Ratings based on 1,188 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

A jewel of an hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: The extra touches to make it special
Cons: Nothing
Location: A little walk to the embarcadero, but easily done. Ate brunch at frankie and Lola's- well worth a visit
We booked as a secret deal and were expecting to get the worst room, but we had a lovely room, large and comfortable. There was a welcome snack, the staff were very helpful in printing out emails for us and bestow all for us, who were travelling, there was a great little laundry! We didn't try the spa but used the fitness room, which was well equipped.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location, Excellent Price

Posted Jul 17, 2016
We used a quick stay in Morro Bay as a halfway stop between Los Angeles and San Francisco. The room was a good size and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay at Masterpiece and would stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berkeley

Bait and switch!

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Booked through Expedia, was given a room literally in the back of the dining room. The room was outdated, no balcony or fireplace, and the mattress was just laid in a wood slab/frame. Told front desk that I'd like to check out and they informed me that they could cancel the room but not give a refund because we booked through Expedia. He then said the same thing happened to another customer that same day! Clearly they keep the worst rom for Expedia bookings. Clearly they'll scam people out of their money any way possible!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fresno

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Loved the spa and atmosphere. Continental bfast and artwork very lovely
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arnold, MD

Nice hotel, interesting art theme

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Pros: The replica artworks and artist recognition provide taste and amusement value.
Location: Some tourist shops along the harbor, restaurants too, and long (cold) beach for Morro Bay. 20 minutes to SLO, another 20 minutes to Pismo Beach.
The staff was welcoming and supportive. The room was in good shape and clean, parking adequate and not tightly packed. Easy access to Morro Bay shops and beach (walk or short drive). Easy access to route 101.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

okay place to hang your head and crash

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Pros: good location off the highway. Wine and Cheese is nice.
Cons: Phone should work in room. TV signal/quality should be clearer.
easy parking, nice complimentary wine and cheese in the afternoon is nice. Phone in room didn't work, wasn't connected, so couldn't call downstairs. view of nothing. Quality of TV signal was blurry and not good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Moreno Valley, CA

Nice hotel a few blocks back from the harbor

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Pros: Art work and some degree of hominess/uniqueness.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: The coast is always close and its close to Hwy1 so you can get north or south easily. There is a booklet in the room which is helpful.
This is a nice hotel that is a bit different from the chain cooky cutter model. The rooms are pleasant with some art work and size of the rooms is acceptable. Rooms were clean and beds comfortable. All the usual comforts are present. Waffles are almost Belgian-style and maybe the best choice for breakfast. Staff is pleasant and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Decent and value for money option on way down PCH

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: This hotel was comfortable with a big room and comfortable beds. The front desk staff are friendly and answer all questions with a helpful attitude.
Cons: The bed was way too soft for me, but I know this is very subjective and a hotel may never get this aspect right for every guest.
Location: Morro Bay is a pleasant place to stay, with impressive natural sights (sea otters, the Rock) and a cruise vibe. Try the Hungry Fisherman for a meal!
We stayed here for 1 night on 5 June 16 on our road trip down the PCH. The options are limited, but Masterpiece is a good one. The room was comfortable and the breakfast was above expectations. Probably more of a destination for older couples who appreciate art though - not really us, with our 3 kids, in our mini van..?
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from papeete

Hotel hotel superbe

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Pros: le calme, la classe, la propreté, le design
Cons: aucun
Un exceptionnel hotel ressemblant à ceux que l on peut trouver à las vegas
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central Wi

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: Good location for us, clean , nice hot tub, Had on site washers and dryers which we found useful since we have been traveling for over a week. I would
Good location for us, clean , nice hot tub, Had on site washers and dryers which we found useful since we have been traveling for over a week. I would stay there again. Breakfast meet our needs.