Ratings based on 216 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver, colorado

Great location near main attractions/trans.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Quiet and lovely. Marvelous staff!
The helpful staff procured concert tickets, gave us directions and tips for saving money and getting around and were very attentive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Well located place and very Nice host

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Nice place, excellent breakfast and excellent host
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from British Columbia, CAD

Quaint cozy respite in Venice

Posted Jul 31, 2017
We typically do not travel at the height of tourist season so the crowds in Venice were overwhelming to say the least. What was so lovely about Hotel Flora was that it was like a garden sanctuary, a respite from the madness. In the morning we would have a lovely coffee and breakfast and were greeted each day by Stefano who was delightful and quickly felt like a good friend. Quite a character! After a day of making our way through the July crowds.... we'd come back and enjoy an afternoon glass of wine with Bernito who sent us away on our final day with a big heartfelt embrace. He gave us great tips on places of the locals. The room was quite small but had old Venice charm. The A/C worked perfectly and the shower was good and strong. The bed was nice and firm. Truly it felt like staying with friends! I gave the rating a 4.5 only because of the size of the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Wish we could have stayed, but...

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Staff were mostly friendly and the location is central.
Cons: Cleanliness. That's the crux of the issue here. Otherwise, they've got a great property.
Location: Near St. Marks square, super convenient location.
The gentleman at the concierge desk was friendly and very helpful. The lobby and main staircase are lovely and well-maintained, but old. There's no mistaking that Flora is an old hotel, and we thought that just gave it charm. By the time our room was ready, we were informed we had the best room in the house. We found the room to be pleasant, but my partner remarked that it had a "disturbing" smell. I decided to investigate, pulled up the sheets and looked through the mattress and box spring. We found several black specks, as well as a pubic hair and a fingernail. I looked through the curtains -- a bit worn out, but nothing wrong otherwise. Then, the couch, where we found more black specks and bedbug carcasses. The concierge (a different guy) came upstairs, and although surprised, he confirmed what we saw. I demanded a refund, which another manager refused. After a lot of back and forth negotiation, during which I mentioned that it would be in everyone's best interest to remain discrete with other guests walking around, they agreed to find us a room in another hotel. While it cost us over two hours to resolve the situation, we did end up in a clean room elsewhere, at Flora's expense. I praise them for providing us with alternative arrangements, and wish things could have worked out differently. Sadly, I can't recommend or anticipate a return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales uk

hotel flora

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: position food and very clean
Cons: perhaps tea and coffee in rooms
Location: in the middle of all the main sites to see
position perfect and staff all 5 star room very clean and comfortable breakfast 5 star for all many choices
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mellbourne

Close to everything

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: .atmoshere
Cons: Nothing mayor
Location: San marco the fenice
Helpfull staff and friendly atmoshere good breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, NJ

Family Character

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Had a very nice stay. Great location when you want to be in the San Marco area. Room & bathroom are somewhat small but enough room for 2. Breakfast buffet was very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent location charming hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Staff, location, breakfast, beds and bed linen, hotel ambiance style and garden
Cons: Swap the small TV table for one with a drawer or even a small chest of drawers. Bedside arrangement is terribly tight, phone annoying position
Location: 7 mins-vaporetti stop Giglio on Line 1 & Alilaguna from the airport (2 bridges to negotiate with luggage) 8 mins-St Marks; 6 mins-Fenice Teatro
This hotel was chosen for its location - close to the vaporetti stop Giglio, close to St Marks and the centre of Venice. We enjoyed many many walks from the hotel on our four day stay. The hotel is an old family building and naturally the rooms are small. Initially this was a shock but we found everything we needed, just a bit tight. Had we stayed longer a chest of drawers would have been useful or even a table with drawer or two. The bed was sumptuous, the bed linen divinely smooth. The shower was hot and excellent in size and there were generous amounts of luxurious towels and free toiletries. We had useful air conditioning and the room was very quiet though next to the lift on the second floor. The breakfast was lavish, with much home-made in the hotel kitchens, the smooth coffee was piping hot and frequently topped up. The staff were utterly charming, helpful, and patient with my faltering Italian. We would not hesitate to recommend the Hotel Flora.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

Charming Hotel with a great location

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: The location and the staff were awesome. The rooms were comfortable and romantic.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The Hotel was very convenient to Saint Marks and the water taxi stop.
We stayed 3 nights at this Hotel and were not disappointed. The location was fantastic, close to Saint Marks square but down a quiet little alley. The staff was very helpful and their dinner recommendations were spot on. This is an older building that has been well maintained and the garden was was very peaceful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Middletown CT

Great choice! Fantastic location;

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Wonderful experience, the fabulous cuisine is an added special feature! This hotel was highlight for my trip.