Ratings based on 697 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel, near San Marco Square.

Posted Feb 1, 2018
Location: Central to the square, post office close by, a few shops for a quick snack.
Hotel fine, BA flight not.....................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Hotel with character, great value & staff!

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: Staff, location, value, breakfast & character.
Cons: If I was to nick pick then.......bit of a refresh of the furnishings, consistent cleaning of the room & bathroom and a bar fridge that closes.
Location: 2 mins to the Opera, 10 mins to Gallery Academia, 12 mins to Guggenheim, 8 mins to St Marks Piazza, 10 mins to Rialto....great central location
This was my 4th visit to Venice and 1st at Hotel La Fenice. The bestest things about HLF are; the wonderful & helpful staff, central location, substantial European breakfast and activities available to book. If you value character coupled with some quirkiness then you'll enjoy and appreciate HLF! .......better than 5 star sterile in my opinion.....but, it's only my opinion. PS I stayed at HLF for 11 wonderful nights! Thank you Francesca & both Andreas for a memorable and exceptional stay at HLF!!! Ciao, Marita
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Disappointing

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Rundown room, leaky shower, disinterested staff, barely functional elevator, dismal interior. One good thing is that it’s close to St. Mark’s Square. I have no idea why it received such rave reviews. It’s pretty much a dump.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Hotel with lots of character and ideally located

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: Location is perfect. Very near St Mark 's Square, Accademia Bridge, Vaperetto stops etc. Good breakfast; comfortable rooms; clean and well maintained
Cons: More fresh fruit at breakfast; disappeared very quickly! No major complaints.
Location: Near main sites. Good restaurants nearby. Ideal location from every point of view.
I have visited the hotel before. It is ideally located close to St Mark's Square. Staff are outstanding; friendly, helpful , welcoming and the professional. It is in an old building with huge amounts of Venetian character, but rooms are inevitably smaller although they are clean and well maintained. Breakfast is self service and provides a good, basic selection including cold meats etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in center of Venice.

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: The staff, the comfortable beds and linens. Also the quiet atmosphere after a busy day.
Cons: Breakfast. No eggs! We would have liked eggs.
Location: Not on Grand Canal but within walking distance of St. Mark’s Square and Rialto Bridge. 10 minute walk from San Angelo vaporetto stop. Wonderful shops.
A very nice experience in a quiet, comfortable small hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Disappointed

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: The Location
Cons: Everything
Location: Venice is a small city, but this hotel is close to San Marco, the Fenice Opera house.
A hotel is as good as the room you get. Ours was probably the worst in the hotel. Small, a bathroom the size of a closet, closets made of old and not very clean wood, amenities reduced to a sliver of soap and small bottles of "detergent". The hotel wants to be a bit bohemian, I guess, by hanging bad pictures all over the place - really bad.. and in a plae like Venice where great ar is at every corner. Nothing, clean walls, would be better. This is the opposite of the modern, nice, clean boutique hotel. Full self-service breakfast is truly nothing to wrute home about. One good thing ? The location, but at that rice, you can do better.
4 out of 5
by Aviel

Posted Sep 24, 2017 on Hotels
We returned to the Fenice after a stay few years ago. It was the same. Enjoyed the location and the service. Did not enjoy the room with window to noisy street. Did not appreciate the breakfast. CNN not functional. BBC news is the only entertainment.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Aug 26, 2017 on Orbitz
The hotel is located in a quiet street of Venice, a few steps from restaurants and shopping stores. Easy walk to the most important highlights. The room was very cozy, clean and furnished. The hotel staff very kind and informative. I highly recommend it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Below average

Posted Aug 25, 2017 on Orbitz
I've visited venice a few times. I paid the most for this room out of all of my visits, but the room and amenities here were the most disappointing. I made sure to research and review all the photos of the room (or the type of room) I was booking, and I did not receive what I paid for. I booked a street facing room, but there was no view at all. The windows opened up to walls so I barely had natural sunlight. The bed wasn't that nice either. and quite a few flies kept entering the room. The complimentary breakfast was awful. The juices and jams tasted so artificial. The selection was bare minimum... just sliced sandwich meat and cheese. Yogurt that you had to pump out of a metal container and two types of cereal.