Ratings based on 418 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Wonderful Venice Hotel!

Posted Oct 27, 2017
This is the second time we have stayed at the Hotel All'Angelo and ten years later, it is still a wonderful place. Great staff, delicious breakfast and minutes from St. Mark's Square. You will not be disappointed!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Trinidad and Tobago

Good location, terrible hotel

Posted Oct 23, 2017
First room given to us smelt like sewage. You have to use stairs in your room or to get to you room when on the floor which is very difficult with stroller and luggage. Room needs upgrade. Old carpets, furniture, poor lighting, bad view from windows. Not even close to 3.5, will rate as 1.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southsea UK

Central location

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Central location, canal views, value for money
Cons: Wood floor was lifting in places
Right in the heart of things, near San Marco and all that. We had the canal suite with fabulous views out of three windows. It was very large and impressive. Some maintenance issues, but that did not spoil it for us. It was great to take a break from the crowds and sit comfortably watching the gondoliers go by. As you'd expect, a central location brings a bit of noise from time to time, you can see that as atmosphere or annoyance depending on your outlook. Staff were friendly and helpful, WiFi was OK on the lobby level but weak in the room (probably non-existent on the higher floors). Overall we were very pleased with our choice and would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Last minute

Posted Oct 14, 2017
I checked out of a bad experience with Airbnb location. I came across this hotel which was close. The front receptionist was very helpful and the actual rooms bathrooms are very clean an updated. The hotel hallways could use a fresh coat of paint. But other than that it was a good place to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Very expensive!! Is not that i expected. Bad breakfast, bad elevator.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel near St Mark's Square

Posted Sep 30, 2017
This is a good hotel within easy walking distance of St Mark's Square. The staff at reception were very helpful and the room was kept very clean. The free wifi in the room was excellent. Any small problems were quickly put right. Breakfast was fairly basic but adequate. There was lots of cake. As is often the case, the twin beds were far too close together. But altogether this hotel is worth putting on your list.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Excellent location

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Excellent location, next to Fontana di trevi, decent breakfast, excellent staffs, small room, upgrade to club. Thank you very much Alessandra.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in a fantastic location.

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Location and Canal View from the room.
Cons: Staff, please accept we are not stupid for asking things - just travellers who don't know where things are or how things are done in your lovely city.
Location: Location very close to St Mark's. Easy for the Basilica, Doge's Palace (including Bridge of Sighs), The Campanile, Museum Correr, Rialto not far. FAB
To be honest, having read some previous reviews I was nervous about what we would find with this hotel. Absolutely thrilled when we were dropped off at the water taxi stop to find we simply had to walk through St Mark's square, take a right turn down a small alley and there it was! The location, therefore, is perfect. You can find your way to/from anywhere simply by navigating your way back to St Mark's. Stepping into the reception was also a pleasant surprise - a beautiful, clean, peaceful space. Staff were helpful (if you accept what seems to be the norm for Venetians - whatever you ask them, their reaction is surprise that you would even NEED to ask. I add this only to prepare any traveller... that was our experience - from every shop/restaurant/museum worker... they all seemed amazed and rather put out that you would have to ask them anything) and friendly. We were taken to our room (106) and this was where I was particularly thrilled - we had been given a room on the first floor which overlooked the canal. It was STUNNING. The actual accommodation was spacious enough (I know people have said the rooms seem tired/old - well, to us it seemed quaint and yes - but old as in historic... this is an historic Venetian building and the décor and state were in keeping with that - WE LOVED IT) with adequate storage a beautiful bathroom and seriously - the canal view would make up for most anything. Breakfast good variety/standard and the staff helpful. Highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.Ireland

Excellent location in a metropolis of hotels.

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: In closeness to St Marks Square and restaurants.
Cons: Residents leaving for early flights should be offered a bagged breakfast.
Location: As I've already said it is central to everything on offer.
Most hotels in Venice are converted 17th century buildings and the Hotel All'Angelo is no different. That said the Hotel has a pleasent feeling, it is clean and well presented with a staff who are always ready too help. The Hotel offers a very substantial and well presented continental breakfast in a pleasant restaurant.
2 out of 5
by Katherine

Rude staff and warm rooms

Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
The location is great for the price, but the actual room itself was subpar. I expected it to be small and not the most updated hotel, but the bedding and towels both days reeked of vinegar and my shower stall was broken. The hair dryer was so badly broken or worn out that it was useless. Also, the air conditioning took so long to turn on after putting in your room key that if you wanted an acceptable temperature in your room, you had to wait a long time. Additionally, I found the staff to be rude. The receptionist who checked me out wanted to argue with me about using a credit card for the city tax. I understand when small retailers do not want to take a card, but this is a hotel and if I can pay for my room on card, I should have no trouble paying for the tax on a card. He then proceeded to tell me I had to pay cash because my card wasn't working. I told him to try again because I had no problems anywhere else. After his griping, the card worked no problem on the second try. Overall, I was disappointed.