Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
Great location. Clean rooms and friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
Beware of stairs! I did not know that I would have to walk up and down 3 flights of stairs to and from my room. This was a problem as I had a knee injury and effected me quite a bit with the walking already required sightseeing in Venice. Lots of stairs. I did not see this in the customer reviews but after the fact noticed that a few mentioned it. The air conditioning was very good and was really needed during the very warm weather while in Venice. The consistency of the breakfast coffee was not there. Although there was a list two different people made our coffee, same order, differently. Breakfast was substandard.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

VERY ORDINARY

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
The room was like a prison cell, unfriendly and uncomfortable, like the staff who 'greeted' us on our arrival. Have stayed in MUCH better places in Venice for less.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice hotel in a fantastic location with helpful and friendly staff. Free and reliable wifi, great air conditioning and lovely breakfast. It was much better than a 2 star hotel, easily 3 stars. Would definitely recommend to others and stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Clean and great staff!

Posted Aug 1, 2016
The hotel staff made our stay just perfect. They were all super nice and ready to help with anything. Absolutely no problems with the room, food, etc either. Also well located right in San Marco, making it easy to hike to several key areas. I'd recommend this place!
5 out of 5
by Benice from Brisbane Australia

Location, Location, Location

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
We only had 2 nights it was late evening when we tried to find it. Had to ask a few locals where it was as we didn't have a map. Once we knew where it was it was easy the next day. Close to all the canals etc... and cafes
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canton, MI

Nice location, but a bit noisy at times.

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: Excellent location
Cons: Although a map was provided, it was still fairly challenging to find the hotel because of the various turns in narrow side streets.
Location: Ponte di Rialto is about a minute away. Piazza San Marco is within easy walking distance. Lots of shops and restaurants nearby the hotel.
Although this hotel is centrally located, it is a bit tricky to find. Getting to the area via Rialto Vaporatti was easy, but the hotel is not off of a main road. It takes a few turns in narrow backstreets to locate it. The hotel did provide a map after booking that certainly helped, but even then it was not trivial. Check-in went relatively smoothly. The hotel room itself is comfortable, but unfortunately we could hear a lot of chatter from the restaurants at the street level until a bit late in the evening. Similarly, in the morning we were awoken to the sounds of dishes clinking as the breakfast area was just one level down the stairs. Aside from the noise issues, we found the hotel amenities basic but acceptable. The room was well maintained and the safe was helpful to use for our passports and small laptop while we were out. Breakfast was adequate. On the day of our check-out, the hotel kept our bags as we went to a few museums before leaving Venice. They store them in a separate area not accessible to guests (i.e. it wasn't in the lobby like some other hotels we stayed at). Overall, we were satisfied with our stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff, but horrible room

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel had great service. The front desk staff was friendly and nice and helped us with our luggage as the hotel doesn't have a lift. For a two star hotel, it was significantly overpriced. Most expensive for the worst quality of facilities, travelling through Europe at the moment. The shower was tiny. Kept bumping into the door and wall and shower head and I'm a small person already. The walls are thin, can hear your neighbours, people walking up and down the stairs and their tv clearly. Room was very basic, falling apart with cracks on the floor, walls. Ants were crawling in places.
3 out of 5
by GERAINT from Swansea

Basic hotel (and that s all you need) in Venice

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
Central and reasonably priced hotel very near to Rialto Bridge. Initially a little confusing to find after disembarking from waterbus(hotel was down a narrow alleyway)we soon got our bearings. Staff were friendly and informative and room was basic but large and very clean though dark. Breakfast room on first floor a little small and breakfast adequate.
5 out of 5
by Vanne-Maree from Australia

Value for money

Posted Jan 6, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed 2 nights this time. This is the 4th time that we have stayed at Hotel Bartholomeo, we always stay here - it is such great value and the staff are fabulously helpful, and it is close to everything.Highly recommended.