Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Yuliya

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Very disappointed with this property. we had prepaid jr suit room with breakfast next to San Marco square (calle dei fabbri location). When we arrived at check-in, we were told the room was not available, and we were told we need to go to a room in a different location. It was additional 2 vaporetto stops and 15 minutes walk away from original apartment, significantly further from San Marco square. Although we were given a 2 room apartment, it was in bed condition in an old building, far from vaporetto and San Marco, and no breakfast. My husband had a knee surgery and the point of booking was to be close to San Marco to limit the need for extensive walking. Very disappointing experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The worst hotel experience I have ever had

Posted Jan 1, 2016
We reserved this hotel with Expedia in the beginning of December for our stay on new year eve. When we arrived the reservation had been cancelled by the manager. There was no record of this in Expedia, which as of the time of this review shows an active reservation. No attempt was made by the manger (who we waited an hour to see) to help us find another hotel on a holiday night in a foreign country. After reading reviews on tripadvisor this has happened to others as well. Disappointed and distraught
1 out of 5
by Lincoln from Perth, Australia.

Worst hotel in Europe.

Posted Dec 24, 2015 on Hotels
This is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. It was dirty, the breakfast was appalling and the four was stale. The rooms were aweful abd the staff were rude. Our room was next to reception. Every time someone checked in we could hear every word said through the paper thin walls. The reception staff were always yelling on the phone and kept us awake every night even after we asked them to be quiet. They didn't even have our booking ready when we arrived to check in. We were standing around the check in desk for 1 hour until they got their files and computers updated. Then they tried to make us pay twice. They were unprofessional, rude and incompetent. The hotel was dirty and the food was bad. The area the hotel is next to is in a good area if you like all the hussle and bustle. Otherwise you have people partying until 2 am right out the front with buskers, crowds, church bells and a huge birds nesting area in the trees that all give you no quiet time what's so ever. It is a great location for night life and eating out and the shopping is amazing.
5 out of 5
by Larry Waldman, PhD from Venice

Excellent location/friendly family staff

Posted Oct 3, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel is 3-5 minutes from St. Marks. Run by a father & 2 sons who care. Older building with lots of stairs, which is normal for that area, but room was clean, neat, & well-maintained. Breakfast was good, as well. Didn't have artificial sweetener for my coffee but, without asking, son ran down to bar across the street and obtained some.
2 out of 5
by Dave from Canada

Quirky B & B in convenient location.

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Handy location, good breakfast.
Cons: "You can't make a silk purse out of a sow's ear" as the old expression goes.
Location: Easy walking to many sights and easy walking access to to Vaporettos
This place is identified only by a small brass plaque on a non-descript door next to a restaurant in an alley, so you will need to remember the street address and have a map to find it. Behind the door was a long, steep, narrow staircase, up which we struggled with our bags to the "lobby". This consisted of a desk and chair on a landing at the top of the first stair way. Our room was small with a slightly sloping floor and walls that were not quite square to each other. Still, it was clean, well furnished and comfortable. It even had a safe for our valuables and a mini-bar, just like the big hotels. The room key had to be placed in in its special receptacle or there would be no electric power to the room. The concierge provided us a card to place in the slot so the air conditioning would run while we were out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by coffeegirl from NJ

great location

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: Perfect location.
Cons: screens on windows to keep out mosquitos.
Location: Lots of restaurants nearby. Supermarket 5 minutes away. Convenient to Rialto ferry stop.
Hotel room very spacious. Bathroom immaculate. Staff very accommodating. Location of hotel perfect- between Rialto Bridge and San Marco Square. Hotel owner emailed me easy directions to get to hotel from ferry stop, so did not get lost.
5 out of 5
by Lena from London

great hotel and location, friendly staff

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels
excellent hotel, would stay there once again
3 out of 5
by PhysEd from London

Good bolt-hole for central Venice

Posted Oct 20, 2013 on Hotels
Great location mid-way between San Marco and Rialto. Basic room with good bathroom facilities. Breakfast straightforward with all cold selection apart from boiled eggs. No fresh pastries etc... Would stay again but only from a convenience perspective
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Bloomfield, Mi

Too many steps

Posted Jul 30, 2013 on Hotels
There were too many steps to go up to get to our room with heavy suitcases. Emanuela was very nice and accommodating
5 out of 5
by YB from Washington DC

great hotel!

Posted Jul 24, 2013 on Hotels
I was truly surprised by the quality of this hotel. The room was huge by European standards, very nice and clean, with a large bathroom. On top of that decent breakfast and a great location (5 min walk to St. Mark's Square). Staff was very nice as well, they answered all our questions and helped out a lot. Will definitely stay there again!