Ratings based on 1,467 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly-Family type feel. Micro/fridge in rooms.

Posted Feb 16, 2018
Pros: The customer service and cleanliness. The location close to main highways and freeways. The pool and Jacuzzi area
Cons: Some of the fixtures are worn and could be replaced
Location: There is a family owned winery down the street. Retail stores and grocery are local. Downtown SLO & Paso Robles are less than 20 mins away
For the conservative hotel rate this hotel is my favorite. I love their pet friendliness. The reservation attendants are polite and accommodating. The room service is pleasant and prompt. My favorite part of our stay at this hotel is the employees. They have always been pro-customer servicer. The rooms are quiet and clean along with the pool and Jaccuzzi area. We help ourselves to the complimentary beverages and snacks available in Lobby. It is close to main highways & freeways. I visit SLO and Paso Robles 3 times a year and I always stay at the Rose Garden because it has a family type atomosphere and I feel safe.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dont overpay

Posted Jan 28, 2018
Pros: location
Cons: nicer staff. a little remodeling, a little paint
if you need a place in a pinch, it is o.k. have low expectations going into it and you will be just fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Best hot tub around

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Pros: I am disabled so I can not give enough praise to the hot tub. For me, it is a key reason why I stay.
Location: It is 15 minutes from downtown Pismo Beach & 5 minutes from downtown San Luis Obispo. It is a few exits away from The Madonna Inn. Hearst Castle.
My husband and I stay at the Rose Garden Inn in San Luis Obispo every year for New Year's Eve. They have one of the best hot tubs ever! It has really pretty lights and waterfalls behind it and the water is nice and hot. It is easily the size of two kiddie pools combined. As soon as I am able to I will book my room for next year! The staff is nice and the room are clean. We have never had a problem with that. It is only about 15 minutes from downtown Pismo Beach. And Margie's Diner is right next store. You can share a meal and still have extras at a great rate. You will not regret staying here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san miguel

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Very comfortable! Clean rooms, friendly staff! Close by to stores and restaurants and of course thr beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2018 by staff, Hotel Management
Thank you, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 1, 2018
Nice view, amazing hotel. Affordable n near attractions
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2018 by staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to stay with us. Hope you'll stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from CA

The best place to sleep the night away after a day

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Pros: The beds and the next door restaurant.
Cons: The rooms closer to Highway 101 can be noisy at night.
While not much to look at, the beds in the Rose Garden Inn are among the most comfortable you'll ever sleep in, regardless of how much you pay! If you're looking for a place to stay for the night, you've found it. We have been staying here frequently (3 visits so far this year alone) as we've been coming and going from CalPoly with our student.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san luis obispo

Average

Posted Dec 5, 2017
This place is like a motel. There were water stains on the ceiling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Review

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: The staff were friendly and the room was clean.
Cons: New pillow please!
I expected to be on the lookout for potential issues because of the 3.5 star rating. I was pleasantly surprised to love the experience from check-in to check-out. The hotel staff was amazing and super friendly! The room was clean and the soap provided smelled and felt wonderful. The only draw back were the pillows, they were too hard and too thick for my taste.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great weekend!!!

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Clean comfortable room. A nice place to stay with a lot of character @ a good price. Staff was very friendly & accommodating. We plan on staying there again on are next visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old School motel being squeezed in land developmen

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: many things...(see above).
This place was semi-quaint and fun 10 years ago before behemoth Hampton and Courtyard encroached on the area; Staff very good, doing their best; place needs much infrastructure help---shower fixtures, moldy carpets, etc., and in 5 years I'll bet its bulldozed; restaurant next door -- Margie's Dinerr -- might be bulldozed sooner...an outrageously priced ""faux 60s diner'' tourist trap in last gasps...might well be demolished before the venerable Rose Garden.bites it.