Ratings based on 1,285 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Rooms have recently been updated.

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Close to Butterfly Beach, minutes from Downtown Santa Barbara and State Street. Also near the Santa Barbara Zoo, East Beach and the Marina. Rooms were clean and quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from I

Excellent

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Arrived late. Upgraded to King size suite. Everything was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from moorpark, CA

Close for work

Posted May 2, 2017
It's a good area. The stuff was very nice and also had complementary cookies. The room was nice and accommodating for our needs. Good have done a better good on cleaning the bathroom but overall was very good
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, California

Nice hotel in a good area but it was okay.

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: It was clean and close to the freeway
Cons: The room had a smell and could have been better.
Location: The location is great! Good area and close to the freeway.
The hotel was clean and a little too pricey for the room. But I guess your paying for the area/location near fwy and lots of shops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent location, great staff and facilities.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Breakfast Room Bed was super comfy Staff were very friendly
We were passing through on our way to LA and stopped off on the way for the night. Extra bonus was the delicious breakfast that was way better than I expected. Would absolutely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

super convenient location

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: beds were quite comfortable. ended up being pretty quiet too.
Cons: the included continental breakfast is adequate but not much more than that.
Great location - walking distance to downtown SLO and CalPoly SLO campus. Friendly staff and room was better than we expected. It's a motel but a pretty decent one - would stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reasonable value in an interesting historic town.

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
This was an average hotel, reasonable value for the price.
5 out of 5
by Lawrance

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
We had a great time in SLO. The staff at the Sands were welcoming and helpful. We will be staying there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Nice and comfortable. Accessible to restaurants and the freeway.