pool area. They were drinking, acting, and speaking inappropriately in full view of my kids.
Location: See above.
This hotel is quite unique in that each room has its own theme. The gardens are large enough to wander in and they are well maintained for the most part. The pool was clean and heated. There is a shallow end with access similar to a beach, which was great for the kids to play in and for the adults to lounge in. There are two spas: the one we went in seemed a bit dirty with a large amount of brownish foam on the water's surface. There was plenty of parking available. The room itself was very clean and cozy. It had obviously been thoroughly vacuumed before our stay and the bathroom was also thoroughly clean. We chose to eat off site in the city since the Yelp reviews for the on-site coffee shop were not exciting. We were pleased at the sheer number of 4-5 star restaurants only one off-ramp north on the 101.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nice place to stay near SLO

Posted May 22, 2017
Cons: There is a horrible shrill noise right outside of the restaurant/lobby area.
We stayed in the "Spring Garden" room, which was, shall we say, "eclectic." The room was very quiet, and very clean. The Madonna is kind of like a hot pink Disneyland: the dining room is a sight to behold. We really enjoyed watching the beautiful couples dance at the lounge adjacent to the ballroom: like being transported to the 1940s and 50s. Staying at the Madonna is something you should do at least once in life.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique, fun experience!

Posted May 21, 2017
Just a great experience staying here. Definitely recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2017
It was my bday weekend and the Madonna Inn made this bday the most memorable I've had. Its a awesome hotel and we plan to visit at least once a year from now on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Gorgeous, artistic, vintage hotel!

Posted May 17, 2017
Each room is decorated entirely different. They used so much imagination and art here, it was like a fantasy! You feel so happy and relaxed. Re restaurants were great as well as the pool area! Words can't describe how amazing beautiful hotel is.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glendora, CA

Beautiful area, surroundings and hotel.

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: The room was everything we expected, the waterfall shower was a great treat.
Freindly staff, from check-in/out, diner and pool. Great experience all around.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No early check-in

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Rooms are extremely clean
Cons: Better telephone manners
Location: Highway 101 is very close and you may hear those loud 18 wheelers all night.
Was excited to go to this extravagant wedding in San Luis Obispo and needed an hour early to get dressed up for the wedding. Called a week in advance to see if we may request early-check in. Joe at the hotel said that I would need to call morning of our check-in. Called at 10am morning of our check in and Joe said I would have to call back at 1:30pm to see if the room would be ready. Check-in is at 4pm and the wedding started at 3pm, so maybe it would not have been a big deal. Called back at 1:30pm and Joe said No that the room would not be ready. Really! so, if need an early check in by 5 minutes or so, you may get the accommodations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great, quirky hotel

Posted May 11, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms was nice, big & very clean, really cool & interesting place to visit with a good restaurant an beautiful pool. Would love to stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Cute, quaint, charming hotel

Posted May 10, 2017
We feel honored to have been able to stay at the famous Madonna Inn. Our room was very comfortable, spacious, clean, and charming. We slept soooooooo well. No noise from neighbors. We loved the location next to the freeway but yet far enough away from it that we couldn't hear it. We had a great stay at this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Magnificently ridiculous hotel

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: The extravagant decoration
Cons: The food was poor
Bonkers hotel with amazing rooms and dinning area, although the food is rather costly and not very impressive.