Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

At the heart of Venice

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Located at Piazza San Marco we were located at room 701 which looks straight to San Marcos Basilica. Room looked really good. The only thing I will suggest its replace the chair and the sofa they look really old and should be retired. Maybe do a refurbish on them. Also a little more light in the room. Aside from that maybe put in the instructions that check in is at Hotel Panada because Best Windows is just the room, they have no service counter. We asked around and found it. But those little things did not ruin our stay at Venice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michael from Vancouver

Best Windows - A Fine Room with the Best View

Posted Jun 3, 2013
We booked and paid for the Best Windows based on reviews and photos. When we finally got from the airport to the room on a wet, windy day, we were met by the delightful Bellman from the Panada Hotel who helped us with our luggage and trained us on the keys. Our room was one floor up and looked right down the gap on San Marco square towards the sea. We loved watching all the activities right in front of our window and recommend bringing small binoculars so you can see the ships, yachts and boats that routinely pass. The din from the square is remarkable with the windows open but with the windows closed the room is quite soundproof and even the tolling bells were not an issue at 7am. They are quiet during the night anyway and we slept well both of our nights (not needing the ear plugs i brought after reading some of the reviews!. The bathroom includes a small jacuzzi tub and an excellent shower. The bed is comfortable and we loved feeling like a local living on the square. There is a great American bar down below for takeaway cappuccino and croissants and we enjoyed a dinner in the Panada Resturant served by Paulo. The only negative was the WIFI which we could not make work in the room but we went to the hotel where they fixed us up with a high speed business connection (make sure you ask for the business solution). We have no hesitation in recommending Best Windows to couples traveling to Venice and were very pleased being right on the square in the heart of them city!
3 out of 5
by jay from usa

bait and switch

Posted Mar 25, 2013 on Hotels
I have to say that the size of the room and the quality of service was good. The problem is this is a classic case of a room that does not match the photos. The view is there, but not as good in some rooms as others. When i read this on tripadvisor, i immediately called to get a room like the one in the photos here. When I got to Venice they had already given that room to someone else..so I got windows half the size as the photos show..I got "second-best windows"...even after confirming on the phone that I would get the room with the large windows.
5 out of 5
by JULIE W

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!!

Posted Oct 4, 2012 on Hotels
Fab location, perfect for popping back for a brew and to rest tired legs!! Very small bathroom and bed not terribly comfortable, but overall, very good
4 out of 5
by Philippos

The best window !

Posted Jul 25, 2012 on Hotels
If you want to be in the heart of the action then this is the place to stay, directly on St Marks Square. It is not a luxury hotel, more a luxury room only option, but a rarity in European hotels, you get a kettle for that all important cup of tea ! If you understand that, then you will not be disappointed with this accommodation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Best Windows - Not!

Posted Nov 1, 2011 on Hotels
We booked this hotel because it has views over St Mark's Square. One room has this view, the other room overlooks an alley. Guess which one we were given? On the website there was no mention of different rooms with different views. Our 3rd floor room was up 57 steps - no lift. Check-in is at a nearby hotel and breakfast is not included although the room is serviced daily. What you get is a room in the clock tower (great location) but no hotel services, except a porter when you arrive as you'd never find it on your own.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Croydon, UK

LOCATION LOCATIONLOCATION

Posted May 24, 2011 on Hotels
Best Windows rooms are apartments that are managed by the Hotel Antico Panada. The apartments are Located in St Marks Square to the left of the clock. The room are brilliant and the views would have been spectacular if the facade was not undergoing maintenance. You need to be fit enough to climb three flights of steps as there are no lifts. but it was excellent value for the price we paid
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salisbury

Great for first time visitor for romantic break

Posted Sep 29, 2009 on Hotels
The room was fantastic, the location was a dream. It was easy to find being on St Mark's Sq. This is a boon in itself since Venice is a real maze and we saw a lot of travellers dragging thier suitcases on a quest to find their hotels. The room and location added that extra touch of romance that was a treat for my wife. We only had a couple of nights and it meant that we were able to get the most out of our visit and yet remain relaxed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

This is NOT a hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2009 on Hotels
My wife and i were excited about the location, right in St Marks Sq. And in fact, there it is. But this is not a hotel. We arrived and could not find anything, then after an hour, there was a sticker on some random door that said for the Best Windows either call this number or go to this other hotel. So then we had to go find this other hotel. Someone from the other hotel walked me back over to the Best Windows and let me in to this seemingly apartment building. No reception, No lobby, No internet (they said it was down), No Food, No anything. It was awful. We felt very unsafe and very disappointed. It ruined the Venice portion of our trip. Every time I had to do anything from check in, to ask for a map, to check out, I had to run back to that other hotel. And on top of all this, I paid as if it were a 5 star hotel. You can't beat the location, but there are plenty of other hotels near by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Vista inmejorable.La mejor ubicacion de Venezia.

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Ubicacion y vista.
Cons: INTERNET
Location: Se pueden lograr fotografias desde las ventanas del cuarto muy hermosas, especialmente tarde en la noche y muy temprano al amanecer.
Recomiendo hacer el esfuerzo extra de pagar por las habitaciones que miran hacia la Plaza San Marco. La habitacion inicial era mas grande pero no tenia la vista privilegiada de la mas pequena. Fue un inconveniente el no tener internet por las dos noches que nos quedamos, en estos dias de modernidad y por el precio cobrado no deberian pasar este tipo de problemas.